Chevron Left
Zurück zu Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach von University of Washington

4.6
Sterne
11,027 Bewertungen
2,644 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

SZ

Dec 20, 2016

Great course!\n\nEmily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

BL

Oct 17, 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

Filtern nach:

2401 - 2425 von 2,562 Bewertungen für Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

von Christopher O

Nov 07, 2016

I enjoyed the course and I will continue with the specialization. I am giving a 3-star rating as i) the lectures need to be updated with correct data or need to provide guidance as to when one should expect individual difference when following along with the notebook, ii) instructor / mentor response in the discussion forums is lacking, iii) graphlab is now an outdated tool as it is not commercially available.

von Konrad Z

Aug 14, 2017

It would be better for the course to focus on using scikit-learn for machine learning. The course focuses on using GraphLab (https://turi.com/download/academic.html), which is a commericial product, free for academic use. I'm doing this course for professional purposes and my preference is to gain familiarity with free/open source solutions that I will be later able to utilise in production environment.

von XingliangZhao

Dec 24, 2019

To be honest, this course is not friendly to windows 10 users because it forces students to use the apple Inc's Turicreate instead of the most popular sklearn. Admittedly, windows 10 users can still install the Turicreate by WSL but not everyone wants to add a subsystem to their windows just for this course. Except for this, this course has a nice structure and the content is really practice-oriented.

von Chris T

Jan 18, 2017

I found the Course very interesting, well prepared from the Tutors and I liked the case study Approach since it provides actual examples where Machine Learning can be realized. I am interested to enroll in the second Course of the certificate to validate if it will go into more Details and Background regarding the build of the algorithms theoretically and in Python. I would like to thank both Tutor

von Manuel O

Aug 31, 2016

While I am aware that this is an overview of the other courses in the specialization, I felt that the quizzes and programming exercises didn't really get into the actual topic. For example the recommender systems quiz and programming assignment have nothing about factorization except a single superficial question. The material is clear and the overview is nice, but the practical part let me down.

von Jess T

Aug 29, 2017

A nice ML overview that introduces many tools without going into detail on how they work. Pro: Loved the programming assignments, nice Jupyter notebooks. Con: found the constant hyping of the Capstone course (which got cancelled) frustrating. The GraphLabCreate software was neat to see and easy to use, but ultimately I preferred the more first principles approach of Andrew Ng.'s ML intro course.

von Dheeraj A

Nov 27, 2016

This is a good introductory course, however the quiz questions and over dependence of graphlab are off putting. The instructors share good insights about the need and motivation for various ML techniques. I wish there was more support on the project using pandas and sklearn. Graphlab is immensely powerful, however not adopted in industry making it hard to apply the learning in real world.

von Christopher W

Mar 06, 2016

Pretty high level overview. I guess it's necessary to give a roadmap for where the concentration leads, but I wonder if each lesson couldn't have been added in its respective module, or if at least the Foundations Module couldn't be shortened a little - or alternatively made a bit more challenging. I'm on the first real module now and the change in difficulty is quite significant.

von Sander v d O

Apr 01, 2016

This course is for you if you really don't know anything about Machine Learning and nothing about Python. If you do know something about it, look for a different course.

I learned the most from lesson 5 and 6 about recommenders and deep learning because I knew nothing about these subjects.

The programming exercises are disappointing: just cut and paste. I found this demotivating.

von Sean I

Nov 05, 2017

I wish they used open source tools for this. I will not be paying for a GraphLab account nor do I see myself using it in the future. I felt less inclined to strain over learning the API and was unused by the technologies. Other than that the course is pretty interesting as I was able to apply some cool data analysis using ML practices I've learned in other Coursera courses.

von James H

Jul 01, 2020

The course was good, and the instructors did a good job. There don't seem to be any mentors in the forums who are helping, and the library used for the exercises was changed from the one in the lectures. The specialization seems to have been abandoned before they published courses 5 and 6, so ignore every time they talk about how great the capstone project is going to be!!

von 熊华东

Jun 28, 2018

Lectures are great. Unfortunately, i can' t install graphlab create on my windows 10 labtap.I wasted two whole day on it!!!!! I tried every methods google told me, all fail or with bugs. I think pandas and sklearn are far more user friendly.不建议大陆使用windows的朋友尝试安装graphlab create,标准安装方式即使用了VPS也网络链接失败,用anaconda安装的话,anaconda3可以安装,但是没有canvas功能,anaconda2各种奇怪报错。搞了两天失败,我还是用sklearn。

von S M R A

May 09, 2020

This course needs to be updated. Windows don't support TuriCreate or Graphlab. Because it works on python 2. But now python 3.8 has come and TuriCreate doesn't work in it either. So, I had to use Ubuntu in my virtual box to work on the assignments. The course wasn't bad. But if they update the course, it will be a great one for beginners in machine learning.

von Katya H

Apr 26, 2016

I think it was a good introductory course. However, I think it was too simple: assignments required no more than copy+paste from the lectures.

I understand the primary goal is to hook people up on how good graphlabs is, but I'd rather leaarn numpy, sklearn and other widely available tools. At least show both in the leactures. Please :)

von Iker U

Apr 11, 2017

This course presents an overview of different machine learning tools but I rather prefer starting from the second course were more specific competencies are given. I believe that in courses like this the contents are to sparse.

It would serve as an introduction. But the contents of week 4 and 5 are not even in the specialization!

von Bryan D

Sep 25, 2019

The course teaches a a lot of information and explains everything from a beginners POV which is great. I only have 2 issues with this course, the use of proprietary software instead of all open source software and NO CONTINUED SUPPORT for about 3 years since the course has been out. Either update the specialization or cancel it.

von Paulius J

Jul 27, 2020

Wanted a course on ML. Could not find anything except this. Therefore decided to take it. However not so sure Turi Create/Graphlab is the best option (had installing issues as a Python beginer). Was it worth to use it instead of Scikit learn? Also I would expect closer connection between quiz tasks and study material.

von Salvador V M

Nov 04, 2017

Good for start in machine learning concepts. Good because they use Jupyter Notebook an python (they use python 2, it would be better 3). But I don't like much the graphlab library for data frames. And also the quizzes are a bit difficult. You have no the whole information in the documentation to solve them.

von Romain R

Apr 10, 2017

The content is really good, well explained=> 5 stars, nothing to add.

Why the 3 stars then ? Graphlab. If you use the pydata stack, as it is said to be possible in every assignments, you get stuck on the quizz due to variations on data and the algorithm used, so you can't really get quite the same answers.

von Vivian Y Q

Jun 01, 2018

Videos were too short to go into details. Too much reliance on the package they development themselves, though I appreciated the simplicity, I don't get to learn about a lot of technical details. So you know how to run a image retrieval model without knowing what are the deep features, for example.

von Troy D

Feb 05, 2020

Good course, learned a lot of basics. I think this course is rather old though and getting a lot of the required software up and running required a lot of work since there are much newer versions available now. I found that I had to do a little extra to get the older packages working in Jupiter.

von Aleksandar S

May 25, 2016

The course content is great. It gives overview on what is going to be learned in details in the next courses. Considering that it is an introductory course and the fact that it utilizes the GraphLab library as tool, I believe it is overpriced compared to the other courses of the specialization.

von Yaniv S

Jan 15, 2017

The whole eco-system is based on Graphlab create which is not very commonly used in the industry. The "Programming assignments" are very much like the exercise done in the videos - so no real thought and effort were needed. The Deep learning part is really bad thought and bad examined.

von Eric J

Jul 12, 2016

The enthusiasm of the instructors was the best thing about this class. But I really wanted a more rigorous methodology - and didn't really get it here. But it was an alright introduction to machine learning but not enough if you want to know what makes the 'black box' work.

von Paulo S B d O F

Sep 05, 2016

Pros:

(1) Teachers know what they are talking.

(2) They are energetic and funny.

Cons:

(1) The course uses proprietary and expensive tool.

(2) The course is too simplistic.

(3) The teachers, although they know what they are talking about, they aren't very good at teaching.