Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mountains 101

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Mountains 101 von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,210 Bewertungen
831 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top-Bewertungen

LB
4. Mai 2021

Entertaining and interesting subject. This course gives us a perfect overview of mountains' importance on our environment and their value to our lives as a human. Thank you for this incredible course.

BS
11. Feb. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 830 Bewertungen für Mountains 101

von Brian N

22. Mai 2020

The information and its presentation were well done! From concise and digestible info from the course professors, to the awesome tech tips as well as the interactive mountain world, Mountains 101 hit just the right note. Focusing on the interdisciplinary methodology to studying ecology and mountains was insightful, and the surprise message from a guest at the finale was amazing!

von Lynne F

7. Mai 2017

I took this for my own enjoyment. I grew up outside Edmonton and would go to Jasper/area and Wilmore Wilderness any chance I got! A family I knew as a child instilled in me their love and respect for the mountains, the plants and rocks and animals in the area. I would love this on a disc or memory stick so I could watch it all again. Thank You so much! Great presentation!

von Ron T

1. Apr. 2017

🍻Absolutely Amazing 👍👍I was worried about taking any sort of U Of A course in the past. Now after taking a step out of my comfort zone and Clicking the signup button😬 I was amazed how well the course was put together. It challenged me to think and view different perspectives at the same time I was learning tons of new and exciting things.

Thank you. Keep them coming.

Ron

von Scott M

24. Juli 2020

Although I've lived around mountains for many years, right from the beginning of the course, and throughout the 12 weeks of lessons, I learned many things that I had never known about the environment that I love. And this is perhaps the most professionally-produced of the twenty or so Coursera courses that I have taken, including a course where I serve as a Mentor/Instructor.

von Kim S

3. Apr. 2017

Very informative and interesting course! The pictures were incredible & made it easy to stay focused and engaged....I forgot that I was on a computer :) The interviews with researchers & professionals from different universities, Parks Canada etc. were great learning tools. It opened my eyes to the amount of research being done to protect our mountains and their ecosystems.

von Paula N R

28. Aug. 2020

No saben la felicidad y el amor que siento al terminar este curso. Quiero enfocar mi maestría de Economía y Gestión del turismo en cómo el cambio climático afectará el turismo de montaña, en términos económicos y este curso me ayudó a tomar muchas ideas y pensamientos que espero aporten a tomar decisiones acordes al desarrollo sotenible. Saludos desde Colombia y Argentina.

von David G

7. Mai 2020

The Mountains 101 course was outstanding! Both professors did an excellent job of presenting all of the material, and the guests were amazing as well. I really feel more inspired and humbled by the majesty of the world's mountains and their importance. Thanks so much for such an extraordinary class! I wish you all of the best, and continued success in your efforts.

von YuChao S

27. Mai 2021

Fabulous course. I gained more knowledge than I initially expected. The breadth of the course covers not only mountains, but the entire ecosystem surrounding mountains and how mountains affects human settlements, cultures and even physiology. Tech tips also taught us how to prepare for hiking and how to stay safe. All in all, a very comprehensive coverage. Thank you!

von Andrew W

6. Apr. 2021

Very good presentations from all, particularly the main two. Really interesting content, thank you, and the visuals were tremendous although breathtakingly scary! I would love to visit the Canada but, until the pandemic is over, will have to make do with the UK's Snowdonia, The Lake District and The Peak District which provide exhilaration and challenge enough.

von Beng K L

6. Juni 2020

One of the best courses I have ever taken, The combination of scenic vistas, lectures and interviews were perfect. The last interview was a surprise and brought a smile to my face. Well done to Zac and David for a world class course! I have been to Banff National Park 3 times before this course and I want to go back there again to appreciate what I have learnt!

von Courtney H

11. Nov. 2018

This course and its lectures were far more thorough than I was expecting and that was a pleasant surprise. The professors cover every imaginable topic within the concept of mountain study and do so with great diligence. I came out of this course feeling more connected to mountains and their beauty than before. Take this course- you will be thankful you did.

von G L

1. Apr. 2017

I had an exceptional time during the course. It was informative, challenging at times, always great video, and timely lessons on the state of the mountains. I appreciated the quality of the tips, the pace of the lessons, and for me, I live to spend time in the mountains. Thoroughly enjoyable. Thanks for the energy and quality program. Ciao from Nanton, AB.

von Melissa A

23. Aug. 2020

Amazing, amazing course!!! I loved how the course was designed and all the information shared on it. I also enjoyed visiting my mountain world after completing the weekly lessons. The Tech Tips are also helpful. For someone who loves the outdoors and the mountains, this is absolutely enjoyable and at the same time very knowledgeable. Highly recommended!!!

von Dinidh O

8. Apr. 2018

Extremely well produced, but more importantly the treatment of the subject matter at hand is excellent. The speakers are informative and present the material in a highly accessible manner. I truly hope that we'll see more Mountain-related courses coming from this Uni - this knowledge is helping equip me for a career defending and caring for our mountains.

von Justin H

7. Apr. 2020

Very interesting course. A lot of novel ways of presenting information. Rather than just listening to a talking head there were a lot of interesting visual materials being shown, the presenter made good use of green screen presentations. The optional maps quizzes were interesting and gave me an enhanced sense of where the specific sites are in the world.

von Angie L

16. Juli 2019

Very structured system covering the key aspects of mountains as well as guiding me through the key mountain areas throughout the world. Useful and practical guidance on packing and outdoors activities. Would love to see some more advanced courses on practical side especially on the key knowledge and skills to keep ourselves safe and sound in the nature.

von Victoria C L

7. Jan. 2018

This class was so first-rate, words nearly fail me. Excellent pedagogical design, with practical mountain survival advice in each module, plus other special features. Pace is excellent, lots of onsite videos, wide variety of contributors, must have cost a fortune. Even an address from the PM! You must put this class into your course list right away!!

von Arnab N U

4. Mai 2020

This course was an interesting one. It never felt boring or monotonous to me. Both the instructors were dynamic and their lectures were amazing. Learnt many things from them. Hope that, they will continue to deliver such amazing things to the curious learners like me in the coming days. Overall, this course was a full package and deserves good ratings.

von Yogi H C

17. Jan. 2021

Perfect course. Extremely recommended for all those of you who wants to learn about Mountains. Perfect just perfect, from the materials to the discussion forums. The lecturer is extremely active in forums by answering questions. Love it. The interactive mountain website also really helpful in memorizing number of mountains. Absolutely worth the price!

von Emmanuella P

24. Nov. 2020

This was probably the most enjoyable class I've ever taken! It had great and detailed info, the professors were knowledgeable and thorough, and the lecture backgrounds kept you interested. But even without the pretty pictures, the course info was very interesting. Not to mention the technical gear tips! Thank you all for a great learning experience!!

von Lynne L

27. Juni 2020

This is a great course, with excellent instructors and course content. The inclusion of site visits and interviews with experts in areas of specific interest were well placed, very informative and very interesting. The photography is spectacular and where applicable, supports presented concepts very well.

Thank you!! I really enjoyed this course.

von Lyna S

27. Jan. 2021

I absolutely loved this course! I have learned so much and have a new appreciation for Parks Canada. I plan on doing a cross-country tour of Canada next year and will be visiting as many National and Provincial parks as possible. I will also be investigating ways to help/volunteer with conservation organizations in my local area. Thank you!

von Parv S

10. Juli 2019

A really fun and easy course, one could learn a lot about the geology of mountains just by doing this singular course. I think this course should be made compulsory for people who wish to do anything related to mountains or mountain sports, for it covers a good amount of theory required. Especially the tips and tricks at the end of each lesson.

von Thiago P B

31. Juli 2017

I'm a brazillian and I come from a land where there is not much mountains to be seen, but I was always fascinated by mountains and mountain environment. After my NOLS course on the Patagonian andes, I came to respect mountains even more and this course gave me a whole new perspective from these environment that I draw so much wonder. Thank you.