Chevron Left
Zurück zu Microeconomics: The Power of Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Microeconomics: The Power of Markets by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
627 Bewertungen
110 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We make economics decisions every day: what to buy, whether to work or play, what to study. We respond to markets all the time: prices influence our decisions, markets signal where to put effort, they direct firms to produce certain goods over others. Economics is all around us. This course is an introduction to the microeconomic theory of markets: why we have them, how they work, what they accomplish. We will start with the concept of scarcity and how specialization according to comparative advantage helps us achieve more than we could alone. Next we model a marked using the tools of Supply and Demand and learn what well working markets accomplish and what their limit are. We end by exploring the impact of government intervention on perfect markets. Examples are taken from everyday life, from goods and services that we all purchase and use. We will apply the theory to current events and policy debates through weekly exercises. These will empower you to be an educated, critical thinker who can understand, analyze and evaluate market outcomes....

Top-Bewertungen

AS

Jan 14, 2017

I really enjoyed the clarity with which the concepts were taught. I loved the examples and I thought they were very helpful and made the concepts so much easier to understand.

LY

Apr 11, 2016

Thanks for the professional details of this course. And I think the numerical examples provided by Professor Rebecca give me good understanding about the power of markets.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 of 110 Reviews for Microeconomics: The Power of Markets

von ANA K

Mar 14, 2016

I really enjoyed this course.

von Clifford T

Mar 02, 2016

excellent class

von Peng S

May 06, 2016

the teacher is very nice! She explain the market clearly, and the quizzes are really helpful.

von Ashna S

Jan 14, 2017

I really enjoyed the clarity with which the concepts were taught. I loved the examples and I thought they were very helpful and made the concepts so much easier to understand.

von Vishnu V R

Feb 25, 2016

Thanks for your efforts to make this course. I had zero knowledge on economics before and I learned a lot in this course within a short period of time.

von Monique v d B

Apr 06, 2016

Excellent course to get an initial understanding of Micro economics. This course is really well structured and taught excellently by Rebecca and her team.

von Thai T

Mar 08, 2016

Really useful and practical. The teaching method is quite easily understanding.

von Shashank K

Mar 14, 2016

Very informative and a very knowledgeable professor.

von Lopamudra M

Apr 14, 2016

Concise and Comprehensive, with well-spaced out numericals and quizzes

von Yumao G

Mar 03, 2016

Nice lecture and quizzes. Easy to follow and very encouraging for those who is new to coursera or has failed to finish online courses within deadline before (like me).

von Saransh G

Feb 15, 2016

Wharton goes on to prove why it is one of the best B-schools in the world. The course content is presented in a beautiful and crisp manner. Focus on concepts and teaching them both qualitatively and quantitatively are the highlights of this course. A must-do to get started in Microeconomics.

von Amr A W

Feb 08, 2016

Excellent course. :)

von Euclides J L V

May 06, 2018

Amazing course. This kind off knowledge is essencial for every one.

von Pracheta

Jul 21, 2017

Excellent explanation of basic economic concepts. Looking forward to more courses by Ms Rebecca. Thank you so much for your great work. Loved the videos & quizzes. They have certainly enriched my knowledge of economics further.

von Kannan D

Nov 05, 2016

Fantastic one to learn !! Loved this course....

von Larry L E

Sep 28, 2016

This is an excellent intro to microeconomics under the standard model, taught by an excellent professor. I would take more courses from Dr. Stein, and in fact have enrolled in the 2nd piece of her microeconomics course, "How Markets Fail." Examples are very good, standard terminology is used, even when it shows a free-market bias, such as used when discussing taxes and subsidies. Given that Adam Smith insisted that government structures were necessary for the proper functioning of markets (e.g. contract law, free flow of information), such bias in the terminology is disturbing - but so it has been for a long time.

For several years I taught a course in community college, "Calculus for Business and Economics," which focused on the applicability of calculus, the mathematics of change, especially non-linear change, to microeconomic principles. This course would have been a perfect pre-req for that course, better than the usual 1st-term college micro course, in that it summarized the key elements and demonstrated them graphically, leaving an opening to discuss such topics as elasticity and surplus when the demand and supply curves are non-linear.

von Miriam H

May 04, 2016

Nice, short and interesting videos. The assignments are not too difficult or too easy. You can see, that Mrs Stein put a lot of effort into the videos and explanations.

von Valentyna O

Nov 17, 2017

Great course! Professor Stein explains everything clearly and with a lot of examples. Highly recommended.

von WILMAR M U E

Mar 10, 2017

Excellent Course...

von Carlos E C G

Apr 03, 2016

This is an excellent complement for my studies in microeconomics

von Sergio D

Jan 02, 2018

excellent, very clear and concise

von Ben O

Mar 10, 2018

Dr. Stein is a terrific lecturer who has significantly increased my interest in economics - high as it already was. I'll be signing up for the "Market failures" course... as soon as my head stops aching from the highly beneficial, if somewhat painful reshaping of my outlook on the world that this bit of education resulted in. Also, much thanks to Rick Nimo - the mentor for the course - for his invaluable assistance.

Ouch. And kudos to both on a job brilliantly done, from another professional educator. :)

von Jie H

Mar 01, 2016

The professor is very thorough and clear in explaining the key concept of microeconomics. Although no math background is needed to take this course, I recommend some prior exposure to calculus to get an even deeper insight from this course.

von Anjan C

Feb 17, 2016

Well designed course to explain the fundamental of microeconomics

von Anthony T

Mar 16, 2016

Originally I take this course as a refresher. I did my MBA at Cardiff University in Wales quarter of a century ago. But the standard of the course has proved to be rather challenging. I have found Dr Stein an excellent teacher. Her lecturing style is such that I hung onto every word she says, even though I know most of the contents. I am looking forward to the sequel.