Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 von University of Virginia

4.8
Sterne
1,381 Bewertungen
378 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top-Bewertungen

DE

18. Mai 2022

Our professor, Philip Zelikow is amazing!!!! I truly appreciate the time he spent making these outstanding lectures because I very much enjoyed every minute of them. Thank you so much for this course.

BD

11. Dez. 2021

Excellent course. I learned a lot, enjoyed the experience. Prof. Zelnikov is a master teacher. Thanks for the opportunity to listen and learn even after eight years after production of these lectures.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 382 Bewertungen für The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

von David E

1. Jan. 2016

This is an excellent survey of the long 19th Century through WW II with a marvelous ' lagniappe' of very thoughtful coverage to 2013. I think that covering the events of the last two generations is very difficult without the credibility gained via a consistent approach to what came before. This course provided that consistency.

I now have a new appreciation of 'what came before' and a reminder, thanks to Philip Zelikow, to resist the constraint of thinking only via the history, outlooks and ideas of my lifetime.

Highly recommended.

von Aleksandr K

8. März 2022

As good as the Part One. Professor Zelikow does a great job explaining the history since 1910. And he does it almost always emphesizing people how made decisions within given context and not specific dates. I believe this is the most important difference from other history courses as it teaches you to thing critically.

I agree though that sometimes the course lacks the details, but a more detailed course would take thrice as much as time.

Highly recommend to anyone interested in the short version of what was happening in our world.

von Anjaney L

7. Mai 2020

It was a fascinating course. To get a chance to learn from such a learned person and get a chance to develop a new perspective towards the events of the past century was a really unique moment for me personally. Philip Sir helped develop credence in my theory that critically analyzing and thinking about the past events can really enable an individual to make more prudent decisions in the future. We learn both positives and negatives from the past and I am really glad to have studied this course.Thank you Philip Sir

von Karina W

31. Mai 2022

Thank you Professor and the team for all the efforts in delivering the course! I have learnt a great deal about world history, particularly for someone like me who does not have a solid academic history background. All the lectures are so facinating that I looked forward to watching the next ones! I really like the idea that how professor led the discussions of considering options / solutions for each event and why people made the choices. Thank you again!

von John D

22. Juni 2022

A spellbinding, brilliant lecturer ... his affinity for his subject and the lessons of history really take hold. He is scruplously fair and impartial in his interpretations and invites debate and diversity. The two Modern World courses enhanced my understanding of history and new dimensions to the current milieu.

When autocrats and strongmen control minds and media and toss of wildly self-serving revisionist fables, courses like this become essential.

von Eileen T F

10. Juli 2020

The videos were all carefully thought through and presented in a clear, compelling manner. It was manifest that the instructor was totally engaged with the material, Professor has a charming manner,

It was a really good experience for me. I would have liked , if not a text, some relevant reading materials recommended to accompany sections of the course.

It is reassuring to think that young people at UVA would be exposed to such an excellent professor.

von Gilbook G

24. März 2020

I really want to thank to the Professor Philip Zelikow for share with us his extensive knowledge. History has always been considered boring, and that responds, in my opinion, to the way it has been taught in school. However, it is impossile to understand our present if we do not know our past. I live in Venezuela and the history of each Latin american country is not isolated of the panorama described by the proffesor. Thank you very much!

von Jordan F

26. Juni 2022

I listened to every video in Part I and Part II. Since I am well past any desire to take tests and complete assignments, I skipped those. This was a fascinating course. Even though I was quite familiar with many of the events covered, they were put into a a new and different context. Since the course was recorded nine years ago, it gives a framework for some of the things that have happened since 2013. Great course, great instructor.

von WAQAR U A

30. Juni 2020

it really takes you on a journey to learn about different geopolitical issues around the world, it also explains the current landscape that we are living in and helps you better understand the way nation behave and are allied to each other, their root cause their demography and their culture, it uses so many pictures and tools to help you understand the true picture of the story and is very unbiased in its teaching.

von Yaron K

22. Okt. 2020

"historical knowledge is essential to current events, but in a deeper way take in the history.

Use it just to enrich your understanding of why things have happened the way

they have, the way countries act, the way choices are made" .

The quote is from Week3, but describes the whole course. Also deserves 5 stars for the inclusion of lots of maps (sadly lacking in some history courses) and other visualizations.

von Alissa T

18. Sep. 2020

This course was really helpful to understand the missing links in history. It does not only cover the main events, but also cultural backgrounds. What makes this course special is that it's about the whole world and not just one specific part. Many compliments to the lecturer who did an amazing job telling the detailed story with passion. The tone of voice and illustrations were very satisfying.

von Sepand M B

7. Sep. 2016

I have finished part one of this course and I am currently completing part two. I have really enjoyed this detail and humane look on history so far. The course instructor Dr. Zelikow is very thorough and competent and has great perspectives and interpretations on different events that shaped the history of the world.

von Robin E

6. Juni 2022

Whilst some parts may be a little dry, Professor Zelikow does a wonderful job of identifying both the broad trends and the key moments of the last 100 years. This course has definitely influenced and affected my thinking not just about history but also how to think about the key challenges that face the world today.

von Morgan M

19. Jan. 2021

This was an awesome course, not very challenging from a coursework perspective: no essays or structured discussions. I believe that Professor Zelikow provided a robust historical narrative to help individuals contemplate the current situation we are experiencing today. I hope there is an update for 2013-2020!

von Oriol G E

3. Aug. 2019

It has been an incredible journey, very interesting about the interactions between states, not only at the political level, but also cultural and economic. Explaining situations from the point of view of people and leaders of the time... Really worthwhile. Thank you so much for making this course available!

von Rob H

27. Jan. 2018

Basically everything from 20th century history that they should have taught us in Canadian Elementary and high school. Much better than learning about Canadian fur trade with natives for 12 years of education! This history is relevant to today and should be a staple of the Canadian education system!

von Jane B

7. Juni 2020

Excellent course. Professor Philip Zelikow has an excellent presentation style, congenial with an even pace and tone. He successfully explains complex issues in a manner that is easy to understand. This course really helped me to better understand today's world based on a historical context.

von Maria F

13. Feb. 2017

Superb course on world history. I've just finished watching all the videos in this and the previous course. Twice.

The pace is wonderful. The blend of facts, anecdotes, notes, photographs, graphics, etc. keeps you hooked till the end.

Thanks for making this great course available to the world.

von WM C

9. Nov. 2019

This course is excellent to provide analysis of situation, problems, choices made at the time of the world events. I have learned a great deal. As many other students in the forum responded, I do hope that some reading lists can be provided to support further reading on relevant topics.

von Ryan N

23. Sep. 2017

The professor is excellent. He is incredibly knowledgable, and was able to articulate specific moments in history through much wider lenses, describing broad trends that were happening, and other choices that key people in history could have made. I enjoyed this class tremendously.

von Andrew O

18. Apr. 2018

Like the first part this was outstanding. Even if you know a lot about history this will help you put more of it together and understand how international and local forces work to influence events. Rather than the usual focus on the what, there is an intense focus on the why.

von Chandrashekhar G

31. Juli 2020

This is long course but compared to the vast amount time of history it covers, it can be considered short. I absolutely loved. It is not like traditional history course the approach is more analytical and it made it so much enjoyable and helped me understand more thoroughly.

von Saiprasad C

24. März 2021

Thank you Professor Zelikow. It was an honour to be part of the course "The Modern World, Part Two".

The way you brought together Economics, Literature, Popular culture and of course History to help us make sense of the direction/s in which the world moved in this period.

von Helena K

9. Jan. 2019

Great information, engaging unbiased tutor (with the talent of a gifted storyteller) and at last one course that really talks about modern world history as a whole without just remaining and focusing on the WWI and II from only our western world's perspective. Thank you!

von Bryan C

4. März 2018

Excellent survey of history, and I personally appreciate the amount of effort the professor put into organizing the material. He really sets the bar for online presentation, and I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone who is interested in world history.