Chevron Left
Zurück zu Machine Learning: Clustering & Retrieval

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning: Clustering & Retrieval by University of Washington

4.6
1,708 Bewertungen
294 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Case Studies: Finding Similar Documents A reader is interested in a specific news article and you want to find similar articles to recommend. What is the right notion of similarity? Moreover, what if there are millions of other documents? Each time you want to a retrieve a new document, do you need to search through all other documents? How do you group similar documents together? How do you discover new, emerging topics that the documents cover? In this third case study, finding similar documents, you will examine similarity-based algorithms for retrieval. In this course, you will also examine structured representations for describing the documents in the corpus, including clustering and mixed membership models, such as latent Dirichlet allocation (LDA). You will implement expectation maximization (EM) to learn the document clusterings, and see how to scale the methods using MapReduce. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Create a document retrieval system using k-nearest neighbors. -Identify various similarity metrics for text data. -Reduce computations in k-nearest neighbor search by using KD-trees. -Produce approximate nearest neighbors using locality sensitive hashing. -Compare and contrast supervised and unsupervised learning tasks. -Cluster documents by topic using k-means. -Describe how to parallelize k-means using MapReduce. -Examine probabilistic clustering approaches using mixtures models. -Fit a mixture of Gaussian model using expectation maximization (EM). -Perform mixed membership modeling using latent Dirichlet allocation (LDA). -Describe the steps of a Gibbs sampler and how to use its output to draw inferences. -Compare and contrast initialization techniques for non-convex optimization objectives. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

BK

Aug 25, 2016

excellent material! It would be nice, however, to mention some reading material, books or articles, for those interested in the details and the theories behind the concepts presented in the course.

JM

Jan 17, 2017

Excellent course, well thought out lectures and problem sets. The programming assignments offer an appropriate amount of guidance that allows the students to work through the material on their own.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 of 282 Reviews for Machine Learning: Clustering & Retrieval

von Muhammad H A

Aug 13, 2016

I used to run into a wall at work trying to train models with recursive partitioning or neural nets because of the long time they took to train for high dimensional data. These clustering techniques are an immense help.

Awesome course, with a brilliant instructor and brilliant assignments.

von Snehotosh K B

Dec 03, 2016

Best course available till date as MooC

von Nitish V

Oct 29, 2017

The Course is good . Covered lots of topics .

von Robi s

Sep 18, 2017

Great instruction, great course, and provide information I used directly in my work.

von Diogo J A P

Jan 25, 2017

The material is complex and challenging, but the teaching procedure is carefully thought out in a way that you quickly get it, giving you a great sense of accomplishment.

von Bingyan C

Dec 27, 2016

great.

von Uday A

Aug 13, 2017

Thank you so much, Emily and Carlos! Really liked all the courses, and I daresay these are the best ML courses available online. Very insightful, and also cover the mathematical part of the algorithms. Since there are now just 4 courses in this ML Specialization, I would mostly jump to Andrew Ng's new Deep Learning Specialization for further studies. But will look out for your remaining courses to be available once more. If and when they come out, it would be great to send out a notification. Thanks!

von Danylo D

Dec 06, 2016

Thank you, it was a good one

von Bruno C K

Aug 25, 2016

excellent material! It would be nice, however, to mention some reading material, books or articles, for those interested in the details and the theories behind the concepts presented in the course.

von Robert C

Feb 16, 2018

Emily was fantastic at explaining difficult to understand concepts. Thoroughly enjoyed the course, and learned quite a lot.

von Jason G

Aug 09, 2017

Harder than the previous ones, but enjoyable

von vivek k

May 25, 2017

awesome course!

von Pankaj K

Sep 08, 2017

Great course, all the explanations are so good and well explained in the slides. Programming assignments are pretty challenging, but give really good insight into the algorithms!.

Thanks!

von Veer A S

Mar 24, 2018

Very informative and interesting course.

von shaonan

Nov 20, 2016

Deep insight into most useful techniques of machine learning.

von Olga K

Sep 23, 2016

Excellent course! Subjects are explained very well! Excellent quizzes that allow understanding of lectures better and excellent (challenging ) programming assignments.

von Li Y S

Oct 30, 2016

I really learn a lot in this course, although the materials are very difficult at first read, but Emily's explanation were clear and I would be able to get the idea after a few review.

von suryatapa r

Dec 16, 2016

It's an amazing Course.

von Anmol G

Dec 16, 2016

So Much Concepts to learn and totally worth it!

von Saint-Clair d C L

Aug 30, 2016

This course has been an amazing experience. Congrats to you, Carlos and Emmy!

von 嵇昊雨

Apr 25, 2017

内容深度可以,对个人的帮助比较大

von Jifu Z

Jul 23, 2016

Good class, But it would be much better if the quiz is open to those who doesn't pay.

von Kim K L

Oct 04, 2016

Another super course. Though admittedly (for me at least) very difficult to make within the allotted time given for one period of the Course. Lots of advanced stuff that require substantial studies to really comprehend, i.e., it should never be enough just to hack & run the code (that's the easier challenge). Still have a long washing list of topics coming out of this Course that I need (want) to understand better. But at least the background to do so is neatly provided here. So without further ado ... Applause!

von Weituo H

Aug 29, 2016

strongly recommended!

von Ridhwanul H

Oct 17, 2017

Like all the other ones, this as well was an amazing course. The topics covered in were the most interesting ones till now for me, as earlier days when I started programming I used often think about problems like these and used to wonder how it was done. Now I feel like I might be able to do them.

Its a shame that you no longer provide the Recommender System course, since that was something I was even more interested in, and its kinda sad that I am not gonna have access to it.