Chevron Left
Zurück zu De-Mystifying Mindfulness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for De-Mystifying Mindfulness by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
856 Bewertungen
314 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interest in meditation, mindfulness, and contemplation has grown exponentially in recent years. Rather than being seen as mystical practices from ancient Buddhism or esoteric philosophy, they are increasingly seen as technologies rooted in evidence from psychology and neuroscience. Mindfulness has become the basis for numerous therapeutic interventions, both as a treatment in healthcare and as a means of enhancing well-being and happiness. For millions around the world, mindfulness has become a life-style choice, enhancing and enriching everyday experience. Mindfulness is big business. But, what actually is mindfulness? Is it really good for you? Can anyone learn it? How can you recognize charlatans? Would you want to live in a mindful society, and would it smell like sandalwood? What does it feel like to be mindful? Are you mindful already, and how would you know? Evolving from the popular Honours Academy course at Leiden University, this innovative course combines conventional scholarly inquiry from multiple disciplines (ranging from psychology, through philosophy, to politics) with experiential learning (including specially designed ‘meditation labs,’ in which you’ll get chance to practice and analyze mindfulness on yourself). In the end, the course aims to provide a responsible, comprehensive, and inclusive education about (and in) mindfulness as a contemporary phenomenon. During the production of this course, we have been supported by Willem Kuyken, Director of the University of Oxford Mindfulness Centre, and Stephen Batchelor, co-founder of Bodhi College. And we gratefully acknowledge the contributions made by Mark Williams, co-developer of Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT), and Rebecca Crane, Director of the Centre for Mindfulness Research and Practice at the University of Bangor....

Top-Bewertungen

AL

Nov 02, 2017

Awesome!\n\nLots of valuable theory, which includes uncovering fears and doubts. And the most important: practice. You can learn meditation here, and truly understand why the hell it's so important.

VK

Feb 07, 2019

An excellent MOOC course with in-depth exploration of the mindfulness concept, with interviews of experts in the field and critical appraisal of the subject matter. I loved the course !

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 of 308 Reviews for De-Mystifying Mindfulness

von Monica S

May 14, 2018

Great content and interesting material!

von Fiona B

Dec 20, 2016

P

von Khare

Jul 04, 2017

Excellent course on mindfulness that explains all the concepts behind the various practices. Given that there is no universal definition of mindfulness, it goes into detail what makes up mindfulness by tracing its history and where it might go in the future. The assignments force you to think and reflect on what you learn at each step in the course. It is also a great mix of the theoretical and practical. There are course materials that you can download to continue your reading and research into this fascinating field. It helps to have some kind of daily practice when you enroll in the course, but it is not essential. I really enjoyed the course. Maybe there will be follow-up for deepening the practice. Thanks!

von Verónica O J

Aug 02, 2017

Awesome

von Poorva D

Jul 02, 2017

Amazing journey into mindfulness.

von Unai A

May 19, 2017

Very good approach to mindfulness. Is not all happiness

von Satish K K

Jul 15, 2017

The course is an excellent opportunity for everyone who has any inclination to mindfulness for any reason. The course has potential to equip and develop learners to professional level. If I wish to write, I would certainly mention that in comparison to other available online course(s), it has more depth and diversity. The best part is Subjective Peer Review and peer grading, this gives us opportunity to feel good when graded 70% and above and valuable comments /advise for future/continuation, and find get advised to further development if fail the assignment(s). Honours' Project gives serious learners , an extra ordinary opportunity to do research in the area/new area/ ... and correlate usefulness/role of Mindfulness in different areas of our liking. I extend my sincere thanks to Professor & Team, Guest experts and course preparation green room/outdoor team members. Kind Regards, Satish

von Noreen C

Jun 24, 2017

Just an amazing course on awareness and living int he now.

von Alejandro P L

Oct 12, 2017

Very well structured and very good perspective

von Rodrigo L E

Jun 15, 2018

Very good course. Interesting concepts are disscused, and it has also very practical aspects.

von carl h

Nov 13, 2016

After about eight years of collage I can finally say I have taken a class that has quantitatively changed my life. Thank you very much to everyone involved.

von José G C V

May 29, 2017

Excelente, de lo mejor que hay en línea.

von Maria S

Aug 14, 2017

The course surpassed my expectations! Very well-structured, presented, very creative and informative. I loved the tasks and the communication part, although it is usually something that I feel reluctant to do when I take moocs. The practical part was really interesting, and I definitely recommend taking the course to anyone who is considering it!

von Balu R

Mar 28, 2017

Fantastic course!

von Mark S

Jun 01, 2017

A really interesting and engaging exploration of mindfulness - covering practices, origins, implications and personal impact. Chris Goto-Jones delivers the material in a clear and concise manner. The supporting materials are excellent.

von Emilia K

Aug 17, 2017

Amazing course! Incredibly useful knowledge for anyone, who is interested in spirituality, mindfulness and related topics. The theoretical part is very interesting and gives a lot of food for thought, while the experiential learning in the other modules gives a wide perspective on meditation pracitces. Preapred with much consideration and hosted splendidly by Chris-Goto Jones this course is a true revelation for anyone willing to take it with an open mind and invest time and effort in it!

von Alicia D

Jul 07, 2017

An interesting course where you can learn about the history and philosophy of mindfulness and its relationship with the mindfulness that is being taught today. In addition to introducing you to many hours of practice.

von Vishwa L M

Mar 25, 2017

Very impresseive, useful and enlighting way of education. Very convenient too.

von Vlad B

Jun 23, 2017

Eye opening. More than I expected from a online course. Highly engaging and informative.

von Rodrigo A A A

May 24, 2018

Great Course!!! It allowed me to have a broader visión of Mindfulness as an integrative activity of consciousness

von Mylene

Jan 17, 2018

Very interesting course, amazing professor (only caveas is the way of teaching, just reading quickly in front of the camera is not really conducive to learning, doing more actual teaching would be amazing), content is extremely interesting, and the lab meditation practice great.

von KFL

May 15, 2018

Perfect for anyone trying to sort out the complicated status of “mindfulness” today.

von Brandy S

Mar 12, 2018

i

l

o

v

e

t

h

i

s

class and it makes it so easy to understand.

von Luke S

Mar 24, 2018

Great course!

von Victoria M

May 10, 2018

A