Chevron Left
Zurück zu Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why von Duke University

4.2
402 Bewertungen
106 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Top-Bewertungen

GS

Jun 11, 2017

Great course, very informative for anyone who wishes to explore deeper aspects of music that have to do with biology and psychology.

AW

Mar 14, 2017

Natural scientific approach to music; this is definitely a new perspective on music and acoustics in general.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 102 Bewertungen für Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

von Sarah G d S

Oct 03, 2018

Fantastic!

von Renny G L

Aug 29, 2018

Very interesting course! especially if you are musician or you like Physicis and Biology

von Beatriz A A S

Oct 09, 2018

I'm very grateful of this course because it's help me a lot. I'm an adult beginner and I've tried understanding music theory with poor results. It wasn't enough for me just repeating memorizing techniques or 'cooking recipes' in order to dominate some topics of Music Theory. Even I got frustrated. This course hit the nail and open my mind to new questions and dimensions about the music. And the most important is that it let me see that not everything is said in music. After the third module I could come back to music Theory and get easier concepts. Even I could found some of them by myself. I mean, I was not memorizing anymore but figuring out by myself how it works.

I highly recommend this course. I like the way Professor Dale explains, keeping it easy and organized. Additional material is super useful for music students and Ruby's participation was suitable. I'd like that last module would've been longer.

von Lluis G T

Nov 29, 2016

I learned awesome things on that course, things that I never imagine

von Hooman S

Mar 24, 2016

Fantastic

von Miguel Á T

Jun 24, 2018

Great.

von Angelina W

Mar 14, 2017

Natural scientific approach to music; this is definitely a new perspective on music and acoustics in general.

von George S

Jun 11, 2017

Great course, very informative for anyone who wishes to explore deeper aspects of music that have to do with biology and psychology.

von Juanjo R C

Dec 06, 2017

Genial :)

von Julio C G L

Aug 09, 2017

Excelente curso.

von Al-Rashid J

Jun 21, 2018

Great course. I enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed his previous course "Visual Perception and the Brain".

von Walerson S C

Mar 29, 2016

Nice approach of great issues! Highly recommended!

von Juan A C B

Nov 30, 2017

Excellent

von Krisztian H

Jun 13, 2017

Very good!

von Erich C

Oct 03, 2016

Very interesting, a stimulating and in depth course!

von Karen B

May 21, 2017

Excelente curso, me encanto.

100% Recomendado

von Fernando V

Apr 12, 2018

It was a nice experience to learn about the Biology of the music. Very complete and explained course. Thanks

von James A

Oct 17, 2017

This is an exceptional course, with very intriguing information about why we like the music we like.

von Alan d J G R

Jan 13, 2018

De los mejores cursos que he tomado.

von Peregrine H

Jan 02, 2018

Muy buen curso, bastante interesante y muy educativo. En otras palabras esta muy completo.

von Ian E C A

Nov 20, 2017

Supremamente interesante y completo. Dio respuestas a varias preguntas que me formulaba frecuentemente.

von Aoyu Z

May 21, 2017

that's useful, intriguing and fantastic!

von Theo L

Apr 23, 2018

Really informative and superbly in depth

von Eduardo A

Nov 27, 2016

Awesome course! I really liked it a lot, it has been very usefull!

von Praveen K

Jul 27, 2017

A great Course !