Chevron Left
Zurück zu Music Business Foundations

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Music Business Foundations von Berklee College of Music

4.9
Sterne
2,245 Bewertungen
592 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top-Bewertungen

BD
22. Okt. 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK
21. Feb. 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filtern nach:

501 - 525 von 579 Bewertungen für Music Business Foundations

von William A

5. Juli 2020

Genial

von Laís L

20. Jan. 2017

Ótimo!

von VasileiosDaradimos

19. Feb. 2021

nice!

von Mario A G Z

7. Sep. 2020

great

von LUIS F B A

3. Juli 2020

great

von Steve V

29. Nov. 2017

great

von GLORIYA V

23. Aug. 2020

Good

von Xufeng Z

30. Juli 2020

nice

von Théo T

8. Feb. 2019

Top!

von Saisadan D

26. Juli 2020

jkn

von Cynthia A A

18. Jan. 2019

EXC

von Hai y

8. Juni 2018

Tq

von Yolanda A P G

13. Okt. 2019

E

von ameya h

3. Dez. 2018

A

von Eric M F

17. Feb. 2016

E

von Adam M

11. Dez. 2020

A great first step in a career in music business! Looking forward the the continued courses for the specialization. Area's of improvement: At many times I found that the course was too heavily focused on the American music industry. Throughout various studies in Canada we always try to look at industries globally, especially as the world becomes more connected. I would have liked examples and incite into what other countries are doing. The course is also a little dated (I would guess around 2013). I don't think a major overhaul is necessary, but even some footnotes under each video mentioning important changes since the course was published. Thank you Berklee for this fabulous opportunity, I really appreciated it!

von Jéssica S

18. Sep. 2021

Great course! John P. Kellogg is a great, great professional and educator. It was an honor to be able to learn things about the industry from him. Perhaps, the only complaint about the course is that the course is outdated, with some information a little old, especially on matters relating to the law. There are recent cases in the industry that would be interesting to be addressed during the course, such as the issue of the sale of Taylor Swift's masters, the re-recordings and their implications on the copyright law. However, it is nothing that hinders learning or prevents the course from being done. It's a great course that covers the basics needed to get involved in the music industry.

von Laura J C R

8. Apr. 2020

Es un buen curso si tu nivel de conocimiento es bajo o muy bajo. Personalmente, sin haber estudiado nada de producción musical pero entendiendo de la industria del cine y audiovisuales, para mí ha sido un aprendizaje demasiado básico. Pienso que el profesor se centra mucho en hablar de sus logros y de su carrera, casi como si se estuviera haciendo propaganda, y desde el punto de vista de alguien que no lo conoce y que busca más una formación que no una entrevista con él, es cansino. Esto no quita que haya aprendido mucho, y que ahora pueda decir que realmente entiendo las bases de la industria musical y su funcionamiento.

von Brett M H

14. Aug. 2018

You learn a lot in a short amount of time. John Kellogg introduces you to his awesomely funky pass and it's very cool. He is an educator that provides you with a history of the industry and how to protect yourself. Ultimately, out of all these courses, I thought this was really helpful. My first course here at Coursera, and it allowed me to want to take more. John Kellogg provides a lot of tangible information and ideas based on his experiences and it's clear that his trajectory as an artist led him to pursue the legal and business side of music. He is awesome, so is this course.

von Mihir B

29. Apr. 2020

The course was great in laying the foundations of the music business especially to people who are interested in learning about it. However, a lot of information belongs to how the music business used to work before 2015, before streaming actually took off. I think it's important for people to know more about streaming services, now that they are the most popular form of consuming music and since the consumption of physical media has declined a lot in music. Having some more information about the streaming services would offer a lot to people.

von Nishanth V

26. Okt. 2015

Really loved the structure of the course.John kellog's lectures are even though they are a bit boring in the initial stages, they are very important and they create an life long impact on you if you try to focus.I love the way how berklee professors just carry the whole course just sitting with a black background.It needs great skills and experience to have such confidence in presenting a lecture like that..I'm always thankful to coursera for providing this educational courses. Coursera and Berklee college of music for life!

von Pranati N V

4. Juli 2020

The course was very information, and contained a lot of knowledge about the music business. It was very helpful in identifying all the roles various personnel play in the industry. However, the information is slightly outdated. While the course gives projections on the paradigm shift into the digital world, it has not been updated to include what these changes are. Beyond, that I am glad to have the opportunity to study this course as it did give a good amount of insight into the music industry.

von Augusto J B A

29. Mai 2020

It´s a good course, definitely. Not being American, part of the content has little use to me. The instructor is great. His passion for music is authentic. It would have been useful having an experience, in the first person, of someone who is a job manager. The artist point of view is very well exposed. The business manager hurdles are somewhat forgotten. Anyway, I did enjoy the course and I hope I´ll take advantage of it in the near future.

von Eva F P

15. Juni 2020

It's a really good course. Lots of information, the teacher is very knowledgeable and engaging. I feel like I learnt a lot, and I feel like EVERYBODY who works in the industry should know what is taught here. My main issue with the course is that it's clearly old, so some of the content and examples should be updated. The forums are also old and there isn't much activity there.

von Sander V

7. Okt. 2017

Very good overview of the current state and history of the music industry. Very eloquent teacher, but for max efficiency increase speed to 1.25/1.5. Only downsides is the major focus on the US market. Although somewhat applicable to European and Asian markets, I do believe certain aspects are different in these markets and could be pointed out in extra course material.