Chevron Left
Zurück zu Moral Foundations of Politics

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Moral Foundations of Politics von Yale University

4.8
1,545 Bewertungen
310 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Top-Bewertungen

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 307 Bewertungen für Moral Foundations of Politics

von Pablo A R T

May 13, 2019

Es un curso excelente, permite al interesado captar distintos puntos de vista políticos, puestos en contexto temporal.

von Denisse S T

Jun 11, 2019

I have no prior knowledge of political science and I just took this course to have an idea about politics. I learned more than I expected! Kudos to Professor Ian Shapiro, his explanations were thorough and very easy to understand. The students he's talking to were also bright and I learned from them as well.

von Wilhelmus C M L ( L

Apr 16, 2019

I like the course. It goes deep in the matter. the theories are explaind good and graphs are easaly understandable. Thanx for the course

von C. m

Nov 25, 2018

Professor spiritual manor provokes a high level of awareness of a higher motivation above “interests “ raising a possibility for a student to feel what they think and their actions can make a more understanding , accecpecting, and peaceful community.

von Amjad M

Nov 25, 2018

I learned a lot. The course has very much widened my understanding of the subject. The way Sir Ian Shapiro elaborates is fascinating. I just loved! I'm thankful to Professor Shapiro, Coursera and also to DLSEI.PK who offered this course for free. A lot of love.

von Syeda S

Nov 29, 2018

This course was no doubt a great and full of knowledge course.Teaching method and especially the engaging method of professor Shiparo wad ausome.Before study of this course i had nothing knowledge about world politics especially interm of throries and their application.

von Sanja J

Nov 27, 2018

It is an excellent course. I personally recommend it for those who want to get an essential view on the topic. An interactive course, which for me is indispensable when e-learning.

von Marjori P

Nov 27, 2018

I am utterly enjoying the content of this course. The best produced course in Coursera by far.

von Petra P

Dec 16, 2018

An excellent course. The lecturer was engaging, the course was well-paced and well-structured. Excellent readings, and useful revision quizzes. Highly recommended.

von Daniela Z R

Dec 18, 2018

LO MEJOR!!!!

von Danielle M

Jan 09, 2019

What a mind Dr. Schapiro has. Incredible course. Take it!

von ERIVAN R

Feb 18, 2019

Exelentt!!!

von Paul M

Feb 20, 2019

This course is a must try.

von manuel e v s

Feb 21, 2019

Excelente curso que analiza en profundidad grandes temas relacionadas con la política y el pensar filosófico de algunos autores

von Jose C

Mar 22, 2019

Preeeeeetty good

von Cristina A G

Mar 23, 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.

von Jairo G P

Mar 03, 2019

O professor é incrível. Suas explicações são claras e sua críticas são acertadíssimas. Parabéns Yale e Coursera, por nos proporcionar esse curso maravilhoso. Adorando!

von Aaron K

Mar 31, 2019

Fascinating and clear exposition of some of the deepest roots of the questions of morality inherent in politics.

von Narmin S N S

Jan 19, 2019

I really enjoy Professor Shapiro's methods of explaining, I don't have much knowledge about politics and some concepts were new to me, but he explained them in such a way that I had no trouble understanding!

I also really appreciated the idea of having two students present discussing and arguing with the professor, it added so much to the course and they asked many questions on behalf of many of us I am sure.

von Laxmi M H S

Apr 02, 2019

Very Good.

von Paulo E G d S

Apr 04, 2019

O curso é muito abrangente, bem estruturado, elaborado e aplicado. A plataforma é pratica, simples e objetiva. O professor domina o assunto e incrementa as explicações com uma didática bastante focada no conteúdo e na finalidade de entendimento. Também trouxe um referencial teórico bastante amplo e pertinente.

von Mohit k

Mar 12, 2019

content awsome

von Paz O

Mar 12, 2019

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho para la reflexión y poder plantear mis inquietudes de mejor forma con mayor fundamento.

von Berna ö

Mar 04, 2019

thank you for this course İt was really so enlightening to compare the period of political thought on public policy . I really appriciated Shapiro's guide for understanding with the examples of everyday life.