Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus von Imperial College London

4.7
Sterne
5,148 Bewertungen
921 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top-Bewertungen

JT

12. Nov. 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

SS

3. Aug. 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 925 Bewertungen für Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

von Juan M E

2. Nov. 2020

AMAZING course! Even though I already knew most of the concepts exposed through this course, I found many rich resources to add to my DS toolkit. Both professors clearly love what they do and have the capacity to express the abstractions clearly. Thank you.

von Anna U

14. Jan. 2020

An excellently simple explanation of concepts of linear algebra. Applause for lector. I really liked this course and found it very useful for those newbies in machine learning like myself. I recommend this course to all my friends and others interested in.

von Aleix L M

28. Nov. 2019

I found this course really useful and concise, straight to the concepts that are used in machine learning. The lecturers speak clearly and give very intuitive views on abstract concepts that I had trouble understanding before. I would totally recommend it.

von Arthur V

20. Mai 2021

Very well paced course addressing several topics. The lectures provide several real life examples where the information can be applied, not just pure mathematical information. There are many exercises and quizzes that help you consolidate the knowledge.

von Heinz D

2. Nov. 2020

Great refresher for my calculus knowledge gained 30 years ago. The instructors are very enthusiastic and motivating and quizzes / labs support the learning process. I also like the use of very proper language (BE vs AE) practised by the instructors. :-)

von Kurt G

4. Aug. 2019

The course began quite straightforwardly, and became progressively more challenging. I would recommend to others that they continually practice their skills at finding partial derivatives, as that skill gets even more important as the class progresses.

von Shahzad A K

24. Mai 2018

Great course! Builds up logically from a soft introduction to practical applications of multivariate calculus for data analytics. I no longer feel intimidated when I look at an expression involving higher order partial derivatives in multiple variables!

von FRANCK R S

3. Juni 2018

A very useful introduction of the math behind Machine Learning, a must if you plan to understand the algorithms used in ML, as usual the teachers are very very talented, focus is put in the essential and comprehension comes intuitively, Great Thanks!

von Christoph L

6. Jan. 2020

A very good introductory course that is giving insightful explanations of how something is done and why. I especially enjoyed the part on gradient descent that was part of multiple modules. Very engaging instructors make learning easy and motivating.

von Ashok B B

2. Feb. 2020

Fantastic course, got to know the underlying maths behind complex ML algorithms, which was always a grey area to me, the instructors clearly explained each topic, which is a definitely a must add on skill to your journey towards Data Science career

von MELGAREJO E A

21. Juni 2021

This course is of excellent quality. The teachers captured the knowledge perfectly in the MOOC. Although if you do not have knowledge in Python, it will be very difficult to successfully complete the course. Thank you Professor and Staff Coursera

von Subtain M

10. Juli 2020

I think this is one of the best course for understanding the calculus behind the machine learning algorithms. This also helps me understanding the back propagation, which is considered to be very painful topic for people not from maths background

von Fabiana G

25. Juli 2019

It's challenging, specially about the week 4. But it's very possible to conclude successful. I just have high school and I finished the course with 100% of grade. My hint is: algebra is very important, but code can help you with this subject.

von Tommy R

26. März 2020

I've always felt intimidated by maths and it stopped me from really understanding machine learning and the different algorithms used. This course does a great job of making calculus understandable and demonstrates why it is so useful for ML.

von Ali T

26. Nov. 2020

Excellent course for learners with a little background knowledge in mathematics, python and neural networks. very intuitive and useful. Assignments are a little bit difficult in last few weeks but you can handle it. Thanks Imperial College!

von SARWADNYA N M

15. Juli 2020

The instructors are very enthusiastic and novel in their approach to teach which makes it very enjoyable to learn from them. Looking forward to completing this specialization and then learning more about ML and AI.

Thank you so much Coursera

von Mubasher A

4. Sep. 2020

Excellent course. All concepts have been delivered in a great manner making things clear with good examples. Questions appear at appropriate times during the video to make sure that the concepts presented in the video are being understood.

von Rohan K A

27. Juni 2022

Great learnings from this course. Feels very confident in the diving deeper into ML concepts. I would recommend anyone who wants to walk in the domain of Data Science or ML should take this course to learn the foundational Math concepts.

von srimat m

10. Dez. 2019

standard short and crisp course. will do the job for what it is designed for. great explanations by mr. sam cooper and his visualization team at imperial. and mr.david also done a great job. overall worth spending funny jelly belly time.

von Shivaprasad K

21. Juli 2021

This is a great course for Data Science aspirants. It helps to build a strong mathematical foundation and intuition necessary for solving challenges in Machine Learning and Deep Learning. The course is well-structured, engaging and fun!

von Constance K

2. Jan. 2021

This is the first course i took on coursera and also is the first course the mathematics for ML. I have no much mathematics background but I have learned a lot from the course. The coding is a bit challenging , but the Forum is HELPFUL.

von Tash B

5. Sep. 2018

Although difficult, this course makes sense of what is happening under the hood in training machine learning models. Instructors explain things well and the assignments gave opportunities to practice. I thoroughly enjoyed this course.

von Badri A

15. Mai 2020

The thing I love about this course and the previous one, is how they make these heavy equations and stuff that we learn in school and university meaningful.

The instructors are very good, and the topic was handled perfectly. Well Done !

von Jafed E G

6. Juli 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

von Jonathan F

29. Juli 2018

Following on from the Linear Algebra course, this is equally excellent. Again, the main enjoyment comes from seeing techniques learnt at school (partial derivatives, Taylor series, Newton-Raphson, etc) actually being used in practice.