Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 von University of Virginia

4.8
789 Bewertungen
215 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top-Bewertungen

MN

Sep 24, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM

Dec 08, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 215 Bewertungen für The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

von Bryan C

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent survey of history, and I personally appreciate the amount of effort the professor put into organizing the material. He really sets the bar for online presentation, and I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone who is interested in world history.

von Rob H

Jan 27, 2018

Basically everything from 20th century history that they should have taught us in Canadian Elementary and high school. Much better than learning about Canadian fur trade with natives for 12 years of education! This history is relevant to today and should be a staple of the Canadian education system!

von mary h

Feb 27, 2018

Prof. Zelikow is fantastic. Easily one of the best instructors I've experienced in my 4 years in college and 2 years of additional school work and countless work-related seminars. My awareness has increased e.g.; I was drawn to watch the PBS Frontline programs on the Suadi Arabia / Iran "squabble"; my choice in reading material has altered, as has my perception of current world news reports. He actually makes students THINK!

von Akhilesh S

Aug 16, 2018

A wonderful and indulging course. The knowledge and the course materials presented by Prof is absolutely stunning and insightful. Everyone should take this course.

von Ritwik A

May 01, 2019

Excellently informative course.

von JG

Apr 30, 2019

Best course I've taken, by far.

von Shambhavi M

Apr 30, 2019

great learning experience

von Ayush V

Apr 17, 2019

was easy to understand

von Dimitris S

May 11, 2019

Just like the sunbeams sneaked inside your office during the last minutes of your last presentation ...your arguments sneaked in our minds enlighting aspects of the human route and endeavour during the last two centuries. I'm so grateful.

von Simon G

Apr 04, 2019

Fascinating course, Professor Zelikow is great.

von Hasan R C

Jul 06, 2019

Wonderful course from a wonderful professor.

It is evident that a lot of effort was put to prepare this course. It is not possible to internalize all the knowledge and more importantly insights and perspectives given in this course just watching ones.

The professor's approach is neutral and rather than just laying out facts, more about questioning "why's" of those historical events by putting us into the minds of those people living at those times.

Thank you very much for all your and your team's efforts for putting such an outstanding and beneficial work.

von Lewis P

Jul 16, 2019

Great professor, great overview with a mix of super minute details and big picture narrative that makes this history of the 20th century fascinating and engaging.

von Oriol G E

Aug 03, 2019

It has been an incredible journey, very interesting about the interactions between states, not only at the political level, but also cultural and economic. Explaining situations from the point of view of people and leaders of the time... Really worthwhile. Thank you so much for making this course available!

von Art S

Aug 07, 2019

Excellent big picture objective overview of how the world got to where it is and some insights on where it may go from here.

von Derick T

Sep 28, 2015

Well created lectures with clear ideas.

von Jon G

Aug 06, 2017

Very informative

von Nishant S

Nov 23, 2016

Worth your time !

von Julie C

Apr 12, 2016

I found Part Two much easier to follow because I stopped taking notes. The professor's speaking style is so informally formal that it's easy to understand and remember. His passion for history is obvious when you combine looking and listening.

von christophe s

May 18, 2016

Excellent course, simply.

von Clifford L B

Mar 11, 2017

Well presented with reasoned arguments, some of the slides needed to be clearer especially the maps

von Prasanna V R

Nov 19, 2015

Deep views. The why part o things is something very special.

von cuneyt a

Feb 25, 2016

I think the course content is global history US in center.

von Vipul A

Jan 20, 2017

Better way of showing how finance,politics and war can interact with each other.

von Mariam

Aug 08, 2016

Very interesting and engaging

von Brianna Z J

Oct 11, 2015

A