Chevron Left
Zurück zu Music and Social Action

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Music and Social Action von Yale University

4.7
Sterne
151 Bewertungen
55 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is a musician’s response to the condition of the world? Do musicians have an obligation and an opportunity to serve the needs of the world with their musicianship? At a time of crisis for the classical music profession, with a changing commercial landscape, a shrinking audience base, and a contraction in the number of professional orchestras, how does a young musician construct a career today? Are we looking at a dying art form or a moment of reinvigoration? In this course we will develop a response to these questions, and we will explore the notion that the classical musician, the artist, is an important public figure with a critical role to play in society. The course will include inquiry into a set of ideas in philosophy of aesthetics; a discussion about freedom, civil society, and ways that art can play a role in readying people for democracy; discussion on philosophy of education as it relates to the question of positive social change; and an exploration of musical and artistic initiatives that have been particularly focused on a positive social impact. Guiding questions for this course inquiry will include: - How can classical music effect social change? - How has music made positive change in communities around the globe? - What can the field of classical music learn from other movements for social change? - How have educators and philosophers thought about the arts and their connection to daily contemporary life? Each class will explore one critical question through lectures, discussions, interviews, or documentaries....

Top-Bewertungen

DO
14. März 2018

This is exactly what I needed. I have upgraded from just having a passion for music to having a passion for what music can do to the society. I am a better leader. Thank you YALE, thank you Coursera!

PP
29. Juni 2020

Very insightful course on music (not that much on specifically music, rather broadly all branches of art) can be used in practice of social action. Compelling professor.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 56 Bewertungen für Music and Social Action

von Hana A

1. Apr. 2018

I really like this course. It´s more about critical thinking and using knowledge, then just learn some information. It was very inspiring for me.

von VALERIA B

5. Juni 2020

I thought the course was great!. I enjoyed all the lectures and videos, and hope to meet professor Sebastian personally some day.

von Estelle N

13. Juni 2020

A course that helped me refresh and affirm my intentions and motivations to continue pursuing music as a mode to social action.

von Sonja I

27. Mai 2020

This course has given me so much more than I had ever hoped for! A true eye-opener for anyone who is involved in the arts!

von Amber W

14. Mai 2020

Love this class very much interactive with students and Teacher, and I will take this learning experience with forever!!

von Jelena D

21. Juli 2020

I’ve had the opportunity to hear great things about how human creativity can move society toward progress.

von Gena V

2. Mai 2016

I am glad to have this course as it really makes me feel happy and teaches me more things I wanna know.

von Erick M

30. Juli 2020

Excellent and complete!

I learned so much and have new perspectives and new wide thinking.

Thanks.

von Maria G S B

17. Aug. 2020

The multimedia material explored in the course was excellent! I really enjoyed this course.

von Elena P

5. Feb. 2017

I would prefer except from the peer-view assignments, that a teacher could view them also.

von Arturo I R J

31. Juli 2020

Great course! I feel motivated and engaged with all the themes of the course

von Felipe V R

21. Juli 2016

Yale is the Best! really! my dream is study there! oh capitalism... =)

von Joaquín V M

17. Feb. 2021

A fantastic course and good coordination!

von Bart S

18. März 2016

outstanding and thought provoking

von Nam N

4. Okt. 2019

This is very thought-provoking.

von Alberto E M R

9. Juli 2021

Great course on the subject

von Ayu

6. Aug. 2019

very good course

von Maria C L

22. Juni 2020

amazing course!

von Missagh D

28. Apr. 2020

Remarkable

von Adrian B C G

4. Juni 2019

The course was very interesting and had a lot of interesting insights. The problem was that a lot of the reading material was very difficult to get, if not impossible, so I felt that I missed a part of what I could've learned. Other than that I really enjoyed it.

von Katerina S

30. Mai 2018

Very interesting course. I would like to point out that some material is not accessible for international learners, like me. Appart from that it is a balanced course, with a lot of food for thought.

von Education J

3. Mai 2016

there wasn't' much classroom discussion lead by staff/or mentors. having more then two people peer-review would be ideal. readings were not easily accessible.

von Tan K L G

31. Okt. 2020

This course is a little confusing, as it is not just music but also art. As well as the relation of Social Action (political expects).

von Paul R

18. Sep. 2021

T​his was such a worthwhile course. An opportunity to discover how it might be possible to use one's practice for a greater good.

von AKHILA A

4. Juli 2020

I really enjoyed completing this course.