Chevron Left
Zurück zu Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) von University of Pennsylvania

4.9
Sterne
413 Bewertungen
154 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

ModPo is a fast-paced introduction to modern and contemporary U.S. poetry, with an emphasis on experimental verse, from Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman to the present. Participants (who need no prior experience with poetry) will learn how to read poems that are supposedly "difficult." We encounter and discuss the poems one at a time. It's much easier than it seems! Join us and try it! ModPo is open all year, so you can enroll now, or any time, and join us. Each year we host a lively, interactive 10-week session, in which we move together through the ten-week syllabus. The next live 10-week session of ModPo will begin on September 4, 2021, and will conclude on November 15, 2021. Al Filreis will be in touch with you by email before the September 4 start of the course with all the information you'll need to participate. If you have questions, you can email the ModPo team any time at modpo@writing.upenn.edu. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org. During the 10 weeks of the course, you will be guided through poems, video discussions of each poem, and community discussions of each poem. And (unique among open online courses) we offer weekly, interactive live webcasts. Our famed TAs also offer office hours throughout the week. We help arrange meet-ups and in-site study groups. If you are curious about the ModPo team, type "ModPo YouTube introduction" into Google or your favorite search engine, and watch the 20-minute introductory video. You will get an overview of the course and will meet the brilliant TAs, who will be encountering the poems with you all the way to the end. If you use Facebook, join the always-thriving ModPo group: from inside Facebook, search for "Modern & Contemporary American Poetry" and then request to be added as a member. If you have any questions about ModPo, you can post a question to the FB group and you'll receive an almost instant reply. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org . We tweet all year long at @ModPoPenn and you can also find ModPo colleagues using the hashtag #ModPoLive. ModPo is hosted by—and is housed at—the Kelly Writers House at 3805 Locust Walk on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia USA. All ModPo'ers are welcome to visit the Writers House when they are in our area. Our discussions are filmed there. Our live webcasts take place in the famed "Arts Cafe" of the House. To find out what's going on at the Writers House any time, just dial 215-746-POEM....

Top-Bewertungen

WC
20. März 2017

best coursera class of them all. The instructor and teaching assistants are closely in the class + there is a lot more interaction with them and the rest of the students than any other MOOC.

MF
29. Dez. 2016

Enriching, wide reaching in scope. The Prof. Al Filreis lets ideas, not necessarily his own, in for debate and comment. The TAs are simply brilliant both in form and content. Bravo!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 152 Bewertungen für Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

von Thelma H

13. Nov. 2020

I have only praise for this ModPo course.I come away with an understanding poetry that I have never found elsewhere. Probably due to the guided discussion method which is so effective. My only regret is that there was no mention of Elizabeth Bishop`s poems. But this is of course entirely personal. For me the most memorable will be " I dwell in Possibility " and "Via "

Thank you all I shall miss you.

Thelma Heppell

von Sylvia C

7. Nov. 2021

This is a fantastic course on modern and contemporary poetry. It is in-depth, philosophical, and challenging, yet understandable and accessible, too. The readings, videos, assignments, and interactive nature of the class all work together to provide an amazing educational environment in which students can truly grow in their understanding and appreciation of modern and contemporary poetry.

von Mary C

22. Nov. 2016

ModPo is the most vibrant MOOC that I have discovered in several years of online learning. This is due to the ongoing passionate, hands on participation of Prof Al Fireis and his team. In my experience, many repeat MOOCS can have a stale, dead atmosphere. Not so here. Always refreshed.

If you have any interest in poetry, new or experienced, you will not be disappointed.

von Jennifer H

14. Apr. 2020

First, I would like to thank you for allowing the public, during this time of crisis, the ability to further our education! Next, I have enjoyed this course immensely! It's right up my alley, so to speak. as an Author!!

Lastly, I would welcome learning anything from this Teacher as he has successfully kept his audience captivated!!

Thank you! Truly!!

Jenn

von Barry T

4. Juni 2020

I have just enjoyed the course so much, the format and the content. it's a great way to learn and essential to the idea of pedagogy, so eloquently highlighted by Al and the TA's in the final 'workshop' on the Traci Morris poem. It has informed my own poetry and will continue to do so. Many thank to everyone involved in the course. all the best. Barry

von Bríonáin N B

22. Nov. 2020

Fantastic modern poetry couse with wonderful facilitator, teaching assistants, and guest speakers - quite challenging at times - definitely pushed me out of my comfort zone - but each year brings new insights and increased appreciation - well worth the effort - look forward to SloPo - thanks to Al and all involved - highly recommended!

von Helen R

14. Nov. 2020

What a great experience, I love to read and create stuff but it has been years since I "formally" studied poetry. ModPo has provided me with a new joyous community experience . Thanks Al, the T.As and my fellow ModPoers who have given feedback , commented and shared in this journey. I will be staying in touch. See you next time!

von Carol G

3. Feb. 2019

Quite simply, the best MOOC out there, and I've completed many, many courses. Al Filreis and his TAs are exceptional teachers and learners. Mentors work their socks off to create a real global community of learners. The discussion forums are used with generosity and enthusiasm by teachers, learners and mentors.

Thank you so much.

von Esteban R

14. Feb. 2018

Beautiful course, I'm just going trough week 1 and it's amazing feel so engaged, with the content and the videos, I really appreciate the words and toughs of Al Filreis, and all the Team that is working with him, thank you so much to everybody, I'm not a native English speaker, but here I'm loving this course.

Thank you,

Esteban

von Sarah

11. Apr. 2021

The last poetry course I took was as a freshman in college in 1971. This course was not in the same league. I learned more in the first week of ModPo than I did in the entire previous course.

My husband teaches poetry and AP English and he has enjoyed learning alongside me as I am constantly thinking and talking about poetry.

von Alison B

22. Nov. 2016

ModPo is genuinely one of a kind. This is the only MOOC I know that people continue to return to year after year, despite the content of the course remaining the same (for the most part). The reason for this is the community and level of interaction in the fora-- it is incredible. There is no MOOC like ModPo, far as I know--

von Augoustinos K

23. Nov. 2016

If you want to live a five star, modern and comprehensive “tale”, ModPo course by Penn University is a perfect way to travel through the pages of American Poetry written by famous poetical names and still alive under the care of Pr. Al reaches to your PC in a fresh and renewed option. “Goal is the right goal”.

von Brian E

13. Nov. 2016

This is an incredible course. It is online, but feels very personal. Dr. Filreis, though he may reject the term, is a genius. He and his staff have created a thought-provoking poetry community. I would recommend this for beginners, for published poets, for poetry teachers and for everyone in between.

von Zakia S

16. Nov. 2017

I find this course very extensive. I recommend every one to get enrolled in here. I had started other online courses and regretted that i should have completed those first and then embarked on this one. Now that when the course has gone to its 10 week will i be able to earn a certificate for this one.

von Don C

17. Nov. 2020

I've learned so much from this course. I went from having a strong interest in poetry to feeling like I have at least the beginning of a robust base of knowledge about the American poetic cannon and some goings-on in the contemporary world of American poetry. Thank you for what you're doing, Al!

von María d C S A

25. Jan. 2017

This is an extraordinary opportunity to engage with a community of poetry lovers from all over the world. Al Filreis and his team share with the participants in-depth analysis of poems, from Whitman and Dickinson to the wild contemporary experimental authors of our time. You'll never feel alone!

von Hariharasudhan R

2. Dez. 2016

Very well thought. Amazing selection and gives a complete coverage of the subject matter. Amazing amazing TAs and others who accompany Al. A great way to learn American Poetry. The best that's out there. And them giving a completion certificate from UPenn for free is really kind of them.

von Lo W

21. Nov. 2021

I will be returning again and again to this course for all the ModPo Plus material I could not get to this time around. I wanted to finish on time, but there were times I wanted to ponder a bit more, read more and participate in the forum chats more. Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

von Andrea S

14. Sep. 2020

Truly amazing course. Great proffessor and TAs that provided us with such lively discussions. It made me change my way of thininkg. I have noted all the poets and artists mentioned and I will continue to discover new and/or old modern American poetry.

Thank you for this amazing course.

von Ronald B

22. Nov. 2016

My third year immersed in ModPo experience, and it has been transformative for my poetry and my life. I love the videos, enthusiasm and poetic knowledge of Al (even when I disagree), and the TAs amaze me with their inquisitiveness, poetic understanding, and basic decent humanity.

von Ann H

12. März 2019

An incredibly dynamic, exciting and informative course that invites active participation. It also allows for students to take their time and return to assignments and videos throughout the year. An invaluable and multi-faceted resource for teachers and poets and readers alike.

von Stephanie B H

21. Nov. 2020

an extraordinary class that is at once, lecture, discussion, salon, and opportunity for thought, critical reading, writing and creative expression, ModPo demonstrates what the MOOC can be with sufficient commitment, resources and vision. Unforgettable and life-changing.

von Sayantani R

14. Nov. 2021

I fall short of words when I try to talk about this course. Al is a gifted professor who is also very generous, and his TAs are brilliant. I plan to stay here in Modpo world even though I've finished the course officially. Each year is better than the last.

von Lucinda J

27. Mai 2020

Loved reacquainting myself with the familiar and exploring the unfamiliar and completely new. Will take this course again and look forward to lingering longer on the poems and poets who Inspired, moved and spoke to me here. Thank you, ModPo 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻

von Deborah P

27. Dez. 2020

The best course on or off line I’ve ever taken. Spectacularly conceived, designed and delivered. Thank you thank you thank you ... fir all the briliant work and persons associated with this magnificent educational experience.