Chevron Left
Zurück zu Getting Started With Music Theory

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Getting Started With Music Theory von Michigan State University

4.5
Sterne
449 Bewertungen
149 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is a brief introduction to the elements of music theory for those with little or no music theory experience. We will explore pitch, rhythm, meter, notation, scales, keys, key signatures, meter signatures, triads, seventh chords, and basic harmony. If you listen to music or play music by ear, and you want to know more about how music is organized and notated, this course is for you. By the end of the course, you should know all major and minor keys, how to read and write in treble and bass clef using standard meters and rhythmic values, and how to notate and harmonize a simple melody. This course can serve as a stand-alone basic music theory course, or it can be a springboard to more advanced theory and composition courses. Your instructor is Bruce Taggart, Associate Professor of Music Theory at Michigan State University, in the College of Music, where he has taught undergraduate and graduate music theory since 1996....

Top-Bewertungen

DP

May 07, 2017

A great course to understand Music in a technical way. Has not just helped me understand the concepts but also has inspired me to learn an instrument and apply the concepts.

NO

Apr 19, 2020

This course was a great way to get into music theory. It does help if you have some background knowledge first but a little more study and you'll be just fine anyway.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 149 Bewertungen für Getting Started With Music Theory

von Matthew T

Nov 14, 2017

Really informative course, great little introduction to music theory - only complaint I would have is that on some of the lectures, the question flashes up really quickly and without any link to a picture in the question, meaning you have to keep clicking back to earlier in the lecture to see what you are actually answering the question on!

von Laurel J

Dec 14, 2019

I am giving it 2 stars for several reasons. The main reason was the in video questions usually were asked about a pic seen very briefly before the question was asked. Half of these did not have a link to the pic. in question. Making you have to guess. Another reason is the teacher was pouring out tons of info but in such a fast pace and not in a language a beginner understands. Half the course I felt lost. Last, I am marked ad partial completion only because I am auditing the course, I watched everything, read everything, answered the discussion questions and everything else I needed to do. I did not take the tests because they were locked for paid participants, but I should show a completed for an audit like other courses do.

von spoorthi y

Jun 15, 2020

i feel the basic are not really thought but they are expected to be implied in the exams. really tried to make up with the lesson and tests but the basics still being thought to a beginner are incomplete. i found so many other sources who are teaching just out of passion and no experience in a much clear and easy way that i had to go and listen to their classes and then come back to attempting few questions here. i don't think how these MOOC classes are supposed to work. no offence but maybe there are a lot of people finding this class perfect but for a beginner like me its still difficult.

von Deleted A

Jun 16, 2020

This course is not "getting started" it's more "Halfway to the top and then some".

If I had actual musical experience, then I would be much happier to learn. I do not and am finding this course so difficult. My ears are not trained to hear specific notes and the first week doesn't give you enough to train them. I don't understand the staves and how a f,a,c,e can all of a sudden be an e3. What is that?

My fault for assuming this would be entry level with no previous experience needed to learn the basics of music theory, but this course is 100% for someone who is seasoned in the music arts.

von Layth A M

May 03, 2020

I've learned a lot from this course. I've started out not knowing much about music theory and now I can even read sheet music. I'm a self taught guitarist and I've been playing for more than 12 years now, and I must say that it this course would have been impossible, had I not already known the basics through my over 10 years of practice. I certainly wasn't able to name triads or intervals, but I knew some basic chords and could tell what kind of notes I was playing. All in all, I'd definitely recommend this course to whoever is trying to get started with music theory, though keep in mind, that it requires a lot of work and memorisation.

von Silvia R L

Jun 16, 2020

This course has helped me understand many things about music I always thought were difficult. The way the syllabus is structured is really good to build on previous knowledge. The videos were easy to follow and the amount of information in each of them, as well as the extra material were enough to understand without being overwhelming. I liked the quizzes because they helped me reinforce what I was learning. Many thanks for this course, it was a very enjoyanle experience.

von Bobby S

Apr 25, 2020

Amazing course, but very difficult to follow at times! I learned a lot and now have a better understanding on how triads, chords, and lead sheets work. However, if you are a true beginner like me, you definitely need to watch the videos several times to understand certain concepts. Music theory is not easy at all.

von Aneesh A

May 26, 2020

A very good and challenging course to get started with music theory. It might get a little tough for someone who doesn't have a musical background. However, both the course contents and the instructor are great for anyone who wants to understand the basics of musical notation and theory.

von Farah K K

May 07, 2020

I loved every bit of this course, it's very challenging and puts one to really learn about music theory. I never thought I'd cover that much info in such little time! It's a great start, and I'll definitely keep on going.

Thank you so much for that!

von T. P K

May 19, 2020

It's really a fascinating course on music and I appreciate the way the lecturer taught the lessons so simply, and the assignments were so helpful and I learned so much and enjoyed a lot, thanks to the mentor and to the Coursera online platform!

von BERENICE C V

May 30, 2020

Da muy buenas bases acerca de la teoría musical, perfecto para quienes van iniciando, ciertamente a veces es un poco difícil entender algunos temas, pero es muy buen curso, aprenderás lo básico y como aplicarlo con ejemplos.

von Andrés

Jun 05, 2020

Many thanks to professor Taggart, this course is very explicative for a beginner level and it has many examples and excersices here and in another pages via lectures for a good understanding in music theory

von Vladyslav Z

Jul 08, 2020

Great course! Hard enough, but I've felt like studying again after a long pause. Enjoyed the process. Now I started believing in the online education. Thank you for making this course available!

von Soufiane B

Apr 18, 2020

A very good and well organized course,. My special thanks to Mr Bruce Taggart for his efforts and for all the team of the university of Michigan who make this happen. Thank you a lot.

von Nikki O

Apr 19, 2020

This course was a great way to get into music theory. It does help if you have some background knowledge first but a little more study and you'll be just fine anyway.

von DUTT K T

Jun 20, 2020

This course was very helpful as i earned a basic knowledge of music theory...........and also it is the best for the beginners who are keen in learning music.

von Hugo C

May 04, 2020

Excellent course and teacher. Recommended to anyone willing to commit to the task since it's a lot to learn in just 4 weeks. Thank you Professor Taggart.

von Ernesto M L A

May 08, 2020

Excelente curso, me hizo entrenar bastante, algunas cosas ya las sabia, pero es importante siempre calentar para poder tener la lectura musical fresca

von Mercy k

May 31, 2020

I had a great time learning how to read music.

I enjoyed the in-video questions and quizzes.

It was tasking and time consuming but it is worth it.

von Tonka N

May 24, 2020

Thank you so much! This course is amazing, it gives you so many information about basics of music theory and foundation for further learning.

von Kwon H

Jun 08, 2020

This is a great course to have proper basic unterstanding of music theory. It would be better to allow submission of quizes without upgrade.

von Paolo R R

May 14, 2020

Contents are explained very clearly and thoroughly, it was very useful and accessible even though I knew very little about music theory.

von Eduardo F F b

Apr 05, 2020

Great Course! As a beginner this course is really cool and the teacher explains really well, I'll totally recommend it!

von Kezia G

May 01, 2020

My First online course I took, The lesson is so attractive because there's a lot of 'quiz' in the middle of lecture.

von Kumar A

Apr 22, 2020

This course is really helpful in learning new musical skills. Very interesting and complete content.