Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
757 Bewertungen
209 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top-Bewertungen

MN

Sep 24, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM

Dec 08, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 212 Reviews for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

von Lewis P

Jul 16, 2019

Great professor, great overview with a mix of super minute details and big picture narrative that makes this history of the 20th century fascinating and engaging.

von AKIL J

Jul 07, 2019

The course was excellently built for both beginners and scholars. The questions and quizzes were really stimulating. Thank you.

von Hasan R C

Jul 06, 2019

Wonderful course from a wonderful professor.

It is evident that a lot of effort was put to prepare this course. It is not possible to internalize all the knowledge and more importantly insights and perspectives given in this course just watching ones.

The professor's approach is neutral and rather than just laying out facts, more about questioning "why's" of those historical events by putting us into the minds of those people living at those times.

Thank you very much for all your and your team's efforts for putting such an outstanding and beneficial work.

von Dimitris S

May 11, 2019

Just like the sunbeams sneaked inside your office during the last minutes of your last presentation ...your arguments sneaked in our minds enlighting aspects of the human route and endeavour during the last two centuries. I'm so grateful.

von Ritwik A

May 01, 2019

Excellently informative course.

von Shambhavi M

Apr 30, 2019

great learning experience

von JG

Apr 30, 2019

Best course I've taken, by far.

von Ayush V

Apr 17, 2019

was easy to understand

von Simon G

Apr 04, 2019

Fascinating course, Professor Zelikow is great.

von Liya X

Mar 20, 2019

This is an awesome course that not only taught me global history but also inspired me to think more deeply

von Jane E K

Mar 05, 2019

An excellent course for History fanatics!

von Aya K

Mar 02, 2019

Thank you very much for your lectures on history

von Karthik N

Mar 02, 2019

The lecturer was slightly monotonous and really has missed out on key factors such as Weimar Republic etc in this course. Moreover, the course seems very opinionated and ends of the wars seems to be just glossed over into economic terms rather than historic facts. Battle of Okinawa, death of Hitler, battle of somme and verdun seem like key parts not tackled efficiently. Quizzes rely too much on rote knowledge and the lecturer's opinion rather than what one should take away from the presentations. Also, coming from India and also having stayed for long in the Middle East, the entire picture given by the lecturer of these regions seem to be quite flawed as the picture is very narrow.

von Neil H

Jan 16, 2019

An exceptional experience. I did it first back in 2014, with all the tests. I have since downloaded it and been through the videos for parts 1 and 2 several times. If you want a broad understanding of the last 250 years of history you will find this hard to beat.

von Kelvin L

Jan 10, 2019

This is a very informative and inspiring course. I have recommended it to my wife and my son. Also I googled the professor's profile and my impression was: WOW!!!

von Helena K

Jan 09, 2019

Great information, engaging unbiased tutor (with the talent of a gifted storyteller) and at last one course that really talks about modern world history as a whole without just remaining and focusing on the WWI and II from only our western world's perspective. Thank you!

von Oscar T

Dec 30, 2018

Master in the use of the "why?" in history. Very pedagogical presentations with profound historical insight. ¡Mejor imposible!

von Gonzalo B V

Dec 28, 2018

Overall, excellent, the explanations have been brilliant.

I have however missed some further details as to what was going on in places like Latin America (nothing said in the course) or India and Sub-saharian Africa (almost inexistent in the course).

I fully appreciate the above have been minor players during the last 2 centuries, but certainly there were some events and changes in these countries in that time.

von Kelly R

Nov 30, 2018

Such an amazing course! It requires a lot of focus and measured progress over 14 weeks, but is totally worth it. I have come out of it a better thinker and more well-informed than I have ever been.

von Belov N O

Nov 14, 2018

Nice course and nice approach to the world events of 20-21 century.

von Howard K

Nov 09, 2018

Great course, and wonderful lecturer.

von Lazaros A

Nov 08, 2018

An excellent, thought provoking course. It has helped me form an understanding of how things work and how we got to where we are.

von Xinran L

Oct 02, 2018

Excellent course!

von Stacy K M

Sep 09, 2018

This part of history got short shrift when I was in school. This course was truly enjoyable and enlightening.

i feel as though these 14 weeks made up for a large gap in my education. Professor Zelikow is enlightening and packs a lot if information into this class. If you enjoy history at all, you will enjoy "The Modern World, Part Two Iand one): Global History since 1910.

von Akhilesh S

Aug 16, 2018

A wonderful and indulging course. The knowledge and the course materials presented by Prof is absolutely stunning and insightful. Everyone should take this course.