Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mountains 101

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mountains 101 von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,237 Bewertungen
839 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top-Bewertungen

SK
22. Dez. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

BS
11. Feb. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 838 Bewertungen für Mountains 101

von Danielle R

10. März 2017

I enjoyed watching the videos and learning about the mountains all over the world. Was a well laid out course, very informative and enjoyed the video clips throughout the talking.

von David B

29. Jan. 2020

A Beautifully constructed course that does great justice for the topic of Mountains! It was a pleasure and a joy to take this course, and I will always remember what I learned. :)

von Mark H

2. Apr. 2017

Absolutely enjoyable. Great introduction to mountains: not dumbed down or diluted; covers an expansive range of topics; very well produced videos that keep the viewer interested.

von mark d

19. Feb. 2021

A fun beginners course to the mountains. I enjoyed it thoroughly & found it thought provoking.

The only part of Videos I did not enjoy was the cameo appearance of Justin....Yuck.

von Miguel A R L

3. Aug. 2020

Great, very interesting course, a wide look through the mountains diversities. A challenge start point to explore the high lands with new tools.

Tanks professors Robinson and Hik

von Dave S

17. Juni 2020

Amazing instructors, very knowledgeable on the subjects, well put together videos, as well as guest speakers (felt like a field trip) and outdoor tips. Thanks for the experience

von Mohamed M A E

29. Jan. 2019

I really enjoyed sharing and following this wonderful course. Very well designed, organized and professionally presented.

Many thanks and hope to see you again in another course.

von Deleted A

1. Mai 2018

What a great course. On top of learning a lot about mountains, there are suggestions for extra resources (articles, books, videos) at the end of every week's worth of material.

von Marian Z

28. Juni 2020

I've loved everything about this course. And you can learn quite a lot from 12 lessons.

Thanks to professor Hik and professor Robinson the lessons are very easy to understand.

von Randy S

10. Aug. 2017

This course was my perfect re-introduction to learning. I haven't taken courses for approximately 20+ years and Mountains 101 was fun and engaging. Recommended to everyone.

von Jennifer D

5. Feb. 2021

Well planned, diversity of topics covered provided many insights, beautiful imagery and detailed discussions with experts all contributed to a fantastic learning experience.

von Pooja S

30. März 2020

I thank Dr Zac Robinson and Dr David Hik for teaching extraodinarly. I thank coursera for having this topic. I love mountains and after learning this subject i love it more.

von Melissa D

19. Mai 2021

Very informative course that covered mountain geography, wildlife, culture, and preservation efforts. It was well presented with a great mix of lectures and on-site videos.

von William R N J

24. Aug. 2017

Great course, the best I've seen on Coursera. I'm now starting University of Alberta's Dino 101 course and look forward to other offerings from the University of Alberta.

von kana k

18. Apr. 2017

I really enjoed each lessons and I've gotten much more interested in mountains around the world. I'll review all lessons again to make my understanding more deep and solid

von Faiz A R

30. Mai 2020

All in all, this course has been amazing! It is a well-made course that approaches mountains from various perspective. Would recommend outdoor lovers to take this course!

von Tatiany P V

9. Mai 2017

Foi o curso on-line mais incrivel que eu já realizei!! Parabens a todos!! As videos aulas, o cenario, a musica, o conteudo e explicacao. Simplismente demais!! Incrivel!!!

von Annesha K G

7. März 2017

Brilliant course on mountain. Learned many things from hiking to living of animals & human beings. Thank you Coursera & University of Alberta. Thanks for the certificate.

von Jojo N P

6. Juni 2020

It was absolutely a fascinating experience. Highly recommended. Thanks a lot for everyone behind this amazing course. I cannot wait for my first mountain expedition now!

von Chris H

21. Mai 2020

Really well put together with a great variety of content and contributions from experts. Good graphics to help explain points and a variety of ways to store information.

von Osama M W M

9. Mai 2020

so far one of the best courses I have ever attended, it is well prepared and well explained as well and it always made me feel just like watching a movie .. AWESOME :D

von Monika K

25. Apr. 2020

beautiful pictures. practical information. great players. thank you very much. I love mountains and hiking and this course allowed me to understand and feel them more

von Tara E

8. Okt. 2019

I really enjoyed this course, especially leaning about plant and animal adaptations to mountain living, and the actions Parks Canada has taken to protect biodiversity

von Les O

10. Aug. 2017

This is a very good course for everyone who loves mountains. It provides amazing view points and a lot of insight for mountains, not only in Canada, but also the worl

von Ricardo M

18. Apr. 2020

Great course! Good introduction to the mountain environment, but you'll have to do more reading if you want deeper information on things such as geology and ecology.