Chevron Left
Zurück zu Model Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Model Thinking by University of Michigan

4.8
1,359 Bewertungen
290 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Top-Bewertungen

GK

Feb 25, 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

YK

Apr 07, 2018

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 of 282 Reviews for Model Thinking

von Ton v O

May 30, 2019

Excellent, learn a lot and entertaining

von Kirakosyan M

Jun 21, 2019

Very intersting

von krishna m

Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course to understand how to use different models to think and make decisions, in general and in a work setting, in particular.

von Joerg P

Jun 29, 2019

The course touches on a wide variety of topics, while keeping a clear focus. The presentations are fun to watch and Prof. Scott presents with enthusiasm and presents interesting examples where the models apply in day to day life. The syllabus adds some interesting leads for those who want to dig a bit deeper in that matter. I'm happy to have learnt some new models, deeper understood some models I used to know and eager to see how to apply this in the future. Mental note: Be open to switch chairs, but be careful to switch rooms ;-)

von Hasan R C

Jul 04, 2019

Wonderful course,

Thank you.

von wasonga

Jul 04, 2019

great source of knowledge in models and how they can be used in real problem scenarios.

von Bohdan S

Jul 15, 2019

Outstanding mind-changing introduction to the world of models. Very fertile in terms of applications. Would definitely use the lessons learned in my field — making video games. Take the course if you feel like you need to upgrade your rational thinking and learn a new stuff outside the scope of your field.

von Ali M

Jul 14, 2019

This is a brilliant course taught by an exceptional instructor who is a passionate innovator in his field. This course not online provided me with just the right amount of "stretch" in terms of the intellectual effort needed, it also expanded the boundaries of my knowledge. You will become smarter if you take this course, I highly recommend it.

von Carlos G F

Jul 16, 2019

Great!!!

von Sunil

Jul 19, 2019

This is an outstanding course on the many model approach to problem solving. I got way more than I expected from the course - I did not expect to see coverage of agent based modeling, linear models, tipping points, and game theory in one course. I also got less than I wanted as we went along. Each class was a short trailer on the models and many a times I wanted to know more. I at least know what to explore, which is not a bad outcome for a course you can complete quite quickly. Professor Page's enthusiasm for the models and the need to cycle information through multiple models is infectious, informative and ultimately very inspiring.

von Charles C W

Jul 22, 2019

This course changed the way I think about many issues. The professor's enthusiasm was infectious and the quizzes contributed to the learning process. Only request would be for additional, higher level courses on the same topic.

von Phil M

Aug 16, 2019

Models are the stuff of knowledge: we propose simplified versions of how the world works and consider how well they match reality. Scott answers the philosophical question "What are models for?" and gives an introduction to several engaging models. Anyone who wants to become a lifelong learner will do well to develop the skill of designing, refining, and applying their own models.

von George T M

Feb 25, 2019

Model Thinking by the University of Michigan makes one a better thinker and helps one to understand practical situations using models.

von James K

Oct 08, 2015

Demanding but very enlightening course

von Les S

Nov 26, 2016

This is a a really good intro course. As a short introduction to lots of different models, you come away with a full appreciation of how the reduction of the complex into simple models can advance your thinking, help better understand why people make the choices they do and make sense of situations that otherwise would be obscure. The only reason this is not a five-star rating is because there are a few points in the class where there is a break in the logic (i.e. a missing piece) and there are slides and text below the video that contain typos or mistakes. Individually, none of these are a big deal, but collectively, they take the professionalism down a notch.

von Federico P

Sep 25, 2017

Nice course, but lacks depth.

von Dmitry U

Feb 28, 2016

The course focus is broad and instructor is great. However, some particular models have been described too general, e.g. the lectures on Lyapunov functions had no connection to the ODEs and other mathematical phenomena.

von Milind G

Dec 31, 2015

A must do course for everyone.. It's a rejoinder to all those who say that what you learn in schools/colleges is of no use in practical life.

von Luuk T

Jan 16, 2016

Contributed to making me a clearer thinker and was a good refreshment of material from my MSc Business Administration.

von Kirk r

Sep 14, 2017

Good class. A little topical, I would have liked more time Net Logo.

von Pietro P

Jun 09, 2016

I think it is terrific course - it is just right for me

von Michel D

Oct 10, 2015

I wasn't planning to follow the whole course and doing assessment and homework. It end up being a good learning and I watched most of the videos. I skipped known information and skimmed to relatively familiar ones / or when there was too much examples. I understand the course was built for common denominator student. Thanks for making this free course. It's much appreciated. - Michel

von Gustavo

Aug 30, 2017

Great learning tool. Thank you!

von Chandra S T

Sep 15, 2016

I think everyone should take this course although some of the lectures are hard

von Roberto G R

Dec 27, 2015

This course is both very instructive and fun. The professor covers a lot of interesting topics. It would be better if he speaks a little bit slower, so the non native English speakers like me can understand all he is saying.