Chevron Left
Zurück zu Economics of Money and Banking

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Economics of Money and Banking von Columbia University

4.9
Sterne
1,332 Bewertungen
364 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top-Bewertungen

BG

16. Juli 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

17. Nov. 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 360 Bewertungen für Economics of Money and Banking

von Borja P O

5. Juni 2019

he content of the course is very complete and rigorous and the teacher is excellent. Very good additional resources.

von tomer z

5. Okt. 2017

Excellent professor and intersting topic. the reading material is unique and expands on the material in the course

von Ammar S A

1. Okt. 2020

Interesting and challenging course! Highly recommended for all despite having various background of education. :)

von Nick D

21. Apr. 2021

An excellent well articulated Professor that takes you on an intellectual journey through T charts and theory.

von Saurabh K

8. Nov. 2017

The course extremely helpful for people who are interested making their career in Banking.

I like this course.

von Leonardo C d J

17. Sep. 2020

An excellent course taught by an excellent professor from an excellent university. I highly recommend it!

von callum s

14. Aug. 2020

Builds from initial concepts and history to explain how money and finance work at a global level today.

von Edi P

7. Aug. 2020

Well explained, I like the "balance sheet" approach to explaining various topics covered in the course

von Alan F

3. Mai 2019

So far just extremely insightful, inspiring and life-changing. Plus well-organized and well-explained.

von Sebastian A H

9. Sep. 2019

This course gives a very broad framework of banking with a clear explanation of how the system works.

von de f h

10. Aug. 2018

The best course I've ever had. When will Prof. Mehrling's History of Economic Thought be broadcasted?

von Aarav M

23. Feb. 2021

Excellent has lead me to understand the markets and systems in an intuitive and professional manner.

von Cheng Z

31. Mai 2020

Best money and banking course ever from someone working in the industry for years after granudation

von advet g

22. Nov. 2020

my experience was so good . i suggest you everyone , please join this course for successful future

von Jeremy A

28. Apr. 2019

Excellent course! Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding the financial crisis.

von Jagannathan I

21. Juni 2018

Amazing course to learn more about the nitty gritty of money markets that keep the world running!

von Luc M

12. Okt. 2017

This is one of the most favourite course I have ever come across in Coursera. Highly recommend!!!

von Zongxi Y

19. Mai 2017

This course is really useful and help me know more about the relationship between Money and Banks

von Roussille A

6. Mai 2017

Great course !! Very interesting and the teacher is great. The understanding is quick and simple.

von MICHELE F

3. Jan. 2022

Amazing course! The teacher is great and he focused on the deep meanings of monetary economics.

von Silvester V

22. Aug. 2021

rockstar course. great quality content, engaging professor. doesn't get much better than this.

von Matheus C

21. Juni 2020

Ótimo curso para pessoas que estão buscando aprimorar seus conhecimentos em economia mundial.

von antonio b

3. Juni 2020

Amazing Course on finance! It should be available to all graduate student in all disciplines!

von Sudarsan S

19. März 2022

One of excellent expereicne of attending classes online (Video) and got clarity of thoughts

von Cristian E E N

11. Feb. 2020

Very good course and excellent teacher! You can see his passion for the subjects he teaches.