Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mountains 101

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mountains 101 von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,263 Bewertungen
846 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top-Bewertungen

SK
22. Dez. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

DA
11. Feb. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtern nach:

351 - 375 von 847 Bewertungen für Mountains 101

von Osama M W M

9. Mai 2020

so far one of the best courses I have ever attended, it is well prepared and well explained as well and it always made me feel just like watching a movie .. AWESOME :D

von Monika K

25. Apr. 2020

beautiful pictures. practical information. great players. thank you very much. I love mountains and hiking and this course allowed me to understand and feel them more

von Tara E

8. Okt. 2019

I really enjoyed this course, especially leaning about plant and animal adaptations to mountain living, and the actions Parks Canada has taken to protect biodiversity

von Les O

10. Aug. 2017

This is a very good course for everyone who loves mountains. It provides amazing view points and a lot of insight for mountains, not only in Canada, but also the worl

von Ricardo M

18. Apr. 2020

Great course! Good introduction to the mountain environment, but you'll have to do more reading if you want deeper information on things such as geology and ecology.

von Laurens N

9. Sep. 2020

In short: great course.

Perfect upgrade of previous knowledge, incentive to get back into academic approach of mountains once again as well as professional.

Thanks!!!

von Aaron D

12. Juli 2017

I enjoyed every aspect of this course! I used to be an avid mountaineer and climber and this has reinstated my love of mountains and my desire to get back to them!

von Gabriel t

21. März 2017

Great Course! had a blast listening to the interesting and interactive lectures. The quiz at the end provided a good way to recap the knowledge gained. Good work

von Ken N M

16. Dez. 2020

Amazing and full-on guide unto how to appreciate and protect mountains. Kudos to the creators and educators who have collaborated to make such an amazing course!

von RADHA K S

16. Juli 2020

Intricate knowledge on mountains and and the adaptations of the various species. This is an extraordinary course. Thanks to the Instructors and course designers

von Stephanie S

7. Mai 2020

Thank you so much, the course was great. I learnt a lot amount mountain safety, weather, and how to better appreciate the mountains that I call home and cherish.

von Paul S

22. Dez. 2020

Awesome course. Exquisitely produced, the course instructors are excellent with a wide range of guest experts. Would strongly recommend this course to anyone.

von Lisa A

9. Apr. 2020

Very interesting, wide ranging and easy to understand content. I learned a lot, and was reminded of a lot I already knew about mountains and mountain habitat.

von Leah D

2. Feb. 2021

For a course title as simple as Mountains 101, the course covered a very diverse range of topics. I loved the inclusion of present day Canada Parks examples.

von Catheryn F

15. März 2018

Excellent course. So thankful it was free to audit this one, or I may not have done it. Helps me appreciate why caring for the environment is so important.

von Kimmo K

29. Apr. 2020

A truly fascinating course, strongly suggested to anyone interested in gaining basic understanding of the various aspects of the topic. Thank You very much!

von Miriam P

20. Apr. 2020

loved the multidisciplinary approach and the interviews with topic experts. I also enjoyed being congratulated on completing the course by Justin Trudeau!!

von Douglas K

9. Apr. 2020

Excellent course, very broad covering every aspect. The teachers did lack a bit of charisma while presenting but the in depth content more than compensated.

von Diane J D

3. März 2021

This is a great introductory course. The lessons cover a range of topics related to mountains that open your eyes to how important mountains are. Thanks!

von Axel I M B

29. Apr. 2021

Muy buen curso, soy egresado de la carrera universitaria de Tecnico superior en tursimo y muchas de las cosas que abarca este curso nunca las vi en clases

von Foong W L

12. Mai 2017

I thoroughly enjoy doing the Mountain 101 course and I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants a good. broad introduction to the mountains.

von Peter D

22. Feb. 2017

I very much enjoyed this course, I learned new terms and gained more familiarity with all things mountain based on the curriculum. Great work and great f

von Marie D

23. Nov. 2020

This was an excellent course. I love mountains, admiring them, hiking them, etc. I learned so much. This course exceeded my expectations. Thank you.

von Kostis K

6. Apr. 2020

Really a fantastic course! I cannot express in words my enthusiasm about this course! Great initiative and I look forward to similar future courses. UP!

von Doron F

19. Nov. 2017

Very insightful. The course is well organized, the discussion is intelligent and presented plainly! I enjoyed it very much and learned a lot. Thank you!