Chevron Left
Zurück zu Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why von Duke University

4.2
415 Bewertungen
108 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Top-Bewertungen

GS

Jun 11, 2017

Great course, very informative for anyone who wishes to explore deeper aspects of music that have to do with biology and psychology.

AW

Mar 14, 2017

Natural scientific approach to music; this is definitely a new perspective on music and acoustics in general.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 104 Bewertungen für Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

von Sarah G d S

Oct 03, 2018

Fantastic!

von Bart S

Mar 01, 2016

do this course again, great course!

von Vincent A

May 10, 2016

Note: I am coming in from the perspective of a dude wanting to create and compose music. I especially love module Week 6. It gave me a new insight on how to create newer types of sounds (I can't get enough). SPOILER ALERT: I would have never thought there would be a correlation between speech and music. I think Dr. Purves makes an excellent case for this connection. I'm sold! Very well organized course; and if you are a music junky like me, I'm sure you'll find tremendous value in it.

von Eduardo A

Nov 27, 2016

Awesome course! I really liked it a lot, it has been very usefull!

von miguel a g p

May 18, 2017

Muy completo e interesante, didáctico y muy intuitivo, aprendí demasiado... definitivamente lo recomiendo para aquellos que apenas inician en el mundo de la música!

von Pablo C

Nov 13, 2017

Awesome. This is probably the best online course I've ever taken.

von Hooman S

Mar 24, 2016

Fantastic

von Julio C G L

Aug 09, 2017

Excelente curso.

von Al-Rashid J

Jun 21, 2018

Great course. I enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed his previous course "Visual Perception and the Brain".

von Tamara L

Jun 18, 2017

Amazing Course! Thank You!

von Julián A G M

Jan 12, 2018

¡Excelente curso, gracias por la oportunidad de aprendizaje!

von Walerson S C

Mar 29, 2016

Nice approach of great issues! Highly recommended!

von Krisztian H

Jun 13, 2017

Very good!

von Vinod L G

Sep 13, 2017

I used to believe that the concept of music is purely mathematical and physical.

But this course has made me realize the biological aspect of music perception, and how it has been effected by emotional evolution of humans.

Thanks a lot.

von Muhammad A M

Sep 22, 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

von Sergei R

Apr 28, 2017

Great theory about music origins! thank you) was enjoyed!

von Stephanie T

May 20, 2017

Incredibly good :)

von Valeria S

Aug 09, 2016

Excellent course!

von Juan A C B

Nov 30, 2017

Excellent

von Kondrateva E A

Aug 03, 2017

Very good and interesting course

von Ian E C A

Nov 20, 2017

Supremamente interesante y completo. Dio respuestas a varias preguntas que me formulaba frecuentemente.

von Hanwen D

Sep 22, 2017

Very nice scheduled course!

von Theo L

Apr 23, 2018

Really informative and superbly in depth

von Alan d J G R

Jan 13, 2018

De los mejores cursos que he tomado.

von Peregrine H

Jan 02, 2018

Muy buen curso, bastante interesante y muy educativo. En otras palabras esta muy completo.