Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
1,648 Bewertungen
243 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top-Bewertungen

JT

Nov 13, 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

DP

Nov 26, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 243 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

von Tanuj J

Jan 19, 2019

Topics need to be covered more in depth. Too much information packed into this course. Instructor's explanations are also not clear most of the time. It will be hard to follow this course if you don't have some background with calculus.

von Yan

Mar 31, 2019

Some errors confused many students. And they are remained unfixed.

von Valeria B

Jun 17, 2019

The first part of the course is fine. Towards the end, lots of interesting concepts explained too quickly. I'd rather have more detailed explanations, especially about linear and non-linear regression.

The examples are quite good.

von Marc P

Apr 28, 2019

The course is led by two instructor and my ratings is an average of the two performances. The videos in week 1 to 4 are absolutely outstanding and a pleasure to follow. The ones in week 5 and 6 are ok but not great. The use of quizzes and coding assignments throughout the course is very engaging and of great use for retention and application of the learned subjects.

von João C L S

Apr 17, 2019

I liked the course specially because I finally understood Backpropagation, an old frustration from Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course. It covers the main topics for Mathematics for Machine Learning as promised. Two weak points: (1) the Newton-Raphson convergence problems, superficially covered in the lectures, but has a challenging test, no forum support, no other source indicated for helping us. (2) The forum is abandoned. I've set two problems, one of them about an error in a lecture and the second about the problem with Newton-Raphson lecture. No responses from the lecturers or mentors.

von Andrii S

Jan 20, 2019

Excellent.

von Alkis G

Jul 14, 2019

There is a decent space for course improvement.

von Nitish K T

Jul 12, 2019

Very relevant course. It was very helpful to me.

von Fang Z

Jul 11, 2019

I really love Samuel's teaching style. He strived to make people understood by showing a lot of graph and I can easily follow him step by step. However, David's teaching I couldn't follow up his mind much maybe because less explanations given during the lecture.

In addition, I found some quiz have huge amount of calculated amount which I really spent a lot time to verify the answer.

Finally, I hope more detailed explanations could be given if I made mistakes in some quiz so I could boost what I've learned so far.

Thanks,

Fang

von Manjunath H

Jul 10, 2019

Very organised. Assignments are great to practically apply the concepts into practice.

von Chikako M

Jul 09, 2019

Feedback on assessment could be improved, and there could be more practice questions relevant to the final assessments

von Andrew L

Jul 06, 2019

Amazing as usual. Very clear and highly engaging content. Thank you so much!

von Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

von Sunil M

Jul 04, 2019

Very good course

von gaurav k

Jul 03, 2019

well explained details on Calculus

von Khandakar A H

Jul 02, 2019

This course was amazing for me . I've learnt both the use of calculus and coding with it . now I can better understand mathematical tools and it's use.

von Eric

Jun 30, 2019

quite challenging. when get confused dont give up; look for other sources for explanations. great course.

von shubham m

Jun 27, 2019

good introductory course

von Narayan B

Jun 25, 2019

good mathematics course, but the things and concepts are explained in a very abstract way. Need to think a lot on your own while solving the quizzes as the videos are not going to help. Most of the concepts i learnt were from the quizzes rather than the videos

von prudhvi

Jun 23, 2019

week 6 content is not clear at least for me .

von Mattia P

Jun 22, 2019

Great content, amazing lecturers...just brilliant. Well done Imperial.

von Fish

Jun 21, 2019

Great!

von Fabian B

Jun 16, 2019

Challenging, but very exciting. Learned a lot interesting fundamentals. Thank you.

von Gautham T

Jun 16, 2019

fantastic course

von Shahan C

Jun 15, 2019

Helped me understand the underlying match concepts in machine learning and did help me professionally.