Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mountains 101

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Mountains 101 von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,208 Bewertungen
830 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top-Bewertungen

LB
4. Mai 2021

Entertaining and interesting subject. This course gives us a perfect overview of mountains' importance on our environment and their value to our lives as a human. Thank you for this incredible course.

SK
22. Dez. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 830 Bewertungen für Mountains 101

von Pat B

3. Apr. 2017

If you enjoy the great outdoors, stunning scenery or learning about a variety of plants, animals and geological processes, this course could be for you! Not only does it explain how mountains are formed and degraded, it also teaches us about glaciers, the water cycle, and why mountain habitats change as the elevation increases. Mountain ecosystems are visited and adaptations of plants and animals to life in the cold, rugged landscape and sparse atmosphere are described. The effect of climate change on the world’s mountains is discussed. As well, each week features a short video with practical tips on a different aspect of hiking and camping in the mountains.

An interactive world map is available most weeks to locate mountains and ranges discussed in the course videos, and the weekly course notes are a handy memory-jogger of many main points. Specialists in many fields provide short segments and there are even visits from two well-known public figures. Although it is a 12-week course, the weekly time commitment is not large.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course.

von LEE, Y

21. Sep. 2021

Very very nice course I've ever taken. Well-produced lecture! This course covers many aspects of mountains, from geography to history, from biodiversity to environment...etc.

I'm from Taiwan and not a native English speaker. So it took me much time to take this course as there're many professional vocabularies for me to check with a dictionary. But this wouldn't reduce any of my interest to keep taking this course. In Taiwan, we have more than 200 mountains over 3,000 meters. And I'm a hiking lover. That's why I'm so excited to learn things related to mountains thru this course.

Moreover, hiking tips are also provided in this course, very useful!

Huge thanks for the professors and the production team to share this lesson to everyone!! I love this course, especially in the last video that everyone who assisted this courses share their favorite mountain! So touched!

von Adrián G G

26. Nov. 2017

It is an interesting course full of the best proffesional about each aim or them. I apreciate a lot the tips section because all the people who want to explore the mountains by themselves must to know everything which was explain in that section.

I would like to tell you one advice (from my point of view): I only want to highlight some questions about the final lesson quizs because I think you have chosen good questions but they could be even better. I want to mean questions more focus on mountains science and not in what was the date of some event or something like that.

Congratulation to all the groups what have been working so hard to do such a good job and refresh-teach society how important are those colosals and georgeous parts of the Earth Mother The final comment is that I could understand so well the English even being Spanish talker.

.

von Jean-Francois N

24. März 2017

This was an absolutely outstanding course. Professionally delivered, thoroughly researched content and recognized experts, engaging and very interesting. I have learned so much and actually finished the course in a week. I have always been attracted to and loved mountains, but never knew much about them. or their surrounding environment. This course has broadened my understanding greatly and has given me a base to further learn and educate myself. The world map of mountains and important sites was a great tool that I appreciated. I would have liked to see more of the tech tips and perhaps an overview of the technical gear needed to explore the mountains. I wish this course would have been available 25 years ago, it may have changed my career choice! I am left with an even larger appetite to get out, explore, and learn! Thanks so much!

von Haleigh L

12. Juli 2017

EVERYBODY SHOULD TAKE THIS! This is honestly one of the best classes I've ever taken. I am a student at the University of Alberta and my program didn't allow for more space to take this class. I love how Coursera makes it possible to take university courses for certificate (or for free!). I have always been captivated by mountains. This course provided some general information that I had already been familiar with, but it also taught much more than the basics. The format of the course is beautiful - the videos are stunning and the partnership with Parks Canada provides some excellent commentary/interviews from people at the top of their field. I have deepened my appreciation for mountains and geography alike, and would love to see a part two of this class - I'd sign up in a heartbeat!

von Alicia M W

16. Juni 2020

I found it amazingly interesting. From the presenters who were clear and straight to the point to photos of mountains which captured perhaps the essence of the mountain right down to the literature of past writers, poets and artists.

The course ignited my fascination in how everything is connected to its finest detail of colour in butterflies to the flower moving with the sun.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your time, effort and putting in the delicate details of music everything and everyone who worked together formed the perfect ecosystem😁. Thank you for also making it available free increasing the chances of everyone to enjoy and understand that when they stop and pause and have those "moments of appreciation" it all makes sense.

I thank you

Alicia Williams

von Stephanie S

5. Juli 2020

I love this course! I live in Edmonton and love visiting the mountains. After taking this course I now have a different view and appreciation for them. The volcanoes and glacier sections were among my favourite lessons however everything I learned here has made me feel smarter and more able to discuss this topic with friends and family.

I really hope the U of A continues to do more courses like this. The presentations were very well rounded so anyone with interest can get something out of it. I even enjoyed hearing about mountains from an English professor.

I have been looking at other courses like this and asking about careers that could come from this.

Thank you to everyone involved with this course and I plan on buying the certificate so I can review some topics in the future.

von Deleted A

18. Okt. 2017

From: John Muir. (2011). The Yosemite. My First Summer In The Sierra. New York, NY. Barnes and Nobel. (pg. 10).

“Perched like a fly on this Yosemite dome, I gaze and sketch and bask, oftentimes settling down into dumb admiration without definite hope of ever learning much, yet with the longing, unresting effort that lies at the door of hope, humbly prostrate before the vast display of God’s power, and eager to offer self-denial and renunciation with eternal toil to learn any lesson in the divine manuscript.”

Oh, and to whom it may concern, I'm available as a volunteer to correct all the spelling and grammar mistakes that I found in the video transcripts. I've already provided a few samples in the 'Content improvement' messages that I've sent, and I assume you have my e-mail address.

von Jill W

22. März 2017

Excellent course! Enjoyed it immensely and learned a lot! It was great to visit other mountain places around the world that I'll never see as well it was equally fantastic to see and learn about the mountains around my home. I had no idea about the Banff snail. I understand better the chinook systems that brighten my winter days. I am thrilled to see the return of the bison and saddened by the expedited loss of our glaciers. I loved the history, the poems and the pictures! You guys were great at explaining and showcasing, in understandable terms, some of the most majestic of earths creations as well as underlining the importance of stewardship and protection. Kudos to the University of Alberta for, as always, producing top notch research! Proud to be an Albertan! Thank you! :D

von Aedrian A

18. Jan. 2021

I will not complain and fully welcome any assessment that this is one of the best, if not the best, MOOCs in existence. I am simply in awe of the subject matter, the presentation of the material, and the heartfelt dedication that obviously went into creating this course. The course creators truly gave mountains justice and the respect these formations deserve, and have exceeded in delivering what the course title indicates. This is the most complete and well-rounded MOOC I have taken so far - the natural science, social science, art-humanities, spirituality and practice (i.e., tips on conducting a successful mountain recreational activity) involving our species's relationship with mountains are all adequately covered here. I highly recommend this course to everyone.

von Jakub M

8. Nov. 2019

I like this course very much. Mountains is my passion and thanks to this course i learn a lot of new things about mountains. From people who obviously like mountains and nature too. There is very much professional informations as well as lightweight tips for mountains trips. Videos which are made with various profesionals in different national parks in North America on various topics is very refreshable and interesting. I like finding the mountains on interactive map of the world in nearly every lesson. English language is on a perfectl level. I spent a great time in the company of these people who are professionals and love mountains. At the end of the course I was almost sad that the course ends. I really recommended this course to the people who loves mountains.

von Austin J

9. Apr. 2020

Completed this course as part of my professional development hours to renew my Interpretive Guides Association certification as a Rocky Mountain Guide. This was a nice sweeping review of EVERYTHING related to mountains. I think anyone interested in nature and who loves mountains, but hasn't studied or read about them much before can learn a lot. Most of the lessons were lacking the depth that I hoped they would cover, but I did come out with a lot a healthy reminders around the technical vocabulary for concepts that have become cloudy over time and some great interpretive bits to share with guests on my trips in the future. Absolutely recommend this course if the topic interests you. It is presented in a very dynamic way for a 100% online class. Great work!

von Michelle V

10. Sep. 2021

Course instructors David Hik and Zac Robinson have lucrative career options in audiobook narration if they ever tire of academia.

Lovely course overall. Excellently produced. Started on a whim, partly because it had good reviews.

Was a little sceptical of the syllabus, which felt like a slapdash complication of anything that remotely had to do with mountains. Over the course of the twelve lessons it becomes clear that this is not the case. Geography hour like you've never seen it before.

Learned more than I ever expected to learn about Canada. The instructors' enthusiasm is evidence and it is obviously not a coincidence that a course like this came out of a Canadian university. In some ways, just the best and most extended Canada tourism ad ever created.

von Alice - a

12. Aug. 2019

I took this free online course to help prepare for my Masters in MSc Sustainable Mountain Development at the University of the Highlands & Islands in September 2019. I come from a Hospitality/Tourism Management background, have a bit of experience of hiking holidays in the Alps and working in a ski resort in Austria, as well as my Bachelors dissertation on sustainable tourism development in the Alps. This course helped me understand the more science-y/geology/geography aspects that I didn't study in my Bachelors. Those parts of the course were a bit more difficult for me but the cultural and development aspects were easier. Overall I really enjoyed the course and would highly recommend this course for anyone who's interested in learning about mountains.

von Shivani R J

10. Mai 2020

I visited Canada in the summer of 2019 as a research intern at the University of Regina. During my 3 month stay in Canada, I got the opportunity to visit some of the most beautiful national parks and places in Canada such as the Banff National park, Grasslands National Park. I even got to sit on one of the iconic Red chairs and appreciate the true natural beauty of the mountain world. Since then I've developed a deep connection and passion for mountains and the environment. This course brought back some wonderful memories from my visit to Banff and I look forward to visiting so many fascinating sites discussed during this course. Thank you so much for creating this wonderful course and instilling a passion for the environment in young minds.

von Aaron L W

16. Apr. 2018

As an ecologist by education, and an outdoors lover by experience, this course helped me better understand and appreciate the mountain environments and rekindle that love I had back in college in learning all I can about the outdoors. Being from Minnesota, USA, there aren't any mountains nearby, so this course was very insightful and allowed me, through the videos and testimonies of all those involved, to get a view and feel for what the mountains have to offer. I am starting to plan my first mountaineering adventure with my wife and kids, which will hopefully take place next year, and instill in them my love of the outdoors, and what we can do to preserve that beauty for future generations to come. Thank you very much for this course.

von Aurimas S

29. Juli 2017

Not being from the mountainous country myself, I truly enjoy visiting and watching mountains. This course provided me with a lot of useful and interesting information, that will allow me to enjoy mountain even more in the future. The course is really nicely organized, the pictures and videos of mountains during lessons make them more entertaining (sometimes during lessons I needed to go backwards to re-listen to what was being told, because I focused my attention too much on the picturesque backgrounds :) ). The teachers were great, and the interviews throughout the course provided even more variety of information. Overall, one of the best and most professional online course I have taken over the years! Amazing job!

von CM C

12. Apr. 2017

This is one of the best college level classes I've ever taken, and my first online class. The slides were beautiful, there was just the right amount of general concepts and specific examples, and many shots were done on location. The instructors were well spoken, informed, enthusiastic, and even had a sense of humour. I live in the mountains of Montana, and I now have a better understanding of where I live, and many things to look for as I walk around in the US and Canadian Rockies. I 'm at a loss to say just how much I enjoyed this class, how much I learned, and how much I was inspired to learn more. Thanks for putting so much care, enthusiasm, and science into this class. Please continue with a Mountains 201.

von Veronica M

24. Apr. 2020

This has been an exceptionally interesting and enjoyable course and I congratulate not only our two front lecturer/presenters but absolutely everyone who has played a part in delivering the programme.

The videos, reading and quizzes and broad overview of such an immense subject have been outstanding and such that I am keen to study some aspects in more depth - congratulations to everyone at the University of Alberta!

Finally I should say that I am a long time retiree in the UK, currently in strict isolation due to the Coronavirus, and Mountains 101 has been a superb diversion from the news of the pandemic all around us. I dream of the day when this is past and I can be back in the mountains!

von Erica D

30. Sep. 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! It is very well-made and extremely interesting. It is packed with reliable and crisp information, tons of different resources, good explanations and beautiful visuals. The pop quizzes, end of lesson quizzes, interactive mountain world and tech tips; all made this an extremely engaging, fun and enriching journey. The course really delivers a rounded and integrated view of mountains and has increased my appreciation, reverence and interest in them. I will definitely keep coming back to these resources in the future. And I would like to extend my gratitude to the Professors- David Hik and Zac Robinson- for delivering this course so well! Thank you!

von Kartik M J

19. Okt. 2020

As soon as I started this course with the first chapter, first lesson. I got that mountain vibe and I really got connected to this course. I liked how practically this course was explained by the profs. and the content that they explained. I loved the vibe of mountains exactly as explained in the course and I totally got the Vibe of nature and the main purpose of selecting this course for me is to learn more about the mountains and definitely to protect the mother earth, mother nature. Definitely after learning from this courses, I will try my best, the best possibility, to save mother nature, mother earth, from mass media perspective.

Thanku Coursera

Thanku University of Alberta

von Chris T

19. Mai 2020

I learnt so much from this course (and I'm coming from an environmental science background). It was superbly presented, the content was engaging and scaffolded appropriately, and the interviews with other scientists, professors and the tech team really complemented the course. Lastly, I felt somehow emotionally invested in this course, a combination of the subject matter and also the passion that was evident in the team that made it. This was the first course I completed (and I've taken 5 others over the last 5 years), and I think in a large part that it was because of how this course was designed. I wish you all the best, and look forward to the next content that comes out.

von Christy S

24. Nov. 2017

I immensely enjoyed taking this course. I was really satisfied the diversity of voices that were included in the lessons, including men and women from Canada Parks staff, a wide range of academics and specialists, First Nations peoples, and more. The course does a tremendous job exposing us to so many different topics in accessible ways--everything from art, history of thought about mountains, meteorology, geology, and so much more. The professors' passion and enthusiasm for the topics was infectious and by the end of the course they felt like friends. Absolutely recommended to anyone interested! It's a wonderful way to spend a-1.5 hours/week for 12 weeks!

von Juan S S S

20. Jan. 2021

It was a wonderful experience to take this class. I learned a lot both by professors Robinson and Hik, and to the wide range of specialists of mountains from all around the globe. It was a scientific-driven discussion around a number of interesting topics related to mountains with many information to learn. Personally I enjoyed the background images and audiovisual resources throught the course very beautiful and aesthetically pleasing.

I would recommend this class to any person, since the topic is absolutely fascinating and the lessons are very well explained. Its obvious both professor enjoy this topic.

Thank you very much for this wonderful experience!!