Chevron Left
Zurück zu Economics of Money and Banking

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Economics of Money and Banking von Columbia University

4.9
Sterne
1,274 Bewertungen
351 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top-Bewertungen

BG
16. Juli 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PM
26. Juni 2020

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

Filtern nach:

326 - 347 von 347 Bewertungen für Economics of Money and Banking

von 肖均

9. Mai 2020

The content of this course is very relevant to the real-world financial system, and provide an alternative way to understand how the financial system works and how they relate to each other. This is the biggest difference from those standard books of the money and bank. Overall, it is a very good course.

von Поморина М А

28. Okt. 2019

The course content is very interesting and provides a broad view of the history of the development of the theory of money and banking.

However, tests are not always correct. The choice of answer is often ambiguous. We need slides that briefly present the essence of the problems under consideration.

von Maximilian S

27. Mai 2020

I learned so much about an important topic and Prof. Mehrling keeps you interrested in the course throughout all lectures. I enjoyed the connection to the real world through the real world examples. Just 4 stars, because I missed some balance sheet quizes or more mathematical questions

von Ryan K

27. Apr. 2018

Excellent Course.

Well crafted syllabus and text that builds on material and continual ties ideas together.

Stay Liquid and Survive!

Negatives:

Dated materials, article links that do not work, some of the video editing. Quizes are not really benficiall to learning

von Julian H F

24. Feb. 2017

Very good course, teacher is great and content is very insightful.

On the less good side, students should not expect all concepts to be clarified from the beginning, so a good deal of research has to be self made.

von umwoosung

9. Jan. 2017

I can get the useful knowledge on origin of Fed and other basic source about American finace.

So I want to deeply recommend this course to all of you. Thanks

von Daniel M D

30. März 2021

In some moments it may be a bit tough, but I've found it not only interesting but also worth the time spent on it. I would take it again.

von soto h

30. Juni 2020

It was awesome to know and learn economics from a different point of view from a view which I'm learning in Japan

von Arti K

28. Juni 2017

A very structured course and content. Interesting teaching methods made it easy to grasp.

von Deleted A

23. Apr. 2020

Awesome instructor, great sharing of knowledge

Thank you

von Yifei H

6. Juli 2020

Really an interesting course. Filled with knowledge

von Oludamilare A

22. Nov. 2018

Very Insightful and extremely intense.

von Abdalle H

17. Nov. 2021

this course is career development

von Miguel P

28. Mai 2018

Excellent data and explanations

von Richard K

26. Okt. 2017

very informative.

von Atul J G

4. Dez. 2016

Excellent course

von Santiago C

18. Jan. 2017

mmmmm

von Lam Y C

2. Juli 2018

Good

von Jason H

6. Okt. 2021

T​he content of the course is terrific, but given that the course material is from 2012 with many references to the 2008 financial crisis, it is very much out-of-date.

von VIALA C

10. März 2017

It is tottaly unacceptable to have to pay to pass quizz !!!

I cancel my participation

von Suraj P

10. Juli 2020

Confusing lecture. Explanation is not proper.Its mix up.

von Shubham K

5. Juni 2020

Currently not in my use