Chevron Left
Zurück zu Economics of Money and Banking

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Economics of Money and Banking von Columbia University

4.9
Sterne
1,255 Bewertungen
346 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top-Bewertungen

BG
16. Juli 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK
17. Nov. 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 342 Bewertungen für Economics of Money and Banking

von Fahad Y

25. Jan. 2019

Excellent explanation of the way money moves the world we live in today. Brilliant professor who's passion and depth of understanding adds to the fascination of the world of money & banking.

von Faisal n K

24. März 2019

I have learned a lot from this course. This course has completely changed the way I see economy and finance. I remeber once warren buffet said in his AGM"few teachers can completely changed the way you see world for me it was ben graham".professor mehrling could be my ben graham. It was evident from professors lectures the amazing knowledge and skills he has. Specially the way professor interprets FT articles is superb.Sometimes this course do get tough and confusing and to clear that confusion you have to revise old lectures. This course has helped me to get better understanding of how global financial system works

von Vatsal G

6. Apr. 2019

Working at a bank, I realized that economics and finance are in reality more driven by liquidity and money hierarchy than fundamental values. This course has given a very practical perspective on how the entire system evolved. The economics and finance they teach in schools need to come over the assumptions of perfectly liquid markets. The world is different. Let them prepare the coming generation about this since early age.

von Kevin S

7. Okt. 2017

Super insightful, I wasn't able to do a course in Money and Banking in university and I'm very glad I got to do this updated view on how banking works in the modern age. Excellent course

von Brad H

13. Dez. 2016

Professor Mehrling is fantastic. I found this course supremely interesting, and I learned an incredible amount from it. I would venture to say that most have not taken an economics course like this one before. This definitely felt like a real college course.. 13 weeks of lecture, 2.5-3 hours of lecture each week. I believe Professor Mehrling said in-class that the two prerequisites for this course (for Columbia University students, not Coursera users) are Intermediate Micro and Intermediate Macro, so the course is definitely fairly high-level. To put it into perspective, I was an Accounting/Finance major with Econ minor and have CPA/CFA. So while not "trained" in economics, I've had a fair amount of exposure, but I definitely felt intellectually challenged and frequently had to relisten to parts of lectures. Definitely recommend this course! Learned something every minute of every lecture.

von Georgios D

30. Aug. 2019

Although I hold a BSc in Economics and an MBA, I have to admit that before taking this mooc I only had some vague macro-based ideas about the actual mechanics of banking. This mooc is an eye opener to the realities of our modern money & credit markets and institutions. I finally understood some heavilly complicated concepts, like derivative financial instruments, that are presented in a manner that builds intuition easily around their usefulness as tools, despite their heavy quant mathematics that always deterred me!

von Damon W

18. Apr. 2020

Learned a lot from this even though I should have taken a derivatives course beforehand to understand forwards, swaps etc a bit better as they were discussed. I now feel I have a good understanding of the banking system as a whole and how it succeeds and fails. Also gave some good food for thought on how to better regulate and manage the system going forward. I took this course as the coronavirus pandemic pricked the asset bubble and inspired yet another financial crisis. It was remarkable how many of the things he was discussing from the GFC are still a problem today and for much the same reasons!

von Barbara G

17. Juli 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

von Giorgio G

13. Okt. 2019

Fantastic content, it explains how banks work behind the scenes and many intricacies of the current financial system. Super suggested even to those who don't have a financial background.

von alex h

3. Dez. 2016

I found this to be an excellent introduction to how modern banking works. If this class grows increasingly popular, go long whatever company sells chalk because the professor consumes quite a bit as he sketches out a seemingly infinite number of T-accounts to illustrate the trading of money through multiple markets, including Fed Funds, EuroDollar, Repo, Swap and FX. By the end of the class, you get a good sense for the plumbing behind markets, and develop an alternative and practical view of what drives asset prices than what you perhaps learned studying economic or financial theory. You also gain an appreciation for how big shadow banking is globally, how all money is not created equal, and how the value of any asset can change drastically through the mechanics of the dealer system as investors discover this point.

von Carlos C

23. Jan. 2020

Most comprehensive course I have taken regarding Money and how it interacts with the economy. Having studied Economics as my undergrad, I was very disatisfied with the Monetary Policy course I took (the only one where we got the chance to see how Money interacts with the economy), because of its simplicity and "Jimmy Stewart" banking form of teaching, as Professor Mehrling usually refers to during this course. Congratulations and thanks for teaching me lots of important things I never heard during my career! Every Econ major should definitely take this course (even if you graduated), if you want to understand how the financial system really works, what is the real function of the Central Bank, and how we have evolved from the rupture of Bretton Woods in 1971!

von hiroo y

12. Aug. 2017

It starts very simple, but this is really a profound course. Begining from "what is money", it looks into classic banking, how things changed in the shadow banking system, what money markets do and how the players operate, especially the role of market making brokers. If you have some economics and/or finance back ground, this will have your views stand on their head, and then come back on their feet. You will have a changed view on central banking. I don't think anyone can completely absorb this in one go, but it will provide really stimulating and eye opening views on every section of the lecture.

von Constantin B

6. Sep. 2020

Extremely interesting course where no financial specific skills or knowledge is required to capture the essential aspects of each lecture. It really helped me to connect economic aspects together with financial ones learned during university studies. Furthermore, it provided me many new key insights on how the money and banking system works as well as monetary policy. I also strongly suggest it because the professor is absolutely immersive and addictive thanks to his genuine passion for these topics and desire to teach them. Thanks a lot for this great opportunity!

von Alfonso G Y

30. Mai 2020

It is a pleasant, agile, instructive course that brings a new vision of the interaction between economic, financial and monetary stuff. Perry Mehrling is exemplary, a teacher who reflects that he loves what he does. The dedication in each lesson, the contribution of material in the form of readings and the way classes are taught (with the use of slate and chalk included!) is increasingly unusual in today's times.

von Bhavya K

2. Juli 2019

I think EMB is the best course out there if you'd like to learn how money markets and capital markets interact in the modern times. This is something very unlike what is taught in your regular macro or fin courses, which will start making much more sense after you've done well in this course. Highly recommended.

von choice_yun

30. Juli 2020

The concept of 'money view' was totally different, and very helpful to understand modern economy events. My major is Economics, but compared with what I've learned in my school, this course was a lot more realistic than any lectures in my school.

von Food a A O o t U

11. Juli 2020

The course was really interesting. The professor`s knowledge is really deep and his explanations and examples are very good. I really enjoyed this course, It gave me a different perspective on the money market.

von Aparajita K

17. Nov. 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

von Prathamesh M

27. Juni 2020

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

von giuseppe t

6. Sep. 2020

Superb course, taught by a superb professor. It provides you with all the nuances and the intellectual stimulus to dig further deep into money markets, banking and finance.

von Vishwesh R

10. März 2019

Some really complex topics explained in really simple and fundamental terms

von Manan M

10. Okt. 2020

The course needs to be updated with time.

von Hector N

5. Juni 2017

Very interesting perspective on money and banking and the link between the two. A few suggestions for improvement: (a) make real e-lectures, not just take-outs from lectures, (b) provide a textbook (the lecture notes are mediocre), and (c) clarify what the course structure is.

von Fabio M

6. März 2021

Excellent course. It's not easy to find free courses on the website that have interesting topics and such well taugh like this one. You usually get used to find good ones that are not free (and it's totally reasonable).

With this course, i've personally learned a lot about the vision of international money and banking system; it provides you a complete abstract about how international payment system works and how banks/dealers use the money market (Fed Funds, REPO) to make markets in order to make them liquid and gain profits. Finally, he gets you into derivative's market (Credit Default Swaps, IRS, FRA, Futures) and how can you make those derivatives synthetically playing with different kinds of loans and debt.

Last but not least, All the topics that the teacher deals with are framed within their respective historical framework.

von José G F Q d A

27. Nov. 2016

This is a truly superb course, probably unique in its breadth, depth and realistic, fact-based approach to teaching money and banking. I particularly liked the systematic use of balance sheets for the presentation of the materials, the emphasis on History and institutions to understand the contemporary banking system, the explanations on the hierarchy of money and credit and of how all banking is essentially an exchange of IOUs (mostly created from thin air). The transition from traditional banking to shadow banking is very well explained. The role of the Fed as a liquidity backstop for the financial system, the eurodollar as a source of global funding and the causes of the financial crisis are all clearly presented. I'm now eagerly waiting for an updated version of the course, since the recorded lectures are from late 2012.