Chevron Left
Zurück zu Modern Robotics, Course 1: Foundations of Robot Motion

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Modern Robotics, Course 1: Foundations of Robot Motion von Northwestern University

4.7
246 Bewertungen
57 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Do you want to know how robots work? Are you interested in robotics as a career? Are you willing to invest the effort to learn fundamental mathematical modeling techniques that are used in all subfields of robotics? If so, then the "Modern Robotics: Mechanics, Planning, and Control" specialization may be for you. This specialization, consisting of six short courses, is serious preparation for serious students who hope to work in the field of robotics or to undertake advanced study. It is not a sampler. In Course 1 of the specialization, Foundations of Robot Motion, you will learn fundamental material regarding robot configurations, for both serial robot mechanisms and robots with closed chains. You will learn about configuration space (C-space), degrees of freedom, C-space topology, implicit and explicit representations of configurations, and holonomic and nonholonomic constraints. You will also learn how to represent spatial velocities and forces as twists and wrenches. This material is at the core of the study of anything that moves (e.g., robots). This course follows the textbook "Modern Robotics: Mechanics, Planning, and Control" (Lynch and Park, Cambridge University Press 2017). You can purchase the book or use the free preprint pdf. You will build on a library of robotics software in the language of your choice (among Python, Mathematica, and MATLAB) and use the free cross-platform robot simulator V-REP, which allows you to work with state-of-the-art robots in the comfort of your own home and with zero financial investment....

Top-Bewertungen

AC

Jan 03, 2019

This is the place to start your journey into robotics. But stick to the entire 6 courses. This course is about laying out the basics so don't expect making robots straightaway. All the best!

PG

Jun 10, 2019

it was good intro to the field of robotics. this course has intrigued my interest to learn further in the area of robotics. I would recommend this course for aspiring roboticist

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 56 Bewertungen für Modern Robotics, Course 1: Foundations of Robot Motion

von Ashish R

Feb 04, 2019

Good course, very heavy on theory with little to no example problems. Its good to teach theory but should be followed up with multiple real world problem to solve by hand or code.

von Andrew M

Oct 25, 2018

I wish there was a bit more explanation of some of the equations and derivations. Sometimes the textbook just skips to the final equation, and does not show how it got there. It would be nice if the videos showed the derivation, as opposed to just the equations.

von SAJAN M

Nov 07, 2018

Could add more material to help with certain mathematical constructs.

von Arnab C

Jan 03, 2019

This is the place to start your journey into robotics. But stick to the entire 6 courses. This course is about laying out the basics so don't expect making robots straightaway. All the best!

von Mahmoud A M M

Jun 29, 2018

It's a great course but it need to make more detalied video

von Pranesh G

Jun 10, 2019

it was good intro to the field of robotics. this course has intrigued my interest to learn further in the area of robotics. I would recommend this course for aspiring roboticist

von SAMARTH

Sep 15, 2018

I thank both NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY and COURSERA for providing such an wonderfull course, please do this if you want to pursue your career in the field of robotics, and also the professors answer your doubts regularly, so do not think you wont have support, they are really sweet and YES 5 starts are less for this course : )

von Haoran C

Aug 09, 2018

Rigorous mathematical introduction to rigid body motion combined with practical exercises in MATLAB and V-REP. I hope that the coursera platform can provide more exercises that test deep understanding and more difficult exercises.

von Rishipal S

Apr 29, 2019

This provides good understanding on the motion of robot. Although some notations were confusing but overall it is a very good course.

von Juan C C Z

May 04, 2018

I like this course and I like the textbook. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I think it could be a bit more rigorous, e.g., it is explained that postmultiplication is associated to body frame transformations (which is true), but it's exposed dogmatically instead of derived mathematically. I think that approaching Robotics using screw theory and differential equations instead of a more geometric and traditional way is a very good idea, but it calls for a better formalism in the presentation of the themes.

von Jeff S

Jun 29, 2018

A solid course, which could be improved by exploring from top down instead of bottom up. The course starts with fundamentals spaces, then of rotation matrices, translations then moves to screwstwists, wrenches. I think it would help to have this first course be an overview of robotics: Robots (types) of, the use of forward and inverse kinematics, dynamics, constrained motion, path planning, sensory systems (vision, touch), SLAM, etc.

von Alexander O

Nov 26, 2018

This course very accurately and consequently introduces mathematical base of robot position and kinematics. I suggest there was a great work behind to make this complicated things convenient to learn.

von Onur A

Jan 23, 2019

It is very instructive course. It builds the foundation of robotics. Very useful

von Ahmed A

Feb 17, 2019

Very insightful course and you will learn the essentials of robotics science. The skills you acquire here is indispensable if you interested in studying more advanced topics in that field such as robotics control and motion planning.

von Pau C C

Feb 19, 2019

Good Lie-group oriented robotics introduction. I highly recommend not to use the course library and implement the methods on you own as you'll learn more. Other than that, excellent.

Only drawback is the peer-graded assignments. If they were self evaluated with a good set of inputs and expected outputs, the experience would be much better. People who are learning shouldn't be evaluating from my point of view....

von Jahangir A

Mar 25, 2019

Excellent course, every one should take this course.

von anita j

Mar 31, 2019

The videos were very usefull ,at first I watch the videos carefully ,with that short video I understand that what is the subject of this part . the summary of the formulas was very usefull and it makes the learning easy.

von Ammar Y B M

Apr 01, 2019

Amazing course! A brilliant start for those intending to specialize in Robotics.

von Thomas S

Mar 06, 2019

It takes a fair bit of work and there are a lot of details, but the class is very enjoyable and well worth the time to take it

von Amal R K C

Mar 18, 2019

Very Informative. Should have included more application level examples..

von John M

Dec 06, 2018

Excellent course. I learned a lot. The assignments are challenging.

Of the Coursera offerings I've taken, this one gets the closest to my (admittedly failing) memories of a real undergraduate course with some meat to it. Well done!

von Leandro M

Aug 28, 2018

Exciting and very useful course.

von Tri W G

Aug 15, 2018

Very nice and compact explanation. Love the teaching style! You have to read the book to really grasp the material, if you're planning on taking this course, you have to take it seriously. It's pretty though.

von Abdelrahman S S E

Aug 20, 2018

An excellent introduction to Screw theory and to Parallel manipulators in general for any one who wants to start developing or working on closed chain robots.