Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I von Tel Aviv University

4.7
722 Bewertungen
182 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Top-Bewertungen

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 178 Bewertungen für The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

von Jenny P M A

Jun 29, 2019

Este curso superó mis expectativas siento una gran afinidad por el Medio Oriente y gracias bajo el direccionamiento del Profesor Asher Susser siento y se que tuve una adquisición de conocimiento o aprendizaje del mejor. Muy bueno, Excelente Gracias a la Universidad de Tel Aviv por su compromiso y su educación de calidad y por supuesto muchas gracias Coursera.

JJENNY MORENO AVELLANEDA

von Gabriela R S F

Jun 11, 2019

Excelente. Absolutamente todo de un nivel de excelencia. Completo, dinámico, y accesible a cualquier persona sin conocimiento previo en el tema. Felicitaciones.

von Claudia

Feb 06, 2016

A very clear, rigorous and ENJOYABLE presentation of a very complex subject. Definitely everyone interested in the roots of the modern Middle East troubles should take this primer.

von Liudmyla

Dec 02, 2018

Before taking this course I had rather preliminary understanding of what the Middle East is, how come the Ottoman Empire managed to last for four centuries, why were there some many continuous conflicts in the post Ottoman countries in the XXth century, etc. So many questions I have answered. Thank you for the well-tought lectures and well-structured material.I higly recommend this course.

von Paula B

Feb 17, 2019

Fantastic course! Professor Susser has a very engaging way of teaching history and the course materials (videos, course readings and quizzes) are very high quality

von Beatriz m D

Feb 07, 2019

Ha sido un curso excelente,dentro de poco empezaré la segunda parte.

von Mahmoud M M

Feb 23, 2019

Its carry a lot of hidden secrets about history of Middle East

von Adwait B A

Mar 31, 2019

Brilliant depiction of Modern Middle East. Definitely going to cover second part too.

von Ben G

Jan 20, 2019

Very well explained and hugely interesting. I highly recommend to any history enthusiasts.

von Cesar A G Z

Jul 10, 2018

Realmente estoy muy contento de haber tomado este curso. Mis conocimientos sobre el medio oriente mejoraron considerablemente.

von Joseph C

Nov 24, 2015

Excellent course! Very informative. I am looking forward to Part II.

von Amber D

Apr 11, 2016

Course was thorough and informative. I entered with no knowledge about the History of the Middle East and now have a solid base of understanding to further delve into the subject. Professor is clear and the lectures are well organized. I'm honestly surprised at how much information I was able to retain on the taught subjects. Take this course! You'll be glad you did.

von 刘硕辰

Nov 27, 2015

The course offers great ideas to me instead of facts that can be easily checked. All history are contemporary history. Ideas shape and change the socitey.

von Bertold K

May 11, 2016

Interesting and educational course

von Melissa J H

Jan 09, 2017

This course was a wealth of information. I was a history major in college, yet not much of this information was ever presented to me. I am so happy to finally be able to understand some of the reasons behind the current difficulties in the Middle East.

von Kamil S

Jan 29, 2017

Very informative, well-paced and objective course. Even more beneficial as it is the sole comprehensive course on the subject in the internet.

von Katie E

Oct 31, 2016

I learned a ton in this course. I have a much more solid foundation for understanding religious differences, issues with national borders/geography, and conflicts between religious rule and secularism.

von Armin E

Jan 31, 2016

I thought it was a great course, very well produced, rhetorically excellent. I very much enjoyed learning and I think I profited in my understanding of Middle Eastern affairs.

von Deborah C

May 19, 2016

Thorough, insightful and taught with passion, this course gave me the understanding of the middle east conflict that I was looking for. They say experts can explain a complicated subject and make it feel simple and easy to understand and that is what Prof. Susser did with this course. Truly a "do not miss" course for any level if you want to gain insights into the history or get a simple and real understanding of the modern middle east. Really a great course.

von Leo K

Mar 08, 2016

Professor Asher Susser is a very good speaker, and the course is very well organized. The subjects he discuss are very interesting; I enjoyed listening to him for hours. I will absolutely participate in the second part of this course as well as the course about the modern history of Israel.

von Tomer U

Mar 12, 2016

great course and most helpful these days

von Oscar D

Jan 30, 2017

Excelente curso. Vale la pena tomarlo. Esperando la segunda parte.

von Justine B

Dec 26, 2016

Clear, concise, objective. Asher Susser explains so much about the Middle East; helps make the present-day situation more understandable.

von Bobrov M

Feb 19, 2017

Кратко, информативно, полезно.

von EDUARDO A

Mar 09, 2017

Excellent