Chevron Left
Zurück zu Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) von University of Pennsylvania

4.9
Sterne
413 Bewertungen
154 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

ModPo is a fast-paced introduction to modern and contemporary U.S. poetry, with an emphasis on experimental verse, from Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman to the present. Participants (who need no prior experience with poetry) will learn how to read poems that are supposedly "difficult." We encounter and discuss the poems one at a time. It's much easier than it seems! Join us and try it! ModPo is open all year, so you can enroll now, or any time, and join us. Each year we host a lively, interactive 10-week session, in which we move together through the ten-week syllabus. The next live 10-week session of ModPo will begin on September 4, 2021, and will conclude on November 15, 2021. Al Filreis will be in touch with you by email before the September 4 start of the course with all the information you'll need to participate. If you have questions, you can email the ModPo team any time at modpo@writing.upenn.edu. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org. During the 10 weeks of the course, you will be guided through poems, video discussions of each poem, and community discussions of each poem. And (unique among open online courses) we offer weekly, interactive live webcasts. Our famed TAs also offer office hours throughout the week. We help arrange meet-ups and in-site study groups. If you are curious about the ModPo team, type "ModPo YouTube introduction" into Google or your favorite search engine, and watch the 20-minute introductory video. You will get an overview of the course and will meet the brilliant TAs, who will be encountering the poems with you all the way to the end. If you use Facebook, join the always-thriving ModPo group: from inside Facebook, search for "Modern & Contemporary American Poetry" and then request to be added as a member. If you have any questions about ModPo, you can post a question to the FB group and you'll receive an almost instant reply. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org . We tweet all year long at @ModPoPenn and you can also find ModPo colleagues using the hashtag #ModPoLive. ModPo is hosted by—and is housed at—the Kelly Writers House at 3805 Locust Walk on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia USA. All ModPo'ers are welcome to visit the Writers House when they are in our area. Our discussions are filmed there. Our live webcasts take place in the famed "Arts Cafe" of the House. To find out what's going on at the Writers House any time, just dial 215-746-POEM....

Top-Bewertungen

WC
20. März 2017

best coursera class of them all. The instructor and teaching assistants are closely in the class + there is a lot more interaction with them and the rest of the students than any other MOOC.

MF
29. Dez. 2016

Enriching, wide reaching in scope. The Prof. Al Filreis lets ideas, not necessarily his own, in for debate and comment. The TAs are simply brilliant both in form and content. Bravo!

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 152 Bewertungen für Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

von Laura M

2. Sep. 2020

One of the best MOOCs I've ever taken. I jump in and follow along every year. It's welcoming, interactive and the most involved online experience I've had with MOOSc. You really feel part of a community of learning. I love it!

von Lucy C

22. Nov. 2016

This is an exceptional course. The range of material, the depth of discussion and the support from staff and other students far exceeds many university courses on literature. This course will change your life for the better.

von Adrienne P

20. Mai 2021

I've not had this much fun in a while. Sure, we've been in a pandemic, but there's nothing better than geeking out on poetry with people who really want to get a lot out of it. Can't wait to do it all over again. Cheers!

von Margaret L y

27. Nov. 2020

Excellent course and a pleasure to learn from Al and the TA's. I enjoyed every minute of it and realized my own style of poetry is very simple compared with the great poets.

Sincerely, Lisa Young

youngedits.wordpress.com

von John S

28. Aug. 2020

Wide range of great activities in a rich format. Not really finished it, though i did all the assessments. Need to go back and view number of lessons. Live attached zoom discussion was also amazing. THANK YOU COURSERA!

von SARA G

5. Jan. 2021

It is a very interesting and fascinating course! I really appreciated the way it was organised and the clearly understandable conversations about Modern and Contemporary American Poetry among ModPo members. Thank you!

von Quentin Y

24. März 2021

'One word is too often profaned for me to profane it.'

I too used to believe poetry is no more than the lines-broken 'what' of prose, but now I understand poetry is the 'how', which helps me to LOVE POETRY better.

von Laura A

16. Nov. 2020

This is one of the most outstanding courses I have encountered. A fully immersive experience with rewarding debates, discussions and wonderful exposure to a variety of forms of poetry with endless "possibility.'

von Stephanie R

1. Mai 2020

A terrific course. Sometimes the students' comments were wandering and full of hesitation and I would have preferred to hear more from the professor. But overall, I enjoyed the format and the content very much,

von Barbara K

12. Aug. 2021

T​his course has opened up the world and poetry like no other subject for me. The enjoyment and breadth of subjects, the language, sounds, the expression....... I could go on but I feel like I am on a journey

von Scrambled E

10. Dez. 2016

Best online poetry course ever! I highly recommend it to all writers, not just poets. The development of modern and contemporary poetry goes hand and foot with the development of American literature and art.

von Maria R

24. Juni 2018

I really enjoyed how dinamic it was. Although the classes were like little debates, the professor was able to guide the students. When talking about poetry, I find this method very refreshing. Good job!

von David W

6. Nov. 2020

I learned a lot and enjoyed, had fun with and absorbed all of the reading I did and all of the readings others did.

I would take this course again (maybe I WILL) and would avidly recommend it to others.

von Celina C F

21. Sep. 2016

Excellent every way you look at it. Great discussions, learned a lot with all the poems and papers. Also, you get to be a part of a really great community. You will never feel lonely again.:)

von jake a

5. Dez. 2020

one of the best on-line courses on poetry I have seen. I learned so much from the course which helped me with my own writing as an amateur poet. Highly recommended.

von Jane W

14. Dez. 2020

This is a wonderful course taught by a talented group of people who love poetry and discussing poetry. Once you join this community, you will never want to leave!

von Ken H

1. Juni 2021

The course is pretty much an unending source (and resource) of poetry and ideas about poetry up to the present day. New poets are being introduced constantly.

von Ian B

11. Nov. 2021

Outstanding, life-changing, and does not end even after "completed". Reveals the true potential of what MOOCs can be, and 99%+ fail to even attempt.

von Anu

1. Mai 2021

I was not a fan of poetry, found it hard to breakdown and understand. ModPo did a great job in showing me how to read and understand poetry.

von Raquel F

20. Aug. 2021

Es un curso fabuloso. He tardado tiempo en hacerlo porque quería empaparme bien de todo. Sin duda volveré a él. Gracias por esta maravilla.

von Maeve O

17. Nov. 2016

I did most of this on my commute and it was so much fun. It has impacted my perception of modern poetry - the difference is spreading.

von Arya B N

23. Okt. 2020

Awesome course. This course made me fall in love with poetry even more and realise its endless scope and implications.

von Xinshu A X

20. Nov. 2016

Tons of thanks and appreciation to Al, TAs, and everyone who has enjoyed Modpo as much as I do in the past two months!

von Treva S

14. Sep. 2016

More than a course. More than poetry. More than it's international community. More than edifying. More than inspiring.

von Steven S

16. Feb. 2021

Awesome class! I learned so much and never once felt talked down to. I recommend to anyone interested in learning.