Chevron Left
Zurück zu Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach von University of Washington

4.6
Sterne
11,890 Bewertungen
2,846 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

SZ
19. Dez. 2016

Great course!\n\nEmily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

BL
16. Okt. 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 2,760 Bewertungen für Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

von 이제민

13. Dez. 2015

that's awesome course. They bridged between theorem and practice. so we can imagine and know how to apply machine learning algorithm in real world and real problem. what's more, we can adjust and tuning machine learning algorithm to make customized algorithm. I am very confidence this course should give everyone great opportunities and good insight.

von Suchismita R

14. Sep. 2019

Machine Learning Foundations manages to provide a very intuitive impact on the understanding of the need and the accuracy of various ML techniques. The course takes the participant through a thorough conceptual and program-based approach. The various Algorithms and concepts are explained in utmost details, and the exercises are fun and challenging.

von AMS - o

22. Juli 2019

Aside from few technical difficulties, a very well designed and thorough course - this case-study approach is obviously a lot more involving and relatable than just dragging one through a bunch of theoretical concepts and equations (not that the latter is inherently bad, the other one is just more fun :). Would recommend to anyone interested in ML.

von Omar S

22. Aug. 2016

A Brilliant introduction to Machine Learning, I've tried several courses before but none of them got me engaged like this one. The instructors have a lot of knowledge and present the material in a very easy to understand way. Also the assignments and technical work is really engaging and challenges you to really learn the language and the concepts.

von A. B

29. Feb. 2016

Great course--I love the case study approach! Combined with both instructors enthusiasm for the subject, the approach was a great way to ground the theory. The quizzes & labs guided a deeper exploration into the topics the details presented in the modules.

I'm excited to continue digging into the course material while moving towards the capstone.

von Daniyar M

17. Feb. 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I was hearing about Machine Learning so much that i decided to see whats the big buzz about, and big it was! Now i have some of the ideas for my own projects and some solutions for old problems. And must i say that the instructors are amazing, really love their job! Will definitely use graphlab in my work from now.

von Teo J

8. Mai 2020

First of all, I want to say that the interactions between the two professors was, in the most academically professional way, adorable. They clearly know and love their material, and are clearly relaxed and enjoying teaching. It was easy to learn from them, the lessons were well-scaffolded, and I only wish I could take courses like this on campus.

von Sabarish V

18. Apr. 2018

The course is easy to follow. With the IPython notebooks that are already filled in complementing the teaching, everyone can appreciate the applications of machine learning. What's even better is that, because of the notebooks, one can see that one doesn't necessarily need to be very skilled at maths or coding to build their own application.

von Hans G Q

11. Okt. 2020

An amazing course! If you don't have any idea of what is Machine Learning, you will find this course very helpfull. You will walk through different mathemathical concepts as well, but with some research you will doing well!. Excellent for have a big picture of what's going on with Machine Learning and see practical examples on how it works!

von v s

24. März 2018

this is pretty cool, I enjoy this course and the dynamic between the instructors. This course touched on important concepts and purposely omitted the details of the underlying math and algorithm in order to give you a bird-eye-view of the ML landscape. It also wets my appetite to learn more about the details behind the magic! Good approach.

von Alan L

21. Dez. 2017

Amazing Introduction to ML. I came in with little understanding of ML and no Python or coding experience. I had to do most weeks twice while learning extra Python on the side from Code Academy but if a complete novice like me can do this anyone can! The professors are great- they're great at breaking down complex ideas into simple examples.

von Bruno L

19. Dez. 2016

In this course, you use ML algorithms that are already implemented to solve various kinds of problems. The goal is to give you a broad overview of ML and how it can be used to solve real life problems.

Subsequent courses of this specialization dive deeper in each algorithm. You'll learn the theory behind them and implement them from scratch.

von Aldo V M

25. Feb. 2019

Excellent course Carlos & Emily! I enjoyed your lectures a lot, ML is complex but you guys found the way to deliver the message clear, easy and in a funny way. Using real world examples was amazing. Guys could you let me know which other courses you are teaching? Ill be glad to continue learning from you guys. Many thanks, obrigado amigos.

von Iurii S

15. Okt. 2017

Great course! I like their approach of describing application first and then trying to use a fairly complete approach. Submissions in the form of quizzes and auto-graded assignments work better as one does not have to wait for other people to complete the course at the same time, which might be rare at the beginning and end of the session.

von Nelson P

30. Okt. 2017

Great introductory course to ML! I learned some valuable insights by building actual models using GraphLab. After taking this course, you'll have the foundations and overview of machine learning to take the follow up courses in the ML certification by same instructors or take any other ML course available out there. Highly recommended.

von Rajat D

20. Okt. 2017

I really liked the case study based approach of this course. It makes you hit the ground running by applying the concepts learnt in a lesson in the case study immediately. I also like the light hearted tone of the teachers - Emily and Carlos, which helps in retaining interest through some of the more challenging concepts in the course.

von Sivashankar G

17. Juli 2016

This course is the right choice for someone who wants to get a high-level overview of the various fundamental concepts in machine learning and provides the zeal to pursue further. Concepts have been explained by the lecturers really well and quizzes and assignments help us to validate our knowledge of the concepts in a seamless manner.

von Bharat R

30. Juli 2017

This course is a great way to get adequately detailed knowledge of Machine Learning Algorithms. The approach to it (case study based) makes it so much more fun and enjoyable that you can really apply yourself to it. The professors have simplified the most complex topics and explained it amazingly well. Happy to have taken this course.

von Mesum R H

16. Okt. 2017

A very very awesome course with exceptional explanations for each machine learning paradigms and use cases. The best thing for the course was the case study approach. I am taking this approach to train my people as well but over all thank you Carlos and Lady.. for the effort. Really hands on python and machine learning experience (Y)

von Wilfrid L

8. Jan. 2019

Very good course, I enjoyed the way the instructors structured and presented the material, in both a professional and personable manner, and the use of case studies to help solidify the knowledge. Assignments were very well built; although they used quizzes, it really required some thinking and prep work to get the answers right.

von Sunil K

23. Juni 2017

This course has excellent content which is very relevant to Machine Learning practice in industry. However the assignments are little easy. I think this is because this is a case study approach and like an introductory course. I would strongly recommend this course for a beginner who want to learn how ML is being used in industry.

von Tinsae G A

24. Sep. 2016

It was very nice experience. Prior to the course, I heard about most topics. This course helped me to structure the ML concepts in my mind. I like learning by doing. The assignments in the courses really challenged me and I learned good practical knowledge. I am a beginner to MOOC courses, this course was a good start. Thank you.

von Luigi P

15. Mai 2020

It's a great course as first approach to this fantastic world "machine learning". It provided to me a general overview about the potential and the state of art of that technology. This course fired up my curiosity to "deep learn" about mathematical concept behind the scenes and I very hope next courses can cover that knowledge.

von DIONYSIOS Z

2. Okt. 2016

One of the best courses that I attended so far in Coursera. If you already attended the Machine learning course from Andrew Ng or you have some idea of what is Machine learning about, this is the perfect next step. Explanations of machine learning 'buzzwords' and real python examples. Instructors are great. Highly recommend it!

von Mubbasher K

28. Jan. 2018

Excellent course, really appreciate the your hard work in creating easy to follow course, very good slides and presenting information and explanations step by step.... oh and also love the on-screen chemistry between both of you and engaging style with students. It has been an enjoyable course. Please keep up the good work.