Chevron Left
Zurück zu Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why von Duke University

4.2
402 Bewertungen
106 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Top-Bewertungen

GS

Jun 11, 2017

Great course, very informative for anyone who wishes to explore deeper aspects of music that have to do with biology and psychology.

AW

Mar 14, 2017

Natural scientific approach to music; this is definitely a new perspective on music and acoustics in general.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 102 Bewertungen für Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

von Pablo C

Nov 13, 2017

Awesome. This is probably the best online course I've ever taken.

von Julián A G M

Jan 12, 2018

¡Excelente curso, gracias por la oportunidad de aprendizaje!

von Hanwen D

Sep 22, 2017

Very nice scheduled course!

von miguel a g p

May 18, 2017

Muy completo e interesante, didáctico y muy intuitivo, aprendí demasiado... definitivamente lo recomiendo para aquellos que apenas inician en el mundo de la música!

von Sergei R

Apr 28, 2017

Great theory about music origins! thank you) was enjoyed!

von Stephanie T

May 20, 2017

Incredibly good :)

von Valeria S

Aug 09, 2016

Excellent course!

von Kondrateva E A

Aug 03, 2017

Very good and interesting course

von Bart S

Mar 01, 2016

do this course again, great course!

von Vincent A

May 10, 2016

Note: I am coming in from the perspective of a dude wanting to create and compose music. I especially love module Week 6. It gave me a new insight on how to create newer types of sounds (I can't get enough). SPOILER ALERT: I would have never thought there would be a correlation between speech and music. I think Dr. Purves makes an excellent case for this connection. I'm sold! Very well organized course; and if you are a music junky like me, I'm sure you'll find tremendous value in it.

von Muhammad A M

Sep 22, 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

von Vinod L G

Sep 13, 2017

I used to believe that the concept of music is purely mathematical and physical.

But this course has made me realize the biological aspect of music perception, and how it has been effected by emotional evolution of humans.

Thanks a lot.

von Tamara L

Jun 18, 2017

Amazing Course! Thank You!

von john d

Oct 19, 2018

I enjoyed the course even though it seemed to raise as many questions about music as it answered. As a song writer, I am constantly searching for that special melody which combines both voice and guitar, a combination not mentioned in the course. It seems like voice and music instruments for a unique relationship in music that I love.

von Yuliia S

Jun 25, 2017

Thank you for this course.

von Julian B C

Dec 06, 2016

Very interesting, specially in evaluating how necessary the complexity in music is for composers.

von Tal K

Sep 11, 2017

I learned a lot from this course! So interesting! Not having a scientific background, I found some concepts a bit challenging and took some effort to get. But once understood I was amazed and was well worth the time put in!

von Ron L

Apr 16, 2018

The content of the course is absolute gold. The course provides some answers (or at least partial answers) to very intriguing questions in music: Why these notes and not others? Why is a minor scale "sad" ? and other related questions. The only real issue is the that the quiz questions are just garbage, so be prepared to be frustrated that after learning some new material and having some real "aha!" moments you will fail the quiz because the questions don't really seem to reflect the important points.

von Mäynard S

Jan 26, 2016

The content is great. But there's not a lot of activity on the discussion boards, and there are some technical issues with the quizzes (using future lesson material on current quizzes). But the content is really fascinating.

von MIGUEL A C G

Jul 11, 2017

Muy bueno

von Kimiko S

Sep 19, 2016

I enjoyed learning this class. I was interested in the scientific aspect of music.

von Didier J

Apr 06, 2018

Musica como biología....Esperaba más biología. Como y porque nos afecta la música y como podemos utilizarla para sonoterapia. En términos generales, musica como biología es un buen inicio para tomar conocimientos del tema. Gracias.

von Tim M

Dec 21, 2016

A well presented course introducing good background material regarding the physiology of human sound perception. It loses marks from me because of its seemingly obsessive fixation on the vocalization similarity hypothesis as the basis for aesthetic preference in music without a rigorous presentation of supporting evidence.

von Jeong K

Jun 05, 2017

It was an interesting course and thought something novel. There was some difficulty in understanding scales.

von Vladimirs Z

Mar 06, 2016

Good video content, but quizzes need to be revised.