Chevron Left
Zurück zu Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why von Duke University

4.3
Sterne
630 Bewertungen
163 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Top-Bewertungen

TT
16. Mai 2020

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

MM
21. Sep. 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 160 Bewertungen für Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

von Stephanie T

20. Mai 2017

Incredibly good :)

von Valeria S

9. Aug. 2016

Excellent course!

von David A M

3. Sep. 2020

Excelente curso.

von Harini

2. Juli 2020

It's very useful

von Julio C G L

9. Aug. 2017

Excelente curso.

von Praveen K

26. Juli 2017

A great Course !

von WATUTHANTHRIGE K G S P

2. Feb. 2021

Great content .

von HERNAN S L

6. Mai 2020

Great for me.

von Alfonso B A

6. März 2020

very helpful

von Natouchka M F

25. Feb. 2020

Excellent 🤩

von Sarah G d S

3. Okt. 2018

Fantastic!

von Krisztian H

13. Juni 2017

Very good!

von Juanjo R C

6. Dez. 2017

Genial :)

von Juan A C B

30. Nov. 2017

Excellent

von Hooman S

24. März 2016

Fantastic

von Camila P

8. Sep. 2020

Accurate

von Miguel Á T

24. Juni 2018

Great.

von Taozheng Z

12. Juli 2021

Good

von Yana Y

28. Apr. 2020

The course was very interesting and created for me a new way of thinking about music. However some subjects were very difficult for me to understand. In simple words - things which I didn't know before (biology) I could hardly follow. And also the music theory - if I wasn't a professional musician, I couldn't have understood the explanations. I understood them, because I knew them.

von David B

3. Aug. 2016

Interesting and well presented. I completed the entire course, all lectures and assignments. However, week 1 is persistently listed as "overdue" even though it was actually completed ahead of time. Please remove from the "overdue" status which incessantly prompts me to join an upcoming new session. I enjoyed the course but this technical snafu is annoying.

von john d

19. Okt. 2018

I enjoyed the course even though it seemed to raise as many questions about music as it answered. As a song writer, I am constantly searching for that special melody which combines both voice and guitar, a combination not mentioned in the course. It seems like voice and music instruments for a unique relationship in music that I love.

von Tim M

21. Dez. 2016

A well presented course introducing good background material regarding the physiology of human sound perception. It loses marks from me because of its seemingly obsessive fixation on the vocalization similarity hypothesis as the basis for aesthetic preference in music without a rigorous presentation of supporting evidence.

von Helen W

23. Juni 2020

As a student currently studying music, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It has given me a greater understanding of why we enjoy music from a perceptive that is not usually covered from a musicians perspective. I am sure that this will make me consider many things differently in the future.

von Ana L M T

16. Okt. 2017

Para una persona que se dedica a la educación musical, este curso es de suma importancia , muestra las cuestiones biológicas que son el punto de partida para aprender sobre este maravilloso arte, esta completísimo y explicado de forma progresiva.

von Didier J

6. Apr. 2018

Musica como biología....Esperaba más biología. Como y porque nos afecta la música y como podemos utilizarla para sonoterapia. En términos generales, musica como biología es un buen inicio para tomar conocimientos del tema. Gracias.