Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
1,436 Bewertungen
350 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

Top-Bewertungen

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 345 Reviews for The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

von Nadim M

Jul 09, 2019

Talented professor. Amazing course.

von Angela M

Jul 07, 2019

Really enjoying the course content, thank you

von Ricardo C

Jun 27, 2019

Course presentations are very, very interesting. However, quizzes only very poorly assess the knowledge of the participants.

von Hasan R C

Jun 27, 2019

Wonderful course from a wonderful professor.

Thank you for your efforts.

von

Jun 18, 2019

smooth and clear delivery. excellent info. very enjoyable!

von WMChen

May 04, 2019

The lecturer and course materials are excellent! Very well organized and explained. Thank you very much, Prof. Zelikow.

von JG

Apr 25, 2019

Philip is a god.

von Petko E

Apr 19, 2019

Interesting topics

von Frédéric D

Apr 18, 2019

A very useful (and actually very rich) overview

A true talent to make it simple (honestly emphasizing that the interpretation grid is to some extent chosen by the professor !)

Great

von Abdurrahman

Mar 15, 2019

Great course, nice community, much engagement. Thank you for this.

von leslie c

Feb 28, 2019

Amazing course, great professor! I can´t wait to begin Part 2

von Fernando H U

Feb 25, 2019

This is a very good course with one of the greatest teachers I have ever seen.

von Manjula g

Feb 20, 2019

The course is very informative and useful , and easy to understand the concepts.

von Dimitris S

Feb 15, 2019

An analytical and coprehensive presentation of the most important century in human history focusing on interpretations of stunning developments rather than a dry quote of dates and names

von Raissa L

Feb 06, 2019

Absolutely amazed with this course. Philip is extremely knowledgeable, gives you the baby steps in order to understand each class. I'm looking forward to take another class with him. Couldn't recommend enough!!

von Ulises A

Jan 31, 2019

Increíble síntesis de los hechos que definen el mundo moderno.

von Richard K

Jan 29, 2019

The course is good, but requiring a purchase to do the quizzes is not.

von Afshin

Jan 06, 2019

Great professor!

von Charmaine L

Jan 05, 2019

Dr. Philip Zelikow was really thorough and amicable in the way he lectures. He's done an exceptional job in fusing the historical patterns of history with that of modern events, thus allowing us students to understand and relate to the importance of these historical events even better. Thank you, Dr. Zelikow!

von Kelvin L

Dec 31, 2018

Very informative course. Highly recommended.

von John H

Dec 22, 2018

Awesome high level view of history.

von Vinayaka H

Dec 22, 2018

I was interested to learn History but books were so boring for me, so I chose Coursera and now I can explore World History, how global forces interact with each other and influence lives of people in the community through this course.

Throughout the course Dr. Philip will not only explain about the history but he also tries to reason "Why it happened ?". In some of the videos, he even decodes the message hidden in art works of the past.

It is indeed a fascinating subject which is beautifully narrated. I look forward to take the second part of World history.

Thank you

von Oscar T

Dec 16, 2018

Muy bien presentado. Una perspectiva esclarecedora de una época esencial para comprender nuestro presente.

von Toni C

Dec 15, 2018

very interesting

von James D

Dec 03, 2018

Zelikow is great at explaining things. Would love if the slides were downloadable and had a bit more content in them.