Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I, Tel Aviv University

4.7
662 Bewertungen
172 Bewertungen

Über diesen Kurs

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Top-Bewertungen

von MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

von TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtern nach:

168 Bewertungen

von Muhammed Ashiq K

May 20, 2019

really helpful for those who Interested to learn about middle east

von OUDJEHANI Racim

May 15, 2019

Un superbe cours pour tous ceux qui veulent comprendre la géopolitique du Moyen-Orient

von Chilan Nan

May 09, 2019

This course really helped me to get a glimpse of the Middle East, and the origin of the problems.

von Gary

Apr 14, 2019

Informational and inspirational, the course was clearly illustrated by Prof. Asher Susser. In this first part, the history and establishment of every country in the Middle East are explained meticulously. I was amazed by Prof. Susser's comprehensive knowledge and sources of citation, and interested even more in every aspect of the Middle East.

von Adwait Bhushan Athawale

Mar 31, 2019

Brilliant depiction of Modern Middle East. Definitely going to cover second part too.

von Mahmoud Mohammed Mostafa

Feb 23, 2019

Its carry a lot of hidden secrets about history of Middle East

von Paula Barrios

Feb 17, 2019

Fantastic course! Professor Susser has a very engaging way of teaching history and the course materials (videos, course readings and quizzes) are very high quality

von Beatriz merchan Diaz

Feb 07, 2019

Ha sido un curso excelente,dentro de poco empezaré la segunda parte.

von Ben Grinyer

Jan 20, 2019

Very well explained and hugely interesting. I highly recommend to any history enthusiasts.

von Liudmyla

Dec 02, 2018

Before taking this course I had rather preliminary understanding of what the Middle East is, how come the Ottoman Empire managed to last for four centuries, why were there some many continuous conflicts in the post Ottoman countries in the XXth century, etc. So many questions I have answered. Thank you for the well-tought lectures and well-structured material.I higly recommend this course.