Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mountains 101

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mountains 101 von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,242 Bewertungen
839 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top-Bewertungen

BS
11. Feb. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

SK
22. Dez. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 838 Bewertungen für Mountains 101

von Thiago P B

31. Juli 2017

I'm a brazillian and I come from a land where there is not much mountains to be seen, but I was always fascinated by mountains and mountain environment. After my NOLS course on the Patagonian andes, I came to respect mountains even more and this course gave me a whole new perspective from these environment that I draw so much wonder. Thank you.

von Satyartha R R

24. Mai 2020

I am very happy after successfully completing this course. I have gained more knowledge about importance of mountains for sustainability of the Earth, human beings and all flora and fauna. I am giving my thanks to both course instructors Dr. Zac Robinson and Prof. David Hik. Both instructors are very knowledgeable person. Thank You very much.

von Houda B

5. Okt. 2020

Thank u so much coursera ... I'm so happy i have succeeded in knowing the mountains and gained very valuable information ... like climate , biodiversity , glaciers hazards imagination and water towers ... the future mountains ... it's an honor to succeed in a subject like this ... thank u so much to Professors of the University of Alberta ❤

von Kay B

22. Juli 2020

This course covered so many aspects of mountains such as geography, geology, as well as human physical responses to living in the mountains. I found the unit on glaciers particularly fascinating. The lessons from mountain experts added a lot to the course. The professors did a wonderful job of preparing and executing all course content.

von Joseph F

3. Mai 2021

The course is very comprehensive and covers a wide range of topics with a balance between breadth and depth. The many guest speakers from their various specialised fields also adds a lot of insightful facts. The notes at the end of each week are very good and summaris key points succinctly too. Amazing course overall with great teachers!!

von Nicolas G

4. Mai 2020

Excellent. Beautifully made course. Art and science together. For me, the main message of the course is to know more about what you love. I will continue to learn more about mountains, experience them, and be very careful to use them wisely and respectfully.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge and making us more literate world citizens.

von Bo P

13. Feb. 2019

What an amazing course. So much time effort and thought was put into this course. The quality of the content was amazing and as a lover of mountains I found this so interesting. Above all, the passion that went into this course made it perfect. Now when I'm in the mountains I enjoy the even more! Oh and the last video...nice touch! ;)

von Alexandrea V

13. Apr. 2017

This was a well structured and simple to understand course. I found the video style learning full a great imagery, examples, and more easily understood that a traditional lecture. The topics were diverse, thorough, and interesting. I also appreciate Matt Peter's knowledge of wilderness exploration. Great tips from a seasoned guide.

von Devdutt D

13. Aug. 2020

Excellent content and exceptional delivery. Can't ask anymore. A very holistic approach to learn and understand about our mountains and the ecosystem. The Tips on how to approach and respond in mountains was equally great! Thank you University of Alberta and all the people who put in all their efforts to make such beautiful course.

von Nikhil S

2. Mai 2021

I love this course ! The passion of the instructors as well as all the guests is evident. The course was very informative and provided a great foundation to build upon my knowledge. Great perspectives across social, cultural, geographical, biological, ecological perspectives. Being in the mountains will never be the same again! :)

von Lianne M

4. Nov. 2019

Extremely informative and interesting content throughout each lesson. Covering many topics related to mountain environments which held my interest and attention. It was very interesting to hear from people working in different roles throughout mountains internationally, especially from the Parks Canada and local university staff.

von Kaori M

9. Juni 2020

Very interesting with lots of examples and images. I was impressed with the diverse topics offered in this course and learnt a lot from it. Kept me on my toes and was eager to see what I could learn next. With this new knowledge I would like to be more alert on the environmental changes and do my part to protect the environment.

von Elizabeth D

13. Feb. 2021

I learned so much about mountains throughout this course. A someone who loves to spend time in the mountains hiking and camping, I feel like I have an even greater appreciation for how special our mountain and glacier spaces are. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who loves mountain spaces and wants to learn more.

von Joshua G

5. Dez. 2019

Was a bit of a bittersweet moment when I submitted the last test. This course was far beyond all my expectations. I have lived in the mountains my whole life, but this gave me a whole new outlook, and has further cemented my appreciation for the amazing places around me. Can't wait for "Mountains 201" :) Thanks guys, you rock!

von Jason P

11. Feb. 2021

Amazing course. It has a wealth of information about all aspects of mountains, including the environmental, social and economic aspects. Just a really well put together module, drawing knowledge from a diverse group of professionals. I was never bored, and in fact, each lesson was very interesting. Thank you for all involved.

von Loek L

22. Nov. 2020

Living in the flat Netherlands I really enjoyed the opportunity to take the knowledge from this course and put life and living on Earth into perspective. Mountains are such an impressive site and apparently also have so many more roles than I already told they had. I would like to thank everyone who made this course possible

von Rose S

11. Aug. 2020

Highly recommend for those of you who want to learn more about mountains. The instructors will guide you through learning about the many different aspects of mountains you have really never thought about : from the science to how and why mountains are spiritually important. Also engaging graphics and awesome instructors.

von Sherry Y

22. Apr. 2020

Great course! This is perfect for mountain lovers regardless of if you have a background in science or not. This will make you travel across many mountain ranges of the world and understand the fundamental processes shaping mountains from biological, historical, climatic to cultural aspects and more. Definitely recommend!

von Shah M A R

25. Sep. 2020

This Course Lecture is awesome .The Instructor Spoke Very Clearly and was very knowledgeable and patient.Good Curriculum and Reading materials.Also there is a extra lecture about mountain hiking related.The most interesting thig in this course was "The Mountain Map",finding Mountain on Earth Map was very much enjoyable .

von Thomas M

1. Apr. 2018

I had a fantastic time completing this course. Each lesson represented an area I was interested in and served as a something to look forward to on a week to week basis to increase my knowledge of mountainous regions and to further stimulate my interest in exploring Canada and the rest of the worlds mountain environments.

von Joshua V

22. Okt. 2020

I only enrolled to watch the videos. The production value was fantastic, and the information was very interesting. There were many details and perspectives I couldn't have anticipated, and it was presented in a way that allows a layman to this topic to understand clearly. I couldn't recommend this course more highly.

von Tegan W

18. Apr. 2017

I absolutely loved this course. The format worked great and I would, in a heartbeat, sign up for another mountains course like this. (Mountains 201 anyone?). Especially if it focused on Canadian mountains (BC/AB in particular) in a little more detail. I soo look forward to taking more of your courses, Zac and David.

von Monil P

27. Feb. 2021

Very influencial and knowledgeful course on mountain biodiversity, ecosystem, features and landscapes. Also helps one understand the way we are impacting mountain sustainability. There are short guides on nuts and bolts of trekking like pro-tips. Overall really enjoyed the course with interactive learning features.

von El S R P

20. Aug. 2020

This course was truly amazing. It is incredible the amount of effort that the instructors put on making it, the pictures and places are breathtaking, the information is very accurate, the guests, etc. Everything was perfect and well thought out. It is worth the effort and I thank David and Zac for their commitment.

von Manuel O L

11. Okt. 2020

Excelente Curso, los maestros y expositores lo hicieron ver de fácil comprensión, el material y videos de gran calidad, aprendí bastante sobre las Montañas, muchas felicidades a la Universidad de Alberta Canadá y gracias por su labor de enseñanza. Hasta la próxima por aquí nos veremos. Manuel Ortiz Lara, México.