Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) von Wesleyan University

4.8
623 Bewertungen
138 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Top-Bewertungen

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

JR

Aug 02, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 137 Bewertungen für The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

von Susannah R

Feb 01, 2018

The lectures were excellent, and I really enjoyed the course... However:

the reading was always quoted at 10 minutes per week, when often the reading was much longer, and was complex ideas,so quite a slow read. Madame Bovary in 10 minutes? I don't think so. More like 10 hours.

Now I know that by writing essays the info really sticks, and the understanding is greater. But this is a part time interest for me. After two essays, I had had enough, so I just watched the lectures from that point forward.

von Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

A great and accomplished scholar presents his subject matter in a compelling way.

von Коныхова А Л

Jan 16, 2019

Потрясающий лектор! Очень интересный курс!

von Chris

Feb 17, 2019

Cool ideas. Very engaging instructor. Finally I understand the Simpson's and the odd Nietzschean qualities of our modern and post-modern world.

von EFRIN G

Feb 19, 2019

Simply excellent course!

It is dynamic, well constructed and easy to follow.

The essays are challenging and focus on the materials.

von James

Feb 28, 2019

awesome

von Eric N

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent but perhaps too many books to read! Reading three or four novels is unrealistic for such a course.

von Fable Z

Apr 03, 2019

That is very good class

von Shams

Mar 09, 2019

If it is possible I would give the course 10 stars not just 5 !

I came from a very different background, I'm a pharmacist from Middle East - Egypt- where English is not my mother tongue. But this course has given me the type of knowledge I was searching for not knowing where to find it .

A very interesting to-the-point presentation for western history ... serves the different ideas in the course which covers almost the remarkable thinkers we hear about with the key ideas for them .

I think this course is a must for everyone interested in the history of modern ideas and how we became what we are .

I'm studying now part ii and looking forward to join more courses about that topic .

Special thanks for Mr.Michael S. Roth for his interesting way in lectures and mastery this topic every will.

von Julia P

Dec 06, 2018

Very insightful.

von Wang Z

Jul 10, 2018

A very comprehensive introduction about modern philosophy, etc.

von Elif S

Sep 11, 2018

Excellent course! Very motivating and inspiring lectures. I am more than glad to have found this course and i will be continuing with Part II for certain. Thank you!

von Mohammad A

Oct 06, 2018

Very well-structured and brilliantly taught. If philosophy/sociology/cultural studies interest you but you've never had a chance to learn it in a progressive, structured sequence, then this course is for you. This will help you make wholistic sense of ideas and place them in reference to one another.

von Fogan A

Oct 26, 2018

Help know how was the modern time, and the different school of thought that forged it...

von Малахов И В

Nov 08, 2018

The course is very good. Thank you.

von Cecilia P T

Oct 13, 2018

Amazing course! Professor Roth guides you through philosophy, history, literature and art in depth but also in a simple, enjoyable way!

It took me more than seven weeks to complete the course as there were some readings to be done which were quite time-consuming and having a full-time job it wasn't always easy to devote as much time as needed to this pretty demanding course, but I enjoyed every lecture and managed to always find even the tiniest bit of time to watch the videos and complete the assignments.

It's been a great experience so far, I'm looking forward to Part 2 now!

von Ana C C

Oct 03, 2015

Amazing oportunity to develop ideas in different subjects around the theme of modernity. The course covers many authors,and though never gets superficial. The best part is Professor Roth and the pieces of readings in an emotional, thrilling way. Thanks Coursera!

von Nadezda Z

Aug 14, 2015

One of the best courses I ever had an opportunity to encounter on Coursera. It is an insightful, enlightening journey into the cultural and philosophical heritage of humanity. The professor opens up and talks in a most compelling way about all major ideas of modernity that you have heard about. This course is a must for anyone who wants to be an intellectual person.

von Roua A

May 29, 2017

Michael Roth, you Made this experience unforgettable, thank you!!!

von Sudhir D

Apr 25, 2017

This is an amazing course - I loved every bit of it and learned so much. I am going to listen to all the material yet again. Thanks much.

von Daniel Z

Jan 05, 2016

Excellent Course with extremely detailed lectures. Dr. Michael Roth is an excellent intellectual historian.

von christophe v d

Oct 21, 2015

excellent course and great teacher

von Frank D

Mar 02, 2016

Extremely motivating teacher!

von Nurit G

Dec 05, 2015

I enjoyed the course. The lecturer skillfully mixes philosophy and art sources to get us into the world of enlightenment and modernity.

von Valentin D

Sep 06, 2015

I've not finished this course yet, but I found it to be excellent, the content is important to understand, the teacher is clear and I enjoy listening to him. I really recommend it.