Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mountains 101

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mountains 101 von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,263 Bewertungen
846 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top-Bewertungen

DA
11. Feb. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

SK
22. Dez. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

Filtern nach:

451 - 475 von 845 Bewertungen für Mountains 101

von Russell E

5. Aug. 2020

I enjoyed the way program was laid out. The professors were excellent. Learned so much more then I thought I knew.

von Chee-Keong J N

16. Apr. 2020

It has covered all general information and education on mountain and related issues you need to know as a beginner.

von Caroline B

28. Apr. 2020

Fantastic course. Interesting information delivered by a host of enthusiastic professionals. Definitely recommend!

von Kathryn D

13. Jan. 2021

Really useful level of detail on many aspects of mountains, not just geology but biodiversity, climate, and more.

von Jennifer S

4. Mai 2020

Very educational and interesting information, along with beautiful images and knowledgeable teachers. Thank you!!

von Jordan

7. Juli 2021

L​oved every second of it! lots of great information, taught by some very knowledgable people! highly recommend!

von Michael G

13. Apr. 2017

The best online course that I've ever took! Thank you Dr. Robinson and Dr. Hik for making this course available!

von Nicole F

10. Apr. 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. The dedicated instructors emanate their love for our planet and its environment.

von Edward J H

13. Okt. 2021

Great overview of mountains, narrated professionally by academics, who I think must have practiced quite a bit!

von Peter S

28. März 2021

Wonderful course! I recommend that anyone with an interest in mountains and the environment take this course.

von Lydia H

25. Juni 2020

Full of beautiful and impresing images, exemples, illustrations and conversations with specialists. Loved it!!!

von George N

17. Okt. 2021

Excellent course!i really enjoyed it! It helped understand better and respect even more the amazing mountains.

von Kianee F

11. Juni 2020

Really enjoyed this course. Learnt a lot about different mountain aspects. Well taught and interesting content

von George G S

17. Okt. 2017

Such a great presentation. I went straight through the entire course in two long evenings. Truly outstanding.

von LaVerne M

5. Nov. 2020

I thought that this course was excellent. I learned lots about the mountains in my backyard here is Alberta

von Donalda B

27. Apr. 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The content was interesting and the activities enhanced the course content.

von Debra S

8. Apr. 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the course, Thanks!

I would enjoy any recommendations you might have for further courses!

von Patricia C

8. Apr. 2021

Found this course to be broad, comprehensive, insightful, interesting, challenging and beautiful. Loved it!

von Spike B

12. Aug. 2020

The course covers a vast categories of topics related to mountains while keeping the content not dry at all.

von Stefan V

22. Feb. 2017

A very nice course for people who are clueless about mountains. It made me appreciate them more than before.

von ANGIE S F D

28. Aug. 2020

excelente curso muy interdiciplinar, y esto hace que sea muy nutrido y con una amplia gama de perspectivas.

von Pamela C

29. Sep. 2020

An excellent course with a breadth of knowledge about so many concepts related to mountains. Just awesome!

von Melissa J

1. Juli 2020

The course was well taught, well-organized and covered all issues very well. I learned a lot! Thank you.

von Bahadır H A

2. Apr. 2020

Amazing content in a super nice tone! I suggest anyone who would like to discover the world of mountains!

von Anna E

22. Feb. 2020

Fantastic course! A lot of very interesting and usefull information! Million thanks to all contributors.