Chevron Left
Zurück zu Economics of Money and Banking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Economics of Money and Banking by Columbia University

4.9
647 Bewertungen
165 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top-Bewertungen

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 160 Reviews for Economics of Money and Banking

von Vatsal G

Apr 06, 2019

Working at a bank, I realized that economics and finance are in reality more driven by liquidity and money hierarchy than fundamental values. This course has given a very practical perspective on how the entire system evolved. The economics and finance they teach in schools need to come over the assumptions of perfectly liquid markets. The world is different. Let them prepare the coming generation about this since early age.

von Faisal n K

Mar 24, 2019

I have learned a lot from this course. This course has completely changed the way I see economy and finance. I remeber once warren buffet said in his AGM"few teachers can completely changed the way you see world for me it was ben graham".professor mehrling could be my ben graham. It was evident from professors lectures the amazing knowledge and skills he has. Specially the way professor interprets FT articles is superb.Sometimes this course do get tough and confusing and to clear that confusion you have to revise old lectures. This course has helped me to get better understanding of how global financial system works

von Fahad Y

Jan 25, 2019

Excellent explanation of the way money moves the world we live in today. Brilliant professor who's passion and depth of understanding adds to the fascination of the world of money & banking.

von Vishwesh R

Mar 10, 2019

Some really complex topics explained in really simple and fundamental terms

von Daniel Z

Jul 13, 2019

This was an excellent course. I really enjoyed the way it was delivered and the was the Prof explained the concept. He is extremely knowledgeable and communicates very well.

von Jin S

Jul 08, 2019

great course and professor

von Iván A L P

Jul 02, 2019

Excelente curso.

von BHAVYA K

Jul 02, 2019

I think EMB is the best course out there if you'd like to learn how money markets and capital markets interact in the modern times. This is something very unlike what is taught in your regular macro or fin courses, which will start making much more sense after you've done well in this course. Highly recommended.

von sarah a m a a r

Jun 07, 2019

An amazing course that show the light on many economic monetary polices and banking and many more overall very usefull

von Borja P O

Jun 05, 2019

he content of the course is very complete and rigorous and the teacher is excellent. Very good additional resources.

von Sydney D L

May 31, 2019

A good class to know about the subject

von Abdullahi H A

May 30, 2019

this course is career development

von Abdelrahman M I T

May 25, 2019

Great course with great Information & materials

von KARTHI

May 11, 2019

THIS COURSE HELP ME TO GAIN NEW KNOWLEDGE AND HELPS ME TO IMPROVE MY PROFILE

von Agustin P

May 10, 2019

Excellent course, new and insightful approach on the subject matter. Highly relevant for modern day finance and economics and the challenges ahead.

von Alan F

May 03, 2019

So far just extremely insightful, inspiring and life-changing. Plus well-organized and well-explained.

von JOSHUA R

Apr 30, 2019

Wonderful & insightful take as to how the world works

von Jean-Charles G

Apr 29, 2019

Very interesting

von Jeremy A

Apr 28, 2019

Excellent course! Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding the financial crisis.

von Panchio R

Apr 04, 2019

Such great and complete course. Professor extremely professional and knowledgeable.

von Kaustubh T

Feb 16, 2019

so much to learn

von Sheraz K

Feb 05, 2019

Simply the best. A well constructed course with some excellent reading material. Professor Mehrling was excellent. Thank you Professor, Columbia University and Coursera for making this wonderful course available to thousands of students all over the world.

von Shahab

Jan 24, 2019

Exceptional. Really fascinating course for a regular person to understand money and banking.

von Jose M C

Dec 24, 2018

It was great!

von Савина О Д

Dec 23, 2018

Awesome course!