Chevron Left
Zurück zu Music and Social Action

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Music and Social Action von Yale University

4.6
78 Bewertungen
27 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is a musician’s response to the condition of the world? Do musicians have an obligation and an opportunity to serve the needs of the world with their musicianship? At a time of crisis for the classical music profession, with a changing commercial landscape, a shrinking audience base, and a contraction in the number of professional orchestras, how does a young musician construct a career today? Are we looking at a dying art form or a moment of reinvigoration? In this course we will develop a response to these questions, and we will explore the notion that the classical musician, the artist, is an important public figure with a critical role to play in society. The course will include inquiry into a set of ideas in philosophy of aesthetics; a discussion about freedom, civil society, and ways that art can play a role in readying people for democracy; discussion on philosophy of education as it relates to the question of positive social change; and an exploration of musical and artistic initiatives that have been particularly focused on a positive social impact. Guiding questions for this course inquiry will include: - How can classical music effect social change? - How has music made positive change in communities around the globe? - What can the field of classical music learn from other movements for social change? - How have educators and philosophers thought about the arts and their connection to daily contemporary life? Each class will explore one critical question through lectures, discussions, interviews, or documentaries....

Top-Bewertungen

DO

Mar 15, 2018

This is exactly what I needed. I have upgraded from just having a passion for music to having a passion for what music can do to the society. I am a better leader. Thank you YALE, thank you Coursera!

GV

May 02, 2016

I am glad to have this course as it really makes me feel happy and teaches me more things I wanna know.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 27 Bewertungen für Music and Social Action

von Klaus D P

May 04, 2017

The Course was very interesting to me. I have learned a lot particularly about the roots of the American Civil Rights Movement in the 1960s, which was not so clear to me.

"Harlem Nocturne" was a very interesting reading to me that tells the amazing story of three black woman artists in the 1940s and their impact on the American Civil Rights Movement by Black Power: young, gifted and black (Nina Simone).

"Art as Experience" by John Dewey is a very inspiring standard oeuvre about the function of art in a modern society. Art and culture are essential to the development of a peaceful way of living together based on respect and mutual understanding for each other within a society and more than that; this must be seen and explicitly recognized by politicians and politicians (John F. Kennedy).

The only thing that should be considered in the future is the extensive use of peer-graded-assignments as element in the weekly course reviews. This is critical to me because the participation in the weekly discussion forums was very limited.

Nevertheless, the course participation was all in all a pretty good learning experience.

von Eric M

Aug 04, 2016

Aside from a new interesting ideas (from a JFK speech and John Dewey), I found this course to be stretched pretty thin; I think this class would have been effective as a 2 or 3 week course instead of 9 weeks. Also, it was unclear why the focus was on CLASSICAL music, since so many examples come from other artforms (e.g., Ai Wei Wei) and I'm sure the discussions would be richer if they considered popular music as well.

von Elena P

Feb 05, 2017

I would prefer except from the peer-view assignments, that a teacher could view them also.

von Linda t B

Aug 19, 2016

An intresting combination of philosophy, music (and arts) and their relation to social events. Sebastian Ruth found good examples to clarify the subjects, and he gives the lectures on a pleasant way.

von Hana A

Apr 01, 2018

I really like this course. It´s more about critical thinking and using knowledge, then just learn some information. It was very inspiring for me.

von Douglas O

Mar 15, 2018

This is exactly what I needed. I have upgraded from just having a passion for music to having a passion for what music can do to the society. I am a better leader. Thank you YALE, thank you Coursera!

von Nikoletta P

Jul 07, 2017

A highly recommended course for humanity!!! High level of instruction in a way that everything that you think and write (for assignments) is always important. The readings will help you further understand yourself as a human and realize your role into your society. Thank you!!!

von adahauyeechan@gmail.com

Mar 29, 2017

It is helpful for understanding a plenty of cultural background ideas and movements, and very important to review classmate's work and feedback.That was quite practical in answering quiz and questions.In order to restore the continuity of artistic work, the ones must seek to equip up knowledge and engaged to the practice and present issues with philosopher's concepts for some improvement,even just for a daily life basics.Homework quickens the course time and lessons,and it reminds me working with urging for greater prospective in problematic issues.

von Bart S

Mar 18, 2016

outstanding and thought provoking

von Virgilio A R A

Apr 05, 2017

It is a course at first somewhat complex, but then the ideas of great thinkers and participants of social action are unfolding through culture and music. The course is very complete and the way the teacher teaches is very wise. Very practical and useful for our social exercises. Thank you.

von Felipe P d C R

Jul 21, 2016

Yale is the Best! really! my dream is study there! oh capitalism... =)

von Farid H

Jan 13, 2017

This course starts from the abstracts of aesthetics and makes its way into the real world applications of art as a tool to further social goals. It provided a broad look into the motivation of artists and also the craft they engage in. Assignments are well designed to make us relate our lived experience with the course content. I loved every minute of it

von Gillian S

Apr 16, 2016

Very interesting and informative for anyone interested in music as a vehicle for social justice. Provides the theoretical and academic background that is often missing from many peoples experiences with "music for social justice" programming.

von Barbara K A

Aug 28, 2017

I enjoyed this course and learned a great deal about music and social action. I was impressed with the professor's knowledge and enjoyed the videos he showed and discussed. All in all a really good course! I would like to see this professor give a course on how the instruments of an orchestra come together for different pieces of music.

von Gena V

May 02, 2016

I am glad to have this course as it really makes me feel happy and teaches me more things I wanna know.

von LeAttol ( E L

Oct 12, 2018

I liked the goal of this course. The delivery is perfect and it's quite humbling in its entirety. A good course to take for any musician. Do not be discouraged by the amount of philosophers which You have to quote; Though not always altruistic; Their opinions are relevant and even pessimistically directed well le attol

von Marie A

Jul 24, 2018

Very inspirational, in-depth and well built. Highly reccomended! Being a dancer and choreographer, I could related all material and ideas of the course to my art form (and other art forms too), so it is safe to say that this course will not only inspire musicians but is suitable for other artists too.

von Ayu

Aug 07, 2019

very good course

von Katerina S

May 30, 2018

Very interesting course. I would like to point out that some material is not accessible for international learners, like me. Appart from that it is a balanced course, with a lot of food for thought.

von Sharita H

Apr 17, 2017

I

von Education J

May 03, 2016

there wasn't' much classroom discussion lead by staff/or mentors. having more then two people peer-review would be ideal. readings were not easily accessible.

von Adrian B C G

Jun 04, 2019

The course was very interesting and had a lot of interesting insights. The problem was that a lot of the reading material was very difficult to get, if not impossible, so I felt that I missed a part of what I could've learned. Other than that I really enjoyed it.

von Joan E F

Jan 04, 2017

This course is mis-titled. There is very little music involved and a lot of social action. The discussions and videos are interesting, buy I am confused about the use of "music" to carry the course's agenda. Perhaps "The Influence of the Arts on Social Action" would better define the intent of the course.

von Joy S

Apr 03, 2018

ok, I guess

von Veda R

Feb 29, 2016

I think that this course has wonderful material, however, I think that more than 2 people should be required to peer review the assignments so it is a balanced grade. In my other classes, at least 5 reviewers are required to review each individual assignment.