Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
3,321 Bewertungen
890 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top-Bewertungen

TM

Feb 12, 2018

I really enjoyed the first course, Learn 2Learn. The female professor is great but the boring old guy should have been kicked out of the course, as he do not provide anything of value for the course.

SN

Jan 18, 2018

Thank you Barbara. It was really enjoyable trip with you in this course. I have found many new learning techniques. Your positive behavior was very encouraging for me to begin a new list of my life!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 901 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

von Cecile H

Mar 18, 2018

​‎I expected that I could learn something new from this course, but I found that there is just the same things taught in this course that there is in 'MOOC Learning how to learn'. As Prof. Oakley mentioned, you shouldn't learn something you've understood. It's a bad thing called "overlearning" since it would make me think that I can resolve any problem by what this course taught, but it isn't the case.

von Sébastien L

Mar 06, 2019

This course is a great follow-up to "Learning How to Learn". It is less focused on practical advice and more on "life advice". On the practical side, I found memory tricks presented by Nelson Dellis to be very useful. All the theory behind how procrastination works was also enlightening. I liked very much the interview with entrepreneur Adam Khoo who gave profound advice and served as a great example of someone who can start from nothing and learn to reach the highest level. All the advice given about career was spot on: general competence vs selective ignorance; read, read and read again to keep shining in your field; broaden your passions; get a mentor... Everything is applicable and motivating. Well done!

von Aleksandar J

Jan 24, 2019

Great course, I feel like there's been a lot of thought about making it, and the ideas are represented in a very clear fashion, in a easily digestible manner. The one thing I would turn down a knotch is animation within videos. The instructors even mention this at one point, that having an instructor look like he/she is about to jump at you should activate the same neural pathways that detect danger, so the goal is to have the learner activated more. To me, this approach was very aggressive at some points and made me feel irritated, hence the -1 star.

von Deleted A

Jul 02, 2018

In general, this was a fascinating course that debunked many of the beliefs I had about learning. I found Professor Oakley's personal anecdotes about switching careers from languages to engineering to be inspiring, since I'm making the same jump. All of the lectures were very high-level, but there were links to more in-depth research papers in the resources section, which was a nice balance. That being said, I think this course could be reduced to two weeks, instead of four. The lectures started to drag towards the end. Certain segments of Week 4 felt more like advertisements for the course than lectures. Other than that, I'd like to see more interviews with career changers and expert learners. The concepts were interesting, but having practical advice from people who have actually changed their mindset and learning habits would be more beneficial.

von Ricardo

Jun 08, 2018

This course is just fine if you want to spend some relaxed time watching some videos or listening to some general advice on career choice and how to manage your learning process and general life.It's quite easy to pass the assessments and doesn't have much difficulty.I must say, as well, that the teacher Barbara Oakley is pretty nice and that she seems to love what she does and does a great job at presenting the lessons and you feel at ease and very comfortable listening to her, which is always welcome.

von luiz.cunha@axa-im.com

Jun 02, 2018

Have the feeling most of this MOOC is a simple repeat of the (great) first MOOC on which it is based, "Learning how to learn". Much less added value, except for the great optional videos from Nelson Dellis

von Norhana A

Mar 24, 2018

Since I've taken the Learning How to Learn course first, I find this course rather repetitive most of the time.

von Dorothy H

Sep 22, 2017

Not much new in this one and a bit too much patting of oneself on the back for the last one. Don't expect from Mindshift what you got from Learning how to Learn. It's just riding the wave in order to sell another book, without much new value added.

But if you would like a selective review, it's nice enough for that.

von Max L

Jun 02, 2017

Much worse than "Learning how to learn": there are too many effects in videos with too little actual content. The same ideas repeated again and again and again, until you can't hear them anymore :).

von Survi A

Jul 15, 2019

It was an interesting course and did bring out a lot of interesting thoughts. The professors e

von Nitin K R

Jul 11, 2019

Very good course

von Bart B

Jul 11, 2019

Great course! Highly recommended! As a retiree it was a great fit for my thoughts, hopes and expectations.

von Perihan E

Jul 10, 2019

I really liked the course. Thank you very much

von LELE K K O

Jul 10, 2019

Thank you very much. Babara is such a great lecturer. I really enjoyed her course learning how to learn. Am sure this mooc will be of great help to my proffessional career.

von Khumo M

Jul 09, 2019

This one of the most important courses I have ever taken. Thank you to everyone who produced it.

von Albiser T

Jul 05, 2019

Mindshift semble plutôt être une occasion pour ses deux créateurs de refaire un mooc après le succès de "learning to learn" sans rien à redire sur le sujet. Il n'y a que redite ou évidence, jamais de fondements scientifiques comme il pouvait y en avoir sur leur premier MOOC, mais uniquement l'exemple de la vie de madame Oakley illustré par 2-3 autres personnes qui semblent uniquement avoir été choisi pour confirmer ses propos. Très scientifique tout cela... Dr Sejnowski quant à lui est constamment à côté de la plaque et l'on ne comprend pas l'utilité de ses interventions....

Très déçu par ce MOOC qui n'a rien à voir avec le très bon "Learning to Learn", on est plus ici dans du développement personnel à deux balles qui fait insulte à la science.

Je ne saurais même pas dire ce que j'ai pu y apprendre.

von Ayman M H

Jul 04, 2019

It's great course.. It was very useful to me. The instructors made it clear and I learned a lot from them

von Michael C

Jul 01, 2019

Great course. To the point with excellent supporting data. I think this will really help me as I am in the midst of my own mindshift!

von NIRMALA

Jul 01, 2019

Excellent course! I love the contents: texts, videos and memory tips bonus! Very instructive and inspiring! Thank you so much for this fantastic course!

von Soha E

Jun 30, 2019

Thank you!!! I enjoyed every minute of the MOOC and learned a lot.

von Sheik M N

Jun 29, 2019

Helpful

von Czarina K

Jun 28, 2019

I love Barbara and Terry's approach together. It's very balanced and it's easier to understand rather hard to understand.

von Alex

Jun 28, 2019

I loved "Learning to Learn" and this is why I took Mindshift that I also love it. It´s worth it to everyone and I believe that is somethings like a refresh in a daily basis.

von Angela B

Jun 26, 2019

I learned so much from both this course and Learning to Learn. Excellent material that I use consistently in my day to day. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

von Joshua J

Jun 25, 2019

This course is very inspiring and helpful to anybody who are in a career rut and have been struggling how to continue their career life. This course gave me many new insights on what to do next while in a boring career for 17 years and "jump-starts" again my motivation to learn new things and not to limit myself within my job specialization. The professors were very encouraging and explained the course ideas in a very simple but effective way. I would recommend this to anybody who has a passion on learning and to anybody who want to know some new insights to get them motivated to explore new things beyond their current job.