Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II von Tel Aviv University

4.8
299 Bewertungen
66 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will discuss the developments in the Middle East from the early 20th century to the present. It will discuss the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. It will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that this course builds upon a previous course - The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-1/home/welcome) Learn about the history of the Middle East for a deeper understanding of current regional developments!...

Top-Bewertungen

MK

Jul 31, 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

DE

May 04, 2017

One of the very best courses available, the historical examination of continue changing in the Middle East, allows students think the pieces that derive in actual regional struggle.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 65 Bewertungen für The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

von Mary F H

Apr 05, 2016

This was a brilliant course that has given me, for the first time, an understanding of the history of and issues in the Middle East. I highly recommend it.

von Tomer U

Mar 12, 2016

great course and most helpful these days

von Mick H

Aug 29, 2016

Brilliantly insightful summaries

von John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Excellent overview of a difficult subject

von Daniel F E

May 04, 2017

One of the very best courses available, the historical examination of continue changing in the Middle East, allows students think the pieces that derive in actual regional struggle.

von Thomas E

Dec 04, 2015

Thanks for this enlightening course! I understand much better than before what has been going on for two centuries in the middle east.

von Deleted A

Jan 31, 2016

An excellent course that examines the evolution of the Arab- Israeli conflict and which provides a historical context for the "Arab Spring" Insightful and thought-provoking...

von Kyle C

Jul 27, 2017

This course explained more about the Middle East than I had ever known in my life. I never understood the conflicts in that region, or why there was so much strife, but this class explained that perfectly. I wish this had been taught in school for me, I would have felt so much better informed.

von Bart S

Aug 25, 2017

excellent, please repeat course

von Angel V

May 27, 2017

I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about the Middle East. (I took Part I and Part II of this course) The Middle East is a very hot topic of discussions these days, but sadly a lot of people don’t know much about the region. Most of the people learn about the Middle East trough media. Popular (mainstream) media creates an image of the region that only involves terrorism, autocratic governments and civil war. Even though most of the Middle East contemporary problems are extremely complicated, this course will help you understand a little about the region’s modern history, culture and ethnic/religious diversity. Understanding Middle East’s history (especially its modern history) will help you a great deal to understand the region’s contemporary issues. The Middle East is much more than what we see in the news. This course will greatly expand your knowledge regarding the history and culture of the region. I recommend people to take both, Part I and Part II, of this course. You will not regret it.

von Alex R

Jan 03, 2016

Very interesting course - loaded with insights and information. Thank you very much prof. Susser

von Roberto D

Oct 01, 2016

Great course, great teaching !

von Solomon Z

Mar 14, 2018

great brief info

von Abdullah Z M

Feb 14, 2018

Both course are well organized, informative and attention catching.

von Oleg V K

Dec 16, 2015

Great MOOC for everyone want to learn about Mid East issue!!!

von MARCIO P D A

Jan 28, 2016

Professor Asher Susser is wonderful!

It is amazing to have the opportunity to study such high quality classes.

Thank you very much and best wishes from Brazil! :)

von Darcy R J

Dec 18, 2015

A great course all around, just like Part I.

Bitter sweet to be done as there was so much great information in here.

I highly recommend both courses if you want to learn a good amount of information on the Middle East in a short period of time.

von Deborah C

May 19, 2016

Thorough, insightful and taught with passion, this course gave me the understanding of the middle east conflict that I was looking for. They say experts can explain a complicated subject and make it feel simple and easy to understand and that is what Prof. Susser did with this course. Truly a "do not miss" course for any level if you want to gain insights into the history or get a simple and real understanding of the modern middle east. Really a great course.

von Antoine C

Jul 02, 2017

Very good overview of the Middle East, thank you

von Sencer T

Oct 27, 2017

Brilliant academic content...

Thanks for the opportunity:)))

von Christopher W

Dec 16, 2016

This course was thorough and non-bias look at the modern Middle East. A great two part course to help anyone better understand what is going in the region today, and how the events transpired from WWI onward.

von Leonidas T

May 14, 2016

Very interesting, well informed with thinkable ideas.

von Raymond C W

Feb 13, 2016

Outstanding course.

von Karen A D

May 30, 2016

An excellent course for getting an understanding of what's happening in the Middle East today. It's a very balanced an comprehensive treatment of the subject.

von A K

Sep 26, 2016

Excellent, interesting, thorough