Chevron Left
Zurück zu Modelldenken

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Modelldenken von University of Michigan

4.8
Sterne
2,093 Bewertungen
475 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Top-Bewertungen

GK

24. Feb. 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

YK

6. Apr. 2018

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 468 Bewertungen für Modelldenken

von Ketevan K

25. Apr. 2021

Course was super interesting ! I am equipped with the critical skills for modern life :

Modeling, Economics, Decision-Making, Strategic Thinking ;

von Nora I

20. Apr. 2021

Very good courses with examples that allowed me to understand the different concepts, especially as I am not a mathematician. Thank you Professor.

von Dhaval B

12. Juni 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. If you are looking to improve your thinking skills, understand the world better. You should take this course

von Bojan K

11. Juni 2019

Don't let the length of the course discourage you. It is worth it by the end. Very informative and useful in both professional and personal life.

von Weigeng L

19. Jan. 2018

A really useful and interesting lesson. Learning through numbers of simple but meaningful models, providing me an introduction to model thinking.

von Anton O

5. Juni 2017

Great lectures, but I would appreciate the course much more if it went deeper into the mathematics and how to model things from that perspective.

von 庄宇州

6. Okt. 2015

It’s really funny,and we can learn a lot from this course,even without any awareness.Just a few words that we cannot get it indeed frustrated us.

von EDUARDO M

5. Okt. 2019

Excelente curso. Aprendí bastante de los tipos de modelos que existen las realidades en las que se pueden aplicar y cómo aplicarlos. Sigan así!

von Pecherskikh A

3. Sep. 2020

Despite I had a "theory construction & model building" course at my university, it was still a pleasure to go through these lectures, thanks!

von Aloys F T

28. Juni 2016

My favorite course of all time.. It has a lot of interesting concepts and a fascinating perspective on this weird thing the world/society is.

von Aelita M

30. Nov. 2015

A comprehensive course that goes into different areas of science to demonstrate why and how modeling is used. Fun to watch and very clear!

von krishna m

28. Juni 2019

Excellent course to understand how to use different models to think and make decisions, in general and in a work setting, in particular.

von Cliff S

18. Sep. 2016

Excellent course, wide scale application, highly recommend.

Also :

-clear presentation

-no technical issues with quizzes or content issues

von Armand R

9. Apr. 2016

Eye-opening cross-disciplinary program with an outstanding teacher. Cannot be better, thank you Internet for bringing this to everyone.

von Saishankar S

28. Juli 2020

This is a 5 Star course that really makes a person "more intelligent" and better at understanding the world and real-life situations.

von Alan Z

7. Juni 2016

Very cool course shows me how to model many real world examples, tons of modeling techniques, and most importantly, how to think inde

von Emily M

4. Jan. 2016

This course is brilliant. Organised, well paced and has really consolidated the direction of study I would like to pursue. Thank you!

von Şükrü B

2. Juni 2017

This was one of the best courses I've taken so far. Thanks for providing this great material and information to students worldwide.

von Taffy E

6. Jan. 2016

Excellent course. Even just the first two weeks are worth 5 stars. The math can be intimidating later on. Take what works for you!!

von Otávio B

2. Juni 2019

Really great course. Thanks University of Michigan and Professor Scott Page for sharing such interesting material with us. Bests!

von Ismail K

12. Nov. 2019

It was great introductory course to the awesome world of models. I've enjoyed and learned a lot. Thanks Coursera and Prof. Page.

von Ugo Z

30. Okt. 2019

I enjoy a lot the contents and the way this course is taught. It certainly delivers its promises and it does that with a smile.

von Murshida M

21. Sep. 2020

A very fun and comprehensive course. Helps you to look at the world with a better and a much clearer perspective using models.

von Bart H J

1. Mai 2019

If you're interested in thinking more accurately, this course exposes you to a variety of models to help with that. Terrific!