Chevron Left
Zurück zu Modelldenken

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Modelldenken von University of Michigan

4.8
Sterne
2,093 Bewertungen
475 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Top-Bewertungen

AA

23. Nov. 2020

very informative and insightful on how to use the various models at our disposal to take optimal decision. Also, was nostalgic to go back in time where these models were part of my university degree.

YK

6. Apr. 2018

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 468 Bewertungen für Modelldenken

von Denerson D P M

24. Juni 2018

Excelente curso para desenvolver modelos analíticos que vão muito além do senso comum, de forma estruturada e crítica, a partir de dados e inferências estatísticas, matemáticas e sócio-comportamentais.

von Kleber G S

20. Nov. 2020

Ótimo curso !

Um dos melhores que já fiz, com certeza passei a enxergar múltiplas situações de forma diferente.

O Curso cumpre com seu objetivo de fazer pessoas melhores para um mundo melhor .

von Anshul T

7. Juni 2016

Wonderful course and equally wonderful instructor. I really like how Scott builds up from a very simple model and by explaining the intuition behind how we got the math, explains the maths.

von Julius G

8. Apr. 2018

This is a great introduction to the types and uses of models. The lectures are clear, and the examples given show good applicability to real world problems. Thanks for making it available!

von Andrey R

24. Mai 2017

This course is a great introduction to simple but useful models. The prominent feature of the course is an intuition and practical examples based one the models provided. Many thanks!

von Henrique d M

17. Mai 2017

I learned a lot in this course.

I think it is a essential course to social scientists especially those that are a little lost, don't knowing how they contribute to the wider society.

von Nas Y

17. Okt. 2016

This is a course for anyone who wants to be able to think logically. As an IT professional I would recommend this course to my colleagues in the Information Technology field.

von frank y

19. März 2016

Very inspiring! Brings me into a whole new world, to look at things from brand new perspective.

I love this course and would like to be posted on any update on this subject.

von Lester H

19. Juni 2020

First time I have ever been excited about algebra and calculus. Understanding models will prove to be of great value when asked to interpret the meaning of collected data.

von Jaideep S

2. Feb. 2016

Loving this course so far, eager and excited to continue it and finish very soon. A great addition of analytical frameworks and management strategies to add to my toolkit.

von Filipe G

4. Jan. 2016

Really good. Fantastic overview.

For my taste it was a bit too easy and it could have gone more in depth in some topics. But I understand the need to keep it general also.

von Carla M

7. März 2016

Very interesting! The teacher explains really well and even though his expertise is social science, he always explains how this thinking can pertain to other realms.

von gavin m

28. Jan. 2021

Excellent overview course with potential for individuals to go further and also think about decision making in general. One of the most useful courses I have taken.

von Ameri

20. Sep. 2018

All the way 5! I am a last year Ph.D. candidate and this is one of the best courses I have ever had in my whole life! The instructor is amazing! I highly recommend.

von Philip W

18. Nov. 2016

Clear. Well paced. Methodical. Ideal balance of mathematics and practical application. Mathematics not too overwhelming although it did push my thinking hard.

von Ruben R

27. Mai 2022

I love this course, and I want to thank you the University of Michigan and professor Scott for dedicating his time and putting all this information together.

von Iftikhar A K

29. Sep. 2016

A very good course. Need time to be completed. It should continue on and lectures should be available every time regarless of end of quizez or assignments.

von A M

6. Sep. 2016

I enjoyed this course a lot; it is very comprehensive and let you gain a lot of perspective through the models discussed in it and how you can apply those.

von Prakash H

20. Apr. 2020

I have downloaded all the videos and even the lecture notes (as well prepared one). Greatly helpful to my profession. Thank you for this wonderful course.

von Omar S

7. Aug. 2017

Well done, the professor has a great personality which makes it fun to understand the topics. Using math to solve practical real life problems. Amazing!

von Wu S

23. Dez. 2020

very interesting topics covered in the course, serves as a good starting ground on model thinking, and to delve deeper into some of the models mentioned!

von Adhiraaj S

2. Mai 2020

Excellent course with in-detail reference material and a great teacher who makes difficult concepts very easy to comprehend with interesting examples!

von Fabio M

3. Mai 2020

This is a great course for multiple application areas and skill levels. The topic is important for everyone, regardless of background and objectives.

von Clemens S

8. Juni 2016

Succinct, useful in day to day life, easy to understand and yet complex. A great course I would recommend to everybody (and frequently do recommend).

von Annabella R

6. Dez. 2016

Il loved this course-- what I could finish of it. I come back to it again and again. Clear, great referernces and resources..and excellent Profes