Chevron Left
Zurück zu Economics of Money and Banking

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Economics of Money and Banking von Columbia University

4.9
Sterne
1,376 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top-Bewertungen

BG

16. Juli 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

17. Nov. 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 367 Bewertungen für Economics of Money and Banking

von Udit P

15. Aug. 2017

Probably the best course I've ever taken! The money view approach is very unique in itself. Professor Mehrling's old school way of teaching is very refreshing indeed!

von Alexandra F

8. Okt. 2020

Perry Mehrling is an amazing teacher and his course is so interesting and detailed! It was a great way to spend the summer in a time like this. Highly recommended.

von Priyam o

25. Mai 2018

Best course if you want to study about the mechanism of banking system and flow of money from the top.And the prof is one of the best prof from whom i have studied

von Paulo B

24. Feb. 2021

Professor Perry is brilliant and explains very well. This course is great and opens your mind to a different perspective of how money and financial systems work.

von Uros K

6. Apr. 2021

Loved the course material but it is not beginner-friendly entirely, well suited for people interested in finance and additional research outside of the course.

von Gudmundur O

12. Jan. 2018

Great presentation of Money and Banking.

Perry's introduction of a complex systems are very well delivered in simple peaces that all come together at the end.

von Jeferson J

25. Dez. 2020

Fantástico material e bem didático. Recomendo a todos que buscam uma base para o mercado financeiro e entender o valor do dinheiro e instituicoes bancárias.

von A W

20. Sep. 2020

It's a good quality course with a great lecturer. The feedback in the test is not helpful though. Feedback such as "Nope" for a wrong answer is not helpful.

von Meet S

31. Aug. 2020

Very relevant considering the enormous impact the FED and other central banks are having by infusing unprecedented amount of liquidity into their economies.

von daniel m

2. März 2021

A very interesting course for those who want to learn more about economics from a different perspective and the implications of money, banking and finance.

von rohit r

2. Nov. 2016

As far as I have come, the course is depth driven having real life applications than most of the other courses I have come across and completed. Thank you.

von Stefan P

24. Juli 2020

Truly inspirational and Prof. Mehrling is unquestionably one of the brightest minds of this generation. He teaches in a very vivid and comprehensible way.

von Gergely S

31. Juli 2022

Absolutely brilliant, prefect narrative, fantastic view on how things work in practice. Fantastic list of referenes, readings. Cannot recommend enough.

von James K

25. Feb. 2020

I loved the structure and the content of this course. I cannot thank Professor Perry enough for posting his lectures online for all to see and learn.

von Chen L

21. Jan. 2017

The course teaches systematically, links up money markets and capital markets and at the end opens a new way of thinking about economics and finance.

von Jesus S

17. Sep. 2018

Great course, substantial breadth. Explains many details usually left out in standard International Finance/Money courses. Thank you Profr. Mehrling

von Kolybina A

28. März 2017

I was impressed by the manner of professor to tell this money story! It was really fascinating to view complicated money schemes as an amazing quest

von Steven R

13. Feb. 2017

This course blew my mind. Our professor was interesting, lessons well planned and content important. I now read the Financial Times daily. Thank you

von Agustin P

10. Mai 2019

Excellent course, new and insightful approach on the subject matter. Highly relevant for modern day finance and economics and the challenges ahead.

von Rajya M

20. Juli 2020

Prof. Perry Mehrling has presented the course with linkage of traditional and shadow banking and loved taking his classes. Thank you Coursera :)

von Roman S

31. Mai 2020

A mind-blowing course that helps you build an intuition about the nature and the current state of money (and to some extent capital) markets.

von Pramanshu R

29. Juli 2017

Quite exhaustive course covering details about banking and finance. Amazing Professor, good content. The focus on current events is good too.

von ARIOLI S

1. Mai 2021

One of the most useful and original perspective in understanding the world. Money, banking, finance, economics as branches of human history.

von Mahmood A K E

3. Aug. 2017

Really amazing in terms of views and knowledge to be acquired.

I would highly recommend the course to anyone looking to expand in the domain.

von Shiba P

23. Mai 2021

This course is very much relevant to those who want to know the evolution of banking and finance along with the monetary system of banking.