Chevron Left
Zurück zu De-Mystifying Mindfulness

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für De-Mystifying Mindfulness von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
1,423 Bewertungen
555 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interest in meditation, mindfulness, and contemplation has grown exponentially in recent years. Rather than being seen as mystical practices from ancient Buddhism or esoteric philosophy, they are increasingly seen as technologies rooted in evidence from psychology and neuroscience. Mindfulness has become the basis for numerous therapeutic interventions, both as a treatment in healthcare and as a means of enhancing well-being and happiness. For millions around the world, mindfulness has become a life-style choice, enhancing and enriching everyday experience. Mindfulness is big business. But, what actually is mindfulness? Is it really good for you? Can anyone learn it? How can you recognize charlatans? Would you want to live in a mindful society, and would it smell like sandalwood? What does it feel like to be mindful? Are you mindful already, and how would you know? Evolving from the popular Honours Academy course at Leiden University, this innovative course combines conventional scholarly inquiry from multiple disciplines (ranging from psychology, through philosophy, to politics) with experiential learning (including specially designed ‘meditation labs,’ in which you’ll get chance to practice and analyze mindfulness on yourself). In the end, the course aims to provide a responsible, comprehensive, and inclusive education about (and in) mindfulness as a contemporary phenomenon. During the production of this course, we have been supported by Willem Kuyken, Director of the University of Oxford Mindfulness Centre, and Stephen Batchelor, co-founder of Bodhi College. And we gratefully acknowledge the contributions made by Mark Williams, co-developer of Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT), and Rebecca Crane, Director of the Centre for Mindfulness Research and Practice at the University of Bangor. We have recently added expert advice from Dawn Scott (Spirit Rock & Barre Centre for Buddhist Studies), Sydney Spears (University of Kansa), Elisabeth Stanley (Georgetown University), Susan Woods (Centre for Mindfulness Studies), Patricia Rockman (University of Toronto) and Jeff Corntassel (University of Victoria). "A deep and profound dive into the ethical, social, psychological, and philosophical implications of modern-day mindfulness practice. The course is not for the faint of heart, perhaps, but it is also full of practical, guided exercises for the uninitiated! Thank you for redefining my relationship to Mindfulness in a completely new and thought-provoking way" 28 april 2021 "The course enabled me to explore the mindfulness construct at its deeper lever from philosophical, psychological and political lenses. The mindfulness labs were very useful in practicing the skills of being mindful." 23 nov 2018 "i took this course after a period of time when I was trying to practice mindfulness and meditation, but with doubtful success. The course answered many questions to me, and I needed that to keep me motivated. It really helped me understand the origins and, more importantly, benefits of mindfulness practice and made me persist in my attempts. I'm really glad I took the course, I find it interesting, well taught and very useful for all those seeking deeper explanation in why trying mindfulness." 9 Oct 2018 "I have taken other courses in other online platforms. However, this has been one of the best courses I have found online." 3 Oct 2018 "I really like the invitation to us, the learners, to rethink our preconceptions and beliefs, and then make our own judgement about mindfulness. The overall tone was very friendly and open, resources very useful." 12 Dec 2017...

Top-Bewertungen

SM
20. Juli 2020

A course that will open your mind and heart. I thoroughly enjoyed it and learnt so much about Mindfulness and how I want to incorporate it into my daily life, relationships and personality. Thank you!

AV
2. Feb. 2020

It is such a useful and practical course. The contents, discussions, assignments and quizzes are extremely insightful. I truly enjoyed the course and awaiting a second phase of the course in future.

Filtern nach:

476 - 500 von 552 Bewertungen für De-Mystifying Mindfulness

von Ivan L O

13. Juli 2018

Excelente

von Priyankka

11. Apr. 2017

Excellent

von ANDRES R P D

9. Feb. 2017

excellent

von Barbara W

28. Aug. 2017

terrific

von Alexandra M D

29. Okt. 2016

Love it!

von Verónica O J

2. Aug. 2017

Awesome

von Xavier E

11. Jan. 2018

Wonder

von Paolo P

22. Okt. 2019

super

von Ramasamy K

7. Sep. 2017

Great

von ABHIJIT B

23. Jan. 2021

good

von 肖世程

26. Jan. 2019

很棒

von Guillermo C

28. Mai 2018

:D

von isa L

1. Juli 2017

Y

O

von Vitaliy A

5. Sep. 2019

I

von Victoria M

10. Mai 2018

A

von Fiona B

20. Dez. 2016

P

von Heather M

23. Feb. 2021

I really enjoyed this class. The only reason I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 is that I think more could have been done to connect the academic/theoretical (lectures) and the practical (meditation labs). I was quite familiar with mindfulness when signed up for the course, and I hoped to gain information on the academic side and get a kick-start for my personal meditation practice, which I had let slip over time. Due to the depth and breadth of the academic portion, I didn't find mindfulness "de-mystified" but rather the opposite. I will say that the supplemental interviews with Batchelor and Kuyen were very helpful in clarifying certain points. To the individuals who complained the course was too much from a Western perspective I ask, Did you engage with the lectures on the Philosophy of Mindfulness? Most of that module was non-Western and gave good perspective on various philosophical influences on what is termed mindfulness today. So overall, I would definitely recommend the course.

von Cassandra C

14. Juli 2021

The instructor is clearly very knowledgable and reputable, both from an academic standpoint as well as someone that truly practices what they preach. There was lots of interesting content and great meditation practices. Chris is clearly dedicated and passionate about his work, and I appreciate how receptive this course's creators appear to be with feedback.

However, this was very challenging for someone like me who is a visual learner; this class is 97% listening/auditory learning and prompts. Also, while the speakers were incredibly knowledgable, I was disappointed to see 100% of the speakers were caucasian males; it would have been nice to have more representation or diverse perspectives on such a worldly topic.

von Hank A W L

7. Juli 2021

Although I was familiar with meditation, I knew very little about mindfulness and this course gave me the information I needed. I found the various aspects of mindfulness very interesting, especially the philosophical one. I never knew about other aspects such as the political side. My meditation practice has improved because of the Meditation Labs. I believe people and society would benefit from having mindfulness included in our education. Thank you very much.

von Alejandra G R

21. Aug. 2017

This course is an very good example of a humboldt though effective way to teach, as it broadens a whole range of thoughts while building a community sense of what has Mindfulness evolved over the years.

It helped me a lot to understand what is Mindfulness and also comes along with you to start its practice (and today I continue to do so). I think the format is good enough for this topic and I find that the Proffessor is great!! (Chris Goto Jones)

von África C

25. Jan. 2021

Muy interesante para cuestionarnos las creencias pre-establecidas sobre el Mindfulness. El profesor se nota que lo transmite de todo corazón, intentando hacernos llegar lo mejor posible la experiencia.

Aún así, me resulta quizás poco dinámico al tratarse únicamente de él hablando. Por otra parte, para las personas hispanohablantes es quizás difícil seguir las meditaciones guiadas en inglés.

von Alexandre S

18. Apr. 2018

Le cours couvre de nombreux aspects du mindfulness (philosophie, culture, politique) ainsi que sa pratique.

Les lectures sont cependant un peu difficiles (version Mars 2018) à comprendre à cause de la nature fortement philosophique du sujet et de la grande quantité d'informations résumée.

Le participant devra donc investir du temps pour creuser et comprendre la nature des propos?

von LeAnne M L

18. Nov. 2019

The course didn't really "de-mystify mindfulness" for me. However, I did learn a lot about the history of and various perceptions around Mindfulness. I'd really give the course 3.5 stars, but I'll round up because I enjoyed Dr Chris GoTo-Jones' explanations. I also appreciate that the course is ever-evolving as the staff pays attention to the students' views.

von Isabel L M

16. Sep. 2017

The course is amazing, the only thing I miss is some more accompaniment from the teacher. After completing the non peer reviewed open questions we could get some guidance, some expert answers, some feedback. A way to improve would be to have more Professors in the course, following and giving feedback on those confidential questions.