Chevron Left
Zurück zu Moralities of Everyday Life

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Moralities of Everyday Life von Yale University

4.8
Sterne
956 Bewertungen
204 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can we explain kindness and cruelty? Where does our sense of right and wrong come from? Why do people so often disagree about moral issues? This course explores the psychological foundations of our moral lives....

Top-Bewertungen

JE

Dec 19, 2017

Coming from undergraduate course Psychology, and with my paper about Generosity, this course has shared with me lessons that both strengthened and challenged my learnings on this topic of interest.

LK

Jan 13, 2018

Great teacher, eloquent and a good story teller. Very interesting material, current and classic. Good pace, and just the right amount of interactive questions and personal commenting opportunity.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 200 Bewertungen für Moralities of Everyday Life

von Shazia R K

Oct 06, 2016

Excellent course! It not only explained the different influences on morality but empowered us by explaining how can we use reason to become better persons. A BIG thank you to Prof. Paul Bloom!

von Jacqui H

Jan 14, 2018

Brilliantly taught and eye-opening content. I've bought the books and am engaged in follow-up self-study. Thank you Professor Bloom for helping me understand the world in a new way!

von reza

Sep 23, 2018

It is a helpful couse. This course helps to understand other people actions and reactions.

von Alejandro J E

Sep 24, 2017

I loved this course. Here's why. I'm Mexican, and almost at the end of the course it was September 19th, the day a huge earthquake shook Mexico City and other neighboring cities, causing hundreds of deaths and a lot of material damages. As civilians and government were trying to cope with the disaster, a lot of moral decisions had to be made. Should we sacrifice the life of someone still trapped not to put in danger more lifes? Should civilians trust the government in rescue missions when government is basically untrusted in all other decision-making fields? Was empathy causing irrational decisions? Why was it that people were more willing to help their neighbors than other people in the same situation or even worse but geographically further? This course allowed me to explore some answers to these questions and have a better understanding of what was going on. For that and other reasons I strongly and sincerely recommend everyone taking this course.

von Antonia T B

May 27, 2018

An excellent course. Professor Paul Bloom is a great lecturer. Some constructive criticism: I come from Philosophy and I missed more philosophy and philosophers as part of the discussion. It would have been great to have had Sartre over here, or Camus, Schopenhauer, Nietzsche or Freud... There was only some small references to Kant, Adam Smith and others, but, in general, there was very little about philosophy (and that's funny in a course about moralities!). The quizzes are great but a bit too long (20 questions each). The Office hours are interesting but also very long (some are more than 45 minutes). I also missed more teachers lecturing and more interviews. But, overall, it is an excellent course. Thanks a lot and greetings from Madrid! / Antonia Tejeda Barros

von Marc G

Jul 28, 2018

My sincerest congratulations to Dr. Bloom for delivering a course packed with rich content relevant to everyday life in a format that is at once stimulating but accessible. I loved the lectures and found them truly engaging -- one can readily tell Bloom is passionate about his discipline and eager to share what he knows. I really liked the idea of the office hours, too, and thought they were a great way of expanding on the foundations laid out in the curricular videos. I also liked the fact that Bloom quotes from so many authors and cites their books, as this gives students a chance to further investigate any topic of their interest using reputable sources. This is my 8th course on Coursera and it has been, by far, the most valuable!

von Kate

Jun 17, 2019

I loved this course. The only thing that could have made it better is if my husband would have had time to take it with me; as it was, we spent a lot of time talking about the reading and the content of the lectures. Imagine how much better it would have been if he had gotten the same material firsthand instead of through me as an intermediary. Unfortunately, that wasn't in the cards when I took it. The lecturer Paul Bloom was really fantastic. Really, really funny. I loved the readings, too. There was a decidedly liberal slant to this MOOC but hey, if you don't expect that from Yale, you're living under a rock. Bloom seemed to care about presenting an opposing viewpoint, even though it's not one he personally subscribed to.

von Eva A C

Apr 08, 2019

I've just completed week one. I really have to say, this course is SO accessible. I have a chronic mental deficiency (schizophrenia) that prevents me from understanding a lot of lectures (in speech form). This course provides (almost) accurate transcriptions of the lectures. Then you can highlight and save your notes straight from the course. TED Talks also provides a similar transcription section, which this course heavily relies on for me.

Paul Bloom is incredibly knowledgeable, not just in his field but in making sure EVERYONE has the ability to understand his lectures. I am very pleased with this course. It is a privilege to have the opportunity to learn in such an accessible way. Thank you.

von Soraya S

Aug 13, 2019

I enjoyed the course. It was well-arranged and well-discussed. Readings and videos were relevant and thought-provocative. I wish the curse was longer. Also, some of us chose not to have access to Facebook, Tweeter, and Instagram. Thereby, I had a hard time to locate a few articles. It answered some of my questions regarding peoples' conduct. More importantly, it put me on ease for the way I think and I fund common ground with the scientists and their research. Thank you for great work and for the opportunity.

von Debra M

Jul 01, 2018

I so enjoyed the lectures and readings in this course. I loved Paul Bloom's style of teaching, with examples from very intellectual sources as well as from television programs. I also enjoyed his humor. I liked being able to take the quizzes more than once so I could discover the errors in my thinking. I am a retired teacher on a fixed income and this was my first Coursera class. I will definitely take more and I wish to thank you for making them available to anyone who has access to a computer.

von Sohini B

May 21, 2017

It is a very interesting course. Prof. Paul Bloom successfully gives many intriguing arguments to explain morality from a psychological point of view. The added videos and readings also help us to understand the topic in hand and the various arguments for and against it. Another interesting feature of the course is the office hours. Here Prof Bloom discusses and answers the many interesting questions raised in the discussion forums. Overall a very enjoyable course!

von Huey N L

Apr 19, 2017

This course presents different moralistic views in a highly engaging, easy to understand, and most importantly - relevant manner. By linking different moral philosophies to our everyday lives, Professor Bloom shows us just why morals and ethics are so important to think about, and are not just theoretical philosophy that won't be put to good use. This course will make you wiser, a more critical thinker, and you'll have lots of fun doing it. 10/10 would recommend!

von Karthigeyan

Sep 21, 2017

This course was simply amazing. It was an eye opener in many ways. Thanks to the Professor who made the lectures as interesting as possible. Office hours was a nice way for the learners to know about professor's opinion about the queries. A special thanks to Laurie Santos for her lecture and the discussion. I could go on and on about this course. I am looking forward to the next lecture series either on the same subject or on a different subject from Paul Bloom.

von MARIA M

Aug 23, 2017

It was an excellent course and so much unconventional in every respect,It provided answers to questions and dilemmas that seem to grow within us but never had the chance to articulate or delve deeper into their real nature.I felt overwhelmed at times with the insight and knowledge the lectures provided.Professor P.Bloom is perfect in his approach , analysis and structure of the course.I only Greece wasn't that far away.........

von Ebony R

Apr 02, 2018

I have started quite a few courses on Coursera over the years but this is the first course that I have completed. I found the lectures to be engaging and thought-provoking and the outside readings to all be very interesting and applicable to what we're studying that week. The course felt well thought out and was put together nicely. I'm definitely interested in continuing with philosophy in general. This was a great start!

von Foca S M

Jul 12, 2019

If you’re fascinated by matters of good & evil and right & wrong, this course is a wonderful way to continue your education. It's short, it’s illuminating, and it’s done by one of the most influential psychologists of our time. Besides the course itself, you have access to plenty of interesting articles, alongside some of the best TED talks out there. Its knowledge might have the power to make you a better human being.

von Galina G

Aug 23, 2017

I think this is a must course for any thoughtful being in this (or any) day and age. Professor Bloom puts together an incredible overview of the topic, and you may be surprised at some of the things you learn. I enjoyed the lectures and readings immensely, and not just because of the topic: Professor Bloom is a very talented lecturer to whom it is a pleasure to listen. I very much recommend this course!

von Vandana G

Mar 18, 2019

Beautifully designed by the team and presented by Professor Paul Bloom with great clarity and grace.

The experience was very enriching.It has made me correcting my behaviour and am able to understand other’s with more clarity and empathy ( I know my professor is not fond of empathy)that too at the (stubborn) age of 61.

Looking forward to more courses by Professor Bloom.

von Tiffany V G

Nov 07, 2017

This class was heavily insightful, and kept me interested. The topics discussed are timely in their relevance to our tumultuous world now, and Professor Bloom presented opposing ideas in such a structured and unbiased way, with his signature deadpan humor. I loved this class and I would recommend it to anyone interested in the topics of psychology and/or morality.

von 曹菡菲(Faith C

Feb 25, 2019

I like all the supplement material Professor Bloom provides, as well as his teaching style. He doesn't shy away from where he stands, but I think in general, he offers fairs chance to all perspectives and provides in detailed explanations ignorer for us to choose for ourselves. I wish there are more of his courses. Very interesting indeed.

von Laura B

Nov 15, 2018

If you want to discover more about human nature, how moralities work, about psychology, phylosophy, anthopology and all domains that appeals to human nature, you should definitively take this course. The lectures are complete and interesting, and the moralities of everyday life will have no secret for you anymore.

von 小强

Jun 30, 2018

The first course on cousera. Thank you Bloom. I come from China whose people's worldview is very different from America. There are so many behaviors I can not imagine that truly happens in the world. And I learn that there are more choices to do when facing some issues in the real world.

von Matthew K

Feb 05, 2017

Even if you disagree with some of what he says you can't help but admire the way that Paul Bloom considers other perspectives of morality. It is one of the reasons that this is such an engrossing and fantastic learning experience. I would highly recommend this course to virtually anyone.

von Fala A

Jul 18, 2017

I truly enjoyed this course. An eyeopener on how to view morality and how to reflect it on different matters of your daily life. It takes a play on your judgement and critical thinking. Professor Bloom delivered the material really well. Its been awhile since I enjoyed a course.