Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) von Wesleyan University

4.7
259 Bewertungen
61 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Top-Bewertungen

CM

Mar 12, 2016

Sad to see it end. I loved this course. I thought Professor Roth was a great guide. As I've completed Part 2 I am tempted to go listen to the lectures all over again. This hooked me on MOOCs. 6 stars.

SC

Oct 25, 2015

The course is great . I am not a humanities student and english is not my first language , so I find writing essays difficult. I wish there were some easier tests along side the essays. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 61 Bewertungen für The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

von Mamoon H

Aug 29, 2017

It is one of the best courses in Liberal Arts that I have ever taken. Not only did it offer me the opportunity to catch up with what I hadn`t studied in my student days, but offered me the opportunity to see the world from different perspectives. Thanks to the clear, well-explained and sometimes humorous lectures by Professor Michael Roth, I was able to grasp every bit of the course. Thank you Professor Roth. I was also fortunate to have met classmates from different strata of the society and nationalities whose contributions, through the various assignments we did, have tremendously helped me go through the course with accolades.

I would like to recommend this course to anyone who really wants to understand what Modernism and Postmodernism is about

I would, however, like to suggest that the certificate awarded by Wesleyan University have the university`s original crest on it like the one issued by university of London for Teaching EFL/ESL Reading etc. Though what matters is the substance of the course, I also believe that making the certificate more appealing to employers` eyes will enhance the certificate holders` chance of employment.

von Dunja T

Feb 03, 2019

Great choice of subjects and authors and fantastic lectures.

von Mohammad A

Mar 12, 2019

It was a pleasure completing this course and listening to Mr. Roth. It is beautifully structured and perfectly intertwined with applications in Literature and Arts. To summarize, I'd say it is easy enough for a non-philosopher like me to embark and yet intellectually challenging to keep you excited.

von Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

Excellent course from an accomplished scholar, presents insights about his subject matter from all different points of view.

von amanda m

May 29, 2018

amazing lectures and challenging essay topics that really help you absorb the material.

von David V G

Jul 14, 2016

Great Course. Enjoying it, expanding my knowledge and thinking. Taking my time and repeat most of the lectures.

von LilGuz

Oct 26, 2015

Excellent course, the best context to read and understand very good writers and important ideas. Thank you.

von Bergthor S

Oct 01, 2015

THE most interesting lecturer I have found in recent times.

Wonderfully enlightening approach to the subjec.

Thank you

von Petro S

Jun 06, 2017

Great stuff, great teacher!

von Roland I

Aug 19, 2015

Very accessible, very inspiring - thanks

von Thurein

Dec 07, 2015

I like the way of Michael Roth's lecturing.

von Sebastián M C

Sep 22, 2017

Excellent course, thank you very much Michael for this.

von Jonathan C

Nov 21, 2016

Great Course. Really provides a good way to explore the subject.

von penn w

Apr 11, 2016

This class is wonderful and i'm looking forward to taking it again when it becomes available.

von Chemezova K R

Aug 31, 2016

Thanks for amazing lectures!

von sandra s

May 15, 2016

I love this course. The tutor is fascinating.

von Maria T F

Feb 01, 2016

I want more. It grew in me like when you manage to bring out a splendid salad.Everything connects and relates but what really matters is the chewing.

von Laura L

Feb 11, 2016

Michael Roth is an excellent teacher! I loved this class!

von Rebecca L R

Nov 16, 2015

I loved this course. Michael Roth was superb in repacking the challenging content in an engaging and enthralling manner.

von Remington C

Mar 29, 2016

Phenomenal instructor, great material, and I loved the reading. This was a challenging course, and that's needed more in online courses like this. Changed the way I look at the world.

von Bryan m

Oct 08, 2015

excelente enfoque.

von Alisha M

Feb 23, 2016

My favourite MOOC of all time! Changed the way I viewed the world and introduced me to the wonderful new world of philosophy. Thank you Micheal S. Roth! :)

von Martin P

Jun 15, 2016

A five-star rating for a five-star course. I've actually completed parts 1 and 2 and I cannot praise both parts too highly. Professor Roth, President of Wesleyan College was an excellent lecturer and imparted his knowledge with great enthusiasm. I learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

One negative point on the Coursera side: I'm still waiting for my first and fifth assignments to be assessed. In the case of the first assignment, that goes back to April.

von Allan M A

Jun 07, 2018

Amazing content!

von Cynthia M

Mar 12, 2016

Sad to see it end. I loved this course. I thought Professor Roth was a great guide. As I've completed Part 2 I am tempted to go listen to the lectures all over again. This hooked me on MOOCs. 6 stars.