Chevron Left
Zurück zu Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach, University of Washington

4.6
(8,489 ratings)

Über diesen Kurs

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

von BL

Oct 17, 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

von DP

Feb 15, 2016

With a funny and welcoming look and feel, this course introduces machine learning through a hands-on approach, that enables the student to properly understand what ML is all about. Very nicely done!

Filtern nach:

1,964 Bewertungen

von Annemarie Shorter

May 24, 2019

The instruction conceptually is fine, but I really disliked dealing with setting up Graph Lab Create and SFrames when we could have instead been using more commonly used open source software.

von Carin Northuis

May 22, 2019

Its a fine course but most of the coding comes from the program Graph Lab, which is only free for academic purposes. So you won't be able to take your skills outside this course unless you 1) do all the HW assignments in an open-source and struggle (because there is no assistance for this method) or 2) you pay for GraphLab once you are done with the course (not worth is with all the open source packages out there). The instructors also don't make it easy for users to use the open source packages because Graph Lab splits the data differently than these other sources, making our answers always slightly off.

von Shiwanshu kumar

May 20, 2019

Beautiful course!

von Vibhutesh Kumar Singh

May 19, 2019

this is indeed the best course introductory here.

von Hao Wang

May 16, 2019

Completed

von Jafed Encinas

May 14, 2019

Able to concentrate and stay focused for periods of several hours, even when tasks are relatively mundane, and doesn't make mistakes. He has a high boredom threshold. Always assured and confident in demeanour and presentation of ideas without being aggressively over-confident. No absences without valid reason in 6 months. Reaches a decision rapidly after taking account of all likely outcomes and estimating the route most likely to bring success. The decisions almost always turn out to be good ones.

This Course always completes any assignment on time and to a high standard. This Course has outstanding artistic or craft skills, bringing creativity and originality to the task. Aiming for a top job in the organization. He sets very high standards, aware that this will bring attention and promotion. This Course pays great attention to detail. He always presented work properly checked and completely free of error.

von Nikhil Kumar Chaudhary

May 14, 2019

One of the best machine learning course to start with as a beginner.

von Timothy Nakayama

May 14, 2019

I came into this course knowing little bout Machine Learning. In fact, besides knowing a touch of HTML, I have no significant background in computer programming. Even before I started watching the first video, I was already expecting this to be an especially challenging course, for me at least. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the content and delivery - Carlos' and Emily's adorably dorky banter and their clear and concise approach to the various case studies made it easy for me to grasp the fundamentals of Machine Learning. Their delivery of the course's content is beyond reproach. (Although I would have loved to see Carlos going on a little more about Messi and soccer in general!). I struggled a little on the last question of the final assignment (Week 6), but besides that, it was smooth sailing. Overall, it was a positive learning experience and I'm happy to say that I now know more about Machine Learning than when I began. If you're new to it, this course is a great way to learn what Machine Learning has to offer.

von Gopinath T

May 14, 2019

Well structured course with detailed explanation

von Aakash Deep Srivastava

May 13, 2019

Simply Awesome, Thanks a Lot