Chevron Left
Zurück zu Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach von University of Washington

4.6
Sterne
10,011 Bewertungen
2,402 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

SZ

Dec 20, 2016

Great course!\n\nEmily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

BL

Oct 17, 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 2,318 Bewertungen für Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

von Malik M W

Mar 31, 2020

I think this course is outdated as they are using python 2 also the platform they use for machine learning only supported by python 2. Due to these limitations, I too was unable to continue this course. Because every time you have to work with new libraries you have to uninstall python 2 and reinstall python 3.

von Vakkalagadda A r

Dec 28, 2015

Instructors or TAs are not available in discussion forums. and the course is focussed on promoting "graph lab" proprietary package of the course sponsor. Maybe you can have a look, not beneficial if you are serious about learning ML.

von Ujwal A

Mar 27, 2020

This course has used windows OS and application built for it. But the library/application is no longer supported on windows. So this is really a big problem for windows users.

von Joseph C

Jul 29, 2018

Overly relies on a paid software (free for the course) called GraphLab. The course can be completed without GraphLab, but expect little / no responses to questions.

von Daniel J

Jan 07, 2017

excessive use of GraphLab create which is not an industry standard.

von Keith P D C

Oct 28, 2019

Two stars because of GraphLab! Otherwise great concepts!

von Peter F

Mar 30, 2020

This course would be okay if it weren't for turicreate, a Python package that's supposed to simplify things. If you have Linux or a Mac, it will do just that, but if you have Windows steer well clear of this course. The lecturers haven't considered the possibility that anyone might not have Linux or a Mac. All the faffing around getting turicreate to work (I did it once and I'm not doing it again) wasn't worth my trouble so I ended up guessing the answers to the quiz questions (you're allowed three attempts every eight hours) just to get this course out of the way. I'll use something actually accessible for the remaining courses, namely R.

von SIVA S

Jun 01, 2020

Faced too many issues during oncourse period.

Still feel the teaching is outdated from software point of view

Issues was started the moment the .zip files had to be extracted and to be fed in Jupiter notebook.

My suggestion to coursera: Kindly change the description of the course for Intermediate who have previous knowledge on coding, but not for Beginners.... We struggled alot.

von Rithik S

May 26, 2020

The files that are given in readings are unable to open and turicreate cannot read that files also. I cant complete my assignments without reading those files. They haven't given any detailed explanation about how to read those files. In videos they had explained through csv files but in assignments they had given sframe file which are unable to read

von Jitendra S

Apr 29, 2016

Dato tool does not even install properly.. so n´makes no sense to continue with the course. The support team fail to help in installing ... :-(

von Krupesh A

Feb 15, 2019

Uses very old versions of libraries. Many students are facing issues which remains unsolved. Not recommended to pursue it.

von Shreyash N S

May 20, 2020

graphlabcreate creates many problem while working..it should be changed

von Youngmin C

Sep 06, 2019

Too old, bad packages, not much to learn. too basic.

von Darren R

Oct 13, 2015

Thoroughly disappointed to see this course based on

von Kaushik M

May 01, 2016

Too many videos and not cluttered assignment codes

von Ryan C

Aug 22, 2016

This course is excellent for anybody new to machine learning and wanting to learn this new skill from the top down. For me, I have a strong background in machine learning, not in the context of big data, but I wanted to get familiar with Python and learn how modern companies are using machine learning in practice. This course provides that applied approach to implementing a broad range of machine learning applications with Python, applied to real problems.

A course this small cannot provide everything - what this course does not provide is in-depth technical tutorials on the workings of machine learning algorithms. There are many courses out there which do, but this course to great for learning a practical approach to problem solving with machine learning and data processing.

If there is a downside, I would say that the use of paid packages in the lectures (graphlab) limits the student's ability to learn Python using the freely available packages on the web, which was my personal preference. However, this is not purely negative, since there are many employers out there who would like to know that you have practical knowledge of things like AWS and graphlab. I did enjoy learning about those packages and services and I feel like I learned something positive which I can share with potential employers.

Overall, a very good concise course - one of the best on Coursera for vocational learning in my opinion.

von Tim J

Jan 09, 2016

Excellent overview course. It has exactly the right balance between explaining Machine Learning concepts, and providing enough supporting mathematics & logic to understand why these concepts are correct (without going through epsilon-delta proofs).

Having followed several Machine Learning courses, this is now definitely my favourite new course, replacing Andrew Ng's famous course here on Coursera (which was also very good & especially complete, but required too often a leap of faith - this course provides really more details on the "why"). Furthermore, the exercises in this course are spot-on: they use Python and GraphLab Create (for which you get a 1 year student license when taking this course) - the big advantage is that you can focus on the Machine Learning aspect, and not on how to implement something in Python (or Matlab or R). The exercises are challenging enough and require some thought, exactly what they should do. This is not a "look up the right answer in the slides" course when it comes to exercises, which I particularly like.

The chemistry between the teachers is also very nice and shows they just love Machine Learning, and love teaching it (which they do very well).

If you some familiarity with statistics (a bit) and mathematics (a bit of matrix & vector calculations), and want to understand what Machine Learning is about, then this is THE course for you.

von Milan R K

Feb 20, 2016

Emily and Carlos, you are the best! Thank you so much for offering this great course. I like your humor, your casual, yet very direct and practical, approach of teaching.

I'm a film student from Germany but I was always interested in Machine Learning and AI - more like a hobby. This course gave me a very good intermediate understanding for the mechanisms behind this hyped and often overcomplicated subject field. The knowledge I gained helped me deliver a way better master theses in film school. I was able to (automatically) collected huge amount of tv-series data on several platforms via import.io and dbpedia and build a really great, combined database (dato's SFrame was very helpful here!). Through the techniques of this course I was able to push the analysis in my thesis a lot further than I ever expected!!! I will try to finish the other courses of this specialization although I'm an expert and professional in a completely different field. It's just so much fun and so comprehensible!

Also I got the impulse for a great sci-fi television series, which I will be writing the next few months now ;)

von Timothy N

May 14, 2019

I came into this course knowing little bout Machine Learning. In fact, besides knowing a touch of HTML, I have no significant background in computer programming. Even before I started watching the first video, I was already expecting this to be an especially challenging course, for me at least. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the content and delivery - Carlos' and Emily's adorably dorky banter and their clear and concise approach to the various case studies made it easy for me to grasp the fundamentals of Machine Learning. Their delivery of the course's content is beyond reproach. (Although I would have loved to see Carlos going on a little more about Messi and soccer in general!). I struggled a little on the last question of the final assignment (Week 6), but besides that, it was smooth sailing. Overall, it was a positive learning experience and I'm happy to say that I now know more about Machine Learning than when I began. If you're new to it, this course is a great way to learn what Machine Learning has to offer.

von Neil J

Jul 30, 2016

Excellent content, and at just the right level for a getting-your-feet-wet-course. I especially liked the overall vibe of the lectures, which was relaxed and kind of goofy, and it's actually kind of nice to get some sense of personality from both Carlos and Emily. This is a topic of how to understand and manipulate the world as expressed to you through data -- a completely dry and theoretical approach would be tragic. I eagerly look forward to the rest of the specialization. And I had an ah-ha! moment in the week 5 homework -- it's a fairly simple model of building song recommendations, but when you actually look at the recommendations that come back from this algorithm, you kind of see that it does an intuitively better job than any system you could design and build without using ML techniques. Being a (successful) software engineer, this was both humbling to me and inestimably cool! It's not just a few new tricks to add to my bag-o-tricks, it's a whole new field to digest and investigate.

I'm very excited about this!

von Patrick M

Feb 01, 2016

A fascinating tour of what's possible today with modern machine learning tools. The beauty and challenge of this course is the approach - diving right in to the tools to work through and experiment with some case studies. This is not a talk and visuals only course. You will be hands on.

This may be demanding for some, but is worth the effort. The course says no previous experience necessary in Python, but I recommend having at least completed a beginner's course before trying to tackle this. (Or familiarized yourself with Python if you have other programming experience - it has its quirks, like every language.)

The course will introduce you to the current state of play in machine learning and both show you what's possible and also where the limitations are. This is not a superficial course (talking points only) - you will learn enough to be dangerous. If you want to be a little safer, do the follow-on courses too. (At this time, only the 2nd course has run - regression - but it was very good).

von Daniel C

Feb 10, 2016

Presenters start off kind of silly and made me wonder what I was getting into. However this class quickly evolved to be 100 times better than the course offered by U of California on Big Data. You do actual python programming through a lot of serious concepts in data analysis, visualization, and machine learning. This first course is hands on - just use the libraries. They lean heavily towards Dato which is not open source - using a 1 year trial license. However there are better instructions and support for open source in subsequent courses. Also - the second course in the series which I'm taking now is taking what we did in course 1 and diving into the math and algorithms involved - walking through actual proofs etc. It doesn't require you to know them well enough to do on your own, but they do walk you through them and explain extremely well - you actually implement the resulting algorithms. I'm fascinated by this course and can't wait to apply what I've learned.

von Swati D

Dec 21, 2017

Artificial intelligence been around for long time and machine learning is the application to self learn through the data and apply and predict, be more and more accurate. This was a first encounter for me to know how deep learning and deep feature works! Probably, this was the time when I felt going back to university days and relearn few concept of statistics, in order to understand few prediction model and the usage. I was amazed to see and unaware of the fact, I am benefitting as user and million of users unknowingly. Every field and every industry and most importantly every area of our life is going to improve/ impacted with Machine learning. It is a great effort by the faculties, to bring such complex topics to level where it's looks like story telling and making folks understand through small assignments but surely it is a result of deep thinking and hard work which makes this course so interesting and intuitive.

von Yulia P

May 07, 2016

Loved the material and the course design - it really works for people who don't have much time but want to understand the main principles of machine learning. I think I've watched every week's videos and completed assignments within about 2-4 hours.

The only suggestion I would have (and it is a very personal opinion) is to spend less time on illustrating slightly irrelevant aspects of the material, such as showing quite a few Amazon products or going through a full shoe collection. I can see how that can make the course a little more lively but for a person who treasures every minute of their free time, it can be noticeable, especially when it takes a significant fraction of the very well-sized small videos. This was a very minor issue but I thought I'd share in case someone else felt the same way.

Overall, a huge thank you to Carlos and Emily for a great course!!

von Ezra S

Jan 01, 2019

The only way these courses could be better if there were far more of them from the same professors. If more of the nitty gritty details of these algorithms were fleshed out in all their glory, more algorithms, more mathematical derivations & more tutorials in the programming languages & libraries used. Otherwise, these MOOCs are near perfection. A very, very nice introduction for beginners with just a little bit of math & not too much programming. Just enough for busy people. I've reserved that 5th star due to the slow pace that the MOOCs have been released (which will presumably be irrelevant for future machine learners) & the fact that there really needs to be more of these very high quality moocs. So there aren't enough of them, so I reserve a star. Hopefully in the future that will be irrelevant as well in which case I'll regret not indicating 5 stars.