Chevron Left
Zurück zu Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) von University of Pennsylvania

4.9
194 Bewertungen
72 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

ModPo is a fast-paced introduction to modern and contemporary U.S. poetry, with an emphasis on experimental verse, from Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman to the present. Participants (who need no prior experience with poetry) will learn how to read poems that are supposedly "difficult." We encounter and discuss the poems one at a time. It's much easier than it seems! Join us and try it! ModPo is open all year, so you can enroll now, or any time, and join us. Each year we host a lively, interactive 10-week session, in which we move together through the ten-week syllabus. The next live 10-week session of ModPo will begin on September 7, 2019, and will conclude on November 18, 2019. Al Filreis will be in touch with you by email before the September 7 start of the course with all the information you'll need to participate. If you have questions, you can email the ModPo team any time at modpo@writing.upenn.edu. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org. During the 10 weeks of the course, you will be guided through poems, video discussions of each poem, and community discussions of each poem. And (unique among open online courses) we offer weekly, interactive live webcasts. Our famed TAs also offer office hours throughout the week. We help arrange meet-ups and in-site study groups. If you are curious about the ModPo team, type "ModPo YouTube introduction" into Google or your favorite search engine, and watch the 20-minute introductory video. You will get an overview of the course and will meet the brilliant TAs, who will be encountering the poems with you all the way to the end. If you use Facebook, join the always-thriving ModPo group: from inside Facebook, search for "Modern & Contemporary American Poetry" and then request to be added as a member. If you have any questions about ModPo, you can post a question to the FB group and you'll receive an almost instant reply. We tweet all year long at @ModPoPenn and you can also find ModPo colleagues using the hashtag #ModPoLive. ModPo is hosted by—and is housed at—the Kelly Writers House at 3805 Locust Walk on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia USA. All ModPo'ers are welcome to visit the Writers House when they are in our area. Our discussions are filmed there. Our live webcasts take place in the famed "Arts Cafe" of the House. To find out what's going on at the Writers House any time, just dial 215-746-POEM....

Top-Bewertungen

WC

Mar 21, 2017

best coursera class of them all. The instructor and teaching assistants are closely in the class + there is a lot more interaction with them and the rest of the students than any other MOOC.

DB

Sep 25, 2016

Great Course. Great Experience. Everyone Should at least One Course from Coursera. I highly recommend it to all my students, friends, colleagues living anywhere on this earth.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 70 Bewertungen für Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

von Sini Y

Sep 08, 2018

At first I was a little afraid of starting this course since

1. English isn't my first language

2. I hadn't read much of poetry in any language before this

So I worried if I would be able to complite it and understand the poems and the terms used in describing them. But this was really fun and I learned so much. About poetry, poets and English. Everything was easy to understand (with a little help of a dictionary) and after the course I actually started reading poems from the different poets that we had learned on the course and that I had liked and then I moved on to complitely new poets. This course helped me get a better understanding on how to read poems and it proved that there isn't just one way of interpreting them. Thank you!

von Carol G

Feb 03, 2019

Quite simply, the best MOOC out there, and I've completed many, many courses. Al Filreis and his TAs are exceptional teachers and learners. Mentors work their socks off to create a real global community of learners. The discussion forums are used with generosity and enthusiasm by teachers, learners and mentors.

Thank you so much.

von Dilip D B

Feb 05, 2019

This is one of the most powerful courses on the learning planet if anyone on this planet is eager to learn about the Modern and Contemporary American Poetry. I would love to strongly recommend all the Teachers and Students through the globe to do it at least once in the lifetime. I have found it always inspiring, exhilarating and rewarding experience as far as Poetry Understanding and Appreciation is concerned. This Course will never be outdated as long as Poetry is living. Of all literature genres, poetry was the first to be born (since the Vedas Times), and it will outlast humans on this Earth. From the deepest cores of my heart, I wish the "ModPo" Team, the stalwarts at the "UPenn" and the Coursera App"ALL THE BEST"! LONG LIVE THE COURSE!

von Ann H

Mar 12, 2019

An incredibly dynamic, exciting and informative course that invites active participation. It also allows for students to take their time and return to assignments and videos throughout the year. An invaluable and multi-faceted resource for teachers and poets and readers alike.

von Lawrence T

Mar 20, 2019

Oh, where to start??? The community!!! Thank you just for being there.

If you wander far enough

you will come to it

von Kaushik B

Aug 24, 2018

I am simply loving it

von Akanksha v

Sep 08, 2018

nice

von Augoustinos K

Nov 23, 2016

If you want to live a five star, modern and comprehensive “tale”, ModPo course by Penn University is a perfect way to travel through the pages of American Poetry written by famous poetical names and still alive under the care of Pr. Al reaches to your PC in a fresh and renewed option. “Goal is the right goal”.

von Aurora X

Nov 20, 2016

Tons of thanks and appreciation to Al, TAs, and everyone who has enjoyed Modpo as much as I do in the past two months!

von Charles G

Dec 14, 2016

This has been the most educational and well-run course possible. I've played with MOOC's before, but no-one could possibly run a better course than Al Filreis, with his remarkable knowledge, academic bent, passion for the material and passion for teaching and his students. He is remarkable and the energy is palpable and contagious.

Coursera is a 5-Star platform. My hats off to them. I've never seen such a good course platform, and I can't imagine any better. Truly modular, mobile and bug-free.

5 Stars all the way!!

von Mary O

Nov 28, 2016

If you are interested in contemporary poetry, this course is like finding a treasure chest. The prepared materials are absolutely excellent, but the real draw of this course is the vibrant discussion forum with fellow classmates, teaching assistants, and the professor (!). Discussion threads are created for each poem in the course, as well as for general topics such as help for people "hopelessly lost," local study groups, teachers bringing Modern & Contemporary American poetry into their classrooms, and a range of other topics. The forums are a fun and busy buzzing hive of activity. Live webcasts each week from the Kelly Writers House also add to the feeling of immediacy and community. You won't regret taking this course. It put other MOOCs to shame.

von Susan E

Nov 22, 2016

This course was an eye opener for me. As a person more immediately drawn to quantitative disciplines, i had always felt sort of guilty about poetry. This course ends that sort of thinking! There is a lot of work if one wishes to complete all the assignments, but then, one need not, actually. Although the course is active only briefly, the materials are available all year. It's so great to know that I can visit all year long. Many thanks to Al, the team and the many participants.

von Mary C

Nov 22, 2016

ModPo is the most vibrant MOOC that I have discovered in several years of online learning. This is due to the ongoing passionate, hands on participation of Prof Al Fireis and his team. In my experience, many repeat MOOCS can have a stale, dead atmosphere. Not so here. Always refreshed.

If you have any interest in poetry, new or experienced, you will not be disappointed.

von Leigh J

Nov 23, 2016

I have an MA in English literature this is possibly the best course I have ever taken whether online or at a university. It is a course that empowers the reader to read and interpret without reference to "scholarly sources." We read collaboratively, learning from each other and valuing the process over the "answers."

The open poems we read are beautifully suited to this approach as there is never a single, definitive interpretation that one is supposed to uncover. The course is well organized around two main strands in modern American poetry and offers an incredible array of supplemental material. Al and the TAs are brilliant and engaging. Meet ups, webcasts and recorded discussions with poets all add up to a rich, challenging, high-level intellectual experience with plenty of passion and heart. This class is a community I cherish.

von Nella E

Nov 23, 2016

ModPo, Modern and Contemporary American Poetry, is an oasis of sense, feeling, creative and analytical experience and free exchange of ideas. Can we live without ModPo? Probably yes, but this life would be much more boring, plain, unchallenging. ModPo means inspiration and creation, it gives the unique opportunity to realise a magic journey, to live fascinating adventures in company of interesting people guided by Professor Al Filreis, heart and soul of the project, and his wonderful team.

If you are just interested in something new, if you are tired of everyday routine, this course is for you. If you teach languages, literature, cinema, history, cultural studies, visual arts, philosophy, psychology, and any other discipline, this course is for you. If you are an artist, this course, is for you. If you love poetry, if you live poetry, this course is for you.

von May X Z

Nov 23, 2016

ModPo is an enlightening and mind expanding experience. Besides being about modern American poetry, it is a lesson in civility and possibility, in democracy, inclusiveness and individuality. I have learned so much in ten weeks and am staying on the course and learning more every day. I have endless gratitude to Prof Al Filreis for being a great teacher whose kind email reminders and encouraging responses to learners' comments in the discussion forums help keep us all on track. Thank you Prof Filreis, all the TAs, mentors and the whole ModPo community for providing such a wonderful platform and opportunity for the world. And free, too!

von María d C S A

Jan 26, 2017

This is an extraordinary opportunity to engage with a community of poetry lovers from all over the world. Al Filreis and his team share with the participants in-depth analysis of poems, from Whitman and Dickinson to the wild contemporary experimental authors of our time. You'll never feel alone!

von yumeng

Jun 03, 2018

das ist toll

von Jessica B

Sep 14, 2016

This is the 5th year that I have been involved in ModPo. Why do I keep coming back? Because the discussions, the poetry, and the class participation are so refreshing that I learn something new everytime. It is like getting together with old friends. If you have never been involved in a poetry class or you know nothing about modern poetry, this class is for you. If you are a veteran to Modern poetry, this class is for you. ModPo is one big family, and I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone interested in modern poetry.

von Maeve O

Nov 17, 2016

I did most of this on my commute and it was so much fun. It has impacted my perception of modern poetry - the difference is spreading.

von Alejandro B B

Nov 01, 2017

Es el mejor curso en que he participado. El trabajo constante de Al y su equipo, la interacción constante, a través de los foros, los hangouts, las asesorías semanales, es impresionante y demuestra la pasión y empeño que ponen en este curso. A tener en cuenta que el curso es bastante exigente y demanda mucha dedicación, muchas horas semanales para poder seguir el ritmo, más vale la pena el esfuerzo, se aprende muchísimo, genial, the best mood course.

von James A

Nov 23, 2016

Modern and Contemporary American Poetry is an amazing ten week course which I would recommend to anyone who has an interest in poetry. Al and his team of TA's create a vibrant and fun environment which helped me to develop a greater understanding of poetry.

The discussion forums, the interaction between fellow students and Al and the TA's, and the occasional guest Poet really gives a personal touch to the proceedings.

The weekly broadcasts were engaging and insightful and I really appreciated the fact that the times of each webcast was staggered to suit the 'ModPo' community worldwide. A really nice touch guys, so thank you from Europe, (does that still include the UK?!) In Ireland we are five hours ahead of Philly time.

This is my second year to take the course and I look forward to taking it again.

von Sandy L

Jun 12, 2017

Wonderful course.

von Dilip D B

Sep 25, 2016

Great Course. Great Experience. Everyone Should at least One Course from Coursera. I highly recommend it to all my students, friends, colleagues living anywhere on this earth.

von Yaron A

Oct 24, 2016

Wonderful course! Very enlightening. It taught me a lot about reading poetry that I didn't know.