Chevron Left
Zurück zu Economics of Money and Banking

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Economics of Money and Banking von Columbia University

4.9
Sterne
1,373 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top-Bewertungen

BG

16. Juli 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

17. Nov. 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 367 Bewertungen für Economics of Money and Banking

von Min M Z

1. Jan. 2021

Very structural and high-level view across finance, economic and money market. And I like how passionate the professor is when he teaches:)

von Max M

18. Nov. 2021

Excellent presentation skills of Mr. Mehrling who gives interesting and useful insights into the money market and financial institutions.

von Yechen H

5. Juli 2017

A different way to look at today's Financial World. The material is well structured and easy to understand. Thank you Professor Mehrling.

von Miquel B L

27. Mai 2020

Excellent course with very enlightening explanaitions of how the modern financial system works thorugh the lenses of monetary economics.

von Carlos G S

3. Juli 2021

Fundamental for the understanding of the banking and financial world, the crisis, and how dealers play an important role in the economy

von Peter A S

23. Jan. 2021

Great course providing insight into the money view of the world! A much needed realistic alternative to the finance and economics view.

von Michele C

6. Sep. 2020

Very interesting and unusual course on banking system held by a good professor who is also inspired by the history of economic thought.

von Thoshitha

2. Jan. 2017

The basics were well taught and understandable in 1 time view of video and the standards of the university are great! Thanks coursera!

von خالد س ا

1. Juli 2022

I learned and benefited greatly from this course that it teaches you very important interests in the economy and in the banking field

von Alexandros G

26. Apr. 2022

An excellent course from a most inspiring professor. Building slowly from the basics and leading to understanding of today's economy.

von Sushant G

8. Juni 2020

Excellent course by Professor Perry G Mehrliing. Learned a lot on money and banking. I can read FT now.

Thanks to Columbia University.

von Atulya S

11. Juni 2017

Amazing insights into the evolution and working of money markets.Last chapters tying to economic theory could have been more detailed

von Ilias M

10. Jan. 2018

Professor Mehrling will make you connect the dots. Masterfully conceived and delivered. Many thanks and much appreciation Professor.

von Juho V

3. Aug. 2020

Enlightening stuff and really well presented! The second half was occasionally hard to follow without without economics background.

von Ian J M G

14. Juli 2020

Fantastic work by Dr. Mehrling, this course should be a priority for anyone looking to develop a profound macro view of the world.

von Pablo S

6. Okt. 2018

Incredible teacher. A lot of useful information that provides you with an eagle view of monetary and financial markets as a whole.

von M. L G

1. Apr. 2020

Very progressive, interesting, maybe too complex for my goals in the last weeks. Highly recommended to understand today's world.

von Parth G

20. Sep. 2017

Mind Blowing approach to teach. Got the new angles of the economy and banking. Expanded the vision significantly on the subject.

von Erik M

6. Sep. 2018

Really interesting. Sometimes a bit difficult to follow and vague, but yes, certainly a pleasant and worthwhile experience.

von Jiao S

7. Apr. 2018

Probably the most amazing course I have ever taken in economics and finance. I would definitely recommend to every student!

von Salmina A

11. Jan. 2021

Brilliantly paced, explained and integrated lessons all throughout the course. I am an absolute fan of Professor Mehrling!

von Pavlo L

20. Okt. 2020

Great course overall

It gives you insight into what is banking about as well as what is considered to be money and credit

von sarah a m a a r

7. Juni 2019

An amazing course that show the light on many economic monetary polices and banking and many more overall very usefull

von Yiannis B

27. Aug. 2017

One of the best courses I have followed!

I am expecting an update on the course.

Thank you for this wonderful experience.

von Bernardo R S

24. Mai 2020

Amazing course. Thanks Coursera and teacher for this fantastic classes. I´m Brazilian and enjoy this opportunity a lot.