Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mountains 101

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mountains 101 von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,403 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top-Bewertungen

GV

22. Okt. 2022

It was a wonderful lerning experience for me. The content was great, the videos and lessessons were very enjoyable and enlightening. Bravo to the teams who created this couse, well done and thank you.

SK

22. Dez. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 897 Bewertungen für Mountains 101

von MOHAMMED S C

15. Mai 2020

I understand more significance’s of mountains that give to our environment in a well explained scientific way.

This course make me much lover of mountains.

Tech tips program are good informative one for mountaineers.

von Betty B

14. Aug. 2021

Very much enjoyed the course. Took the course due to Covid isolation as well as being interested in the course material and I am so glad that I did. Presenters were all excellent. Highly recommend the course.

von Eduardo J K

29. Nov. 2020

Curso fantástico para uma introdução sobre o tema, abordando diversos tópicos. Os professores e convidados são engajados e compreendem de forma profunda os temas que ensinam. O material e os vídeos são muito bons.

von Robert W

12. Feb. 2021

Packed with information, presented by great, relatable professors. Loved the historical contexts and all the detail. Obviously a lot of people were involved in the production of this course. They did a great job.

von Meenal S D

20. Aug. 2020

An excellent course for Mountain and nature lovers. Very well structured.

Would love to learn more, through a series of more courses dedicated to

detailed study of Mountains in different continents of the world.

von Patricio N

19. Apr. 2020

Very interesting. It is great to get inspired by people who love mountains. Think about a National Park series documentary. The tips and the interactive map was a very nice touch. I highly recommend this course.

von Alex C

8. Mai 2020

I really enjoyed this course :-) The enthusiasm of the teachers and the content were a joy. I learnt many weird and wonderful things, many thanks for this excellent course...i look forward to any follow ups!!!

von helena m

28. Jan. 2021

Beutifully explained + varied input by different contributors + great videos + awesome summary notes + meaningful yet challenging quizzes...

Thanks a million for this great course. I have enjoyed it so much!!

von Ness A

15. Apr. 2020

Such a fun and interesting course! I loved how the instructors included different disciplines in the importance of mountains and the interactive map was an awesome way to learn about mountains I never knew.

von Benoit W

12. Apr. 2020

A wonderful all-rounded course that transported me into the magical and precious world of mountains, and reinforced my desire to learn, understand and enjoy being in them going forward. Thank you very much!

von Albert

8. Apr. 2018

Congratulations for this excellent course! And congratulations for your excellent Canada Prime Minister! it was a surprise to heard him! An exemple to follow for the rest of politicians around the world :-)

von André W S

24. Jan. 2023

Very infformative, full of good videos and very well taught by the professors. I enjoyed it, big time. Looking forward for a continuation! Thank you so much for the opportunity! Love, from southern Brazil!

von Eva F

14. März 2017

I very much enjoyed this great and well presented course! It helped broaden my knowledge of mountains as so many different environmental and societal aspects were discussed. Looking forward to follow-ups!

von Amber M

1. Feb. 2019

Loved the course and learning an all around study of mountains from history to preservation to the wildlife and biodiversity. Also appreciated the tech tips! This is a great course for all nature lovers.

von Bret L

15. Nov. 2018

Absolutely amazing course! It is full of information that provides a great starting point to learn more in a variety of mountain subjects. Also, all throughout the course are amazing videos and imagery!

von Denis S

3. Nov. 2021

Great course, full of useful knowledge, interesting facts, magnificent landscapes and surprises like mountains environment itself. It was just amazing! Thank you so much, I really enjoyed this course.

von suspyre t

10. Apr. 2021

Very useful material for further understanding of the mountains and their dynamics, aspects and in general the mountains themselves and how they aid society and very various ways. I greatly appreciate.

von Deleted A

5. Mai 2021

Entertaining and interesting subject. This course gives us a perfect overview of mountains' importance on our environment and their value to our lives as a human. Thank you for this incredible course.

von Nancy L M

21. Juli 2020

Fascinating facts. Memorable images. Engaging instructors and commentators. Gets it just right as a presentation for "101" learners as to breadth and depth of content, explanation and enthusiasm.

von Anindya M

2. März 2022

A wonderful all round introduction to the mountains! Enjoyed every minute of learning. Thank you University of Alberta for putting together such a course and making it available through Coursera.

von Robert H

7. Jan. 2021

An excllent introduuction to mountains and the complex interactions that occur there. I really enjoyed the interdisciplinary components and the human interaction in the course. Well done U ofA!

von Fazla Z A

10. Aug. 2020

Awesome content and video production. Very interesting and covers a wide range of topics. As some that enjoys mountain recreations, it is a good primer on the environment I spend so much time in.

von Tseng-Mau Y

20. Apr. 2020

Awesome content and video production. Very interesting and covers a wide range of topics. As some that enjoys mountain recreations, it is a good primer on the environment I spend so much time in.

von Jeanne B

11. Juni 2021

Great course, well organized and presented. A large amount of information, but not overwhelming. I highly recommend this course and hope that soon there will be a sequel Mountains 102 or 201 ...

von Neil H

10. Apr. 2020

This was a great way to learn and spend time in a valuable way during isolation while I can't physically be in the mountains. Can't wait to see what knowledge sticks the next time I'm out there!