Chevron Left
Zurück zu Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World von Universität von Kopenhagen

4.8
Sterne
557 Bewertungen
159 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn what motivates the restive Muslim youth from Tunis to Tehran, what political positions Islamists from Mali to Chechnya are fighting for, where the seeming obsession with Islamic law comes from, where the secularists have vanished to, and whether it makes sense to speak of an Islamic state. Since 2009 there has been a renewed wave of popular unrest sweeping throughout much of the Muslim world. Secular, but generally repressive and inefficient autocracies have come under pressure or been swept aside entirely. At the same, the various Islamic Republics have not fared much better, but been convulsed by internal unrest, economic and social decline. Throughout the Muslim lands, existing constitutional arrangements are being challenged, often very violently. This course is a survey of the constitutional ideas and institutions that have developed since the mid 19th century throughout predominantly Muslim countries, but its focus will lie on the actors that have dominated this discourse and shaped its outcomes. We will look at the large body of classical writings on the Islamic state only in so far as it is necessary to understand the contemporary debate, but concentrate on the legal and political developments of the 20th and 21st centuries. Three common themes will characterise the course:  We privilege the study of the legal and social reality and seek to highlight where it is at odds with dogmatic stipulations, be they religious or constitutional.  We seek to illustrate the practical tensions posed by limited administrative capabilities and political legitimacy that resulted from the incomplete reception of modern bureaucratic statehood.  We seek to examine how popular dissatisfaction with the practical performance of Muslim governments has fuelled demands for greater accountability under the guise of cultural authenticity.  Ultimately, the course aims to equip participants to better understand Muslim contemporary discourse about the res publica, better contextualise the demands for religious law in public life, and to better ascertain the theoretical and practical feasibility of postulated religious alternatives to the still-dominant secular model of governance....

Top-Bewertungen

LP

Nov 22, 2015

This course is really interesting and informative. It gave me a much better understanding for the history and politics behind some of the issues we are all facing today, and really broadened my mind.

NP

Dec 28, 2015

The course was good. But the real situation has been changing drastically. A supplement or extension of course is required to cover the up to date situation about IS activities, syria Iraq etc.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 157 Bewertungen für Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World

von Zakareya M S

Dec 22, 2015

It is a fascinating and interesting course, and it helped me a lot understand different circumstances of various Muslim countries.

von shishir

Aug 23, 2016

excellent introduction to the political and social issues that the Muslim and indeed the world at large is still resolving

von Luis C T S

Aug 13, 2017

I am studying International Relations and this course is an excellent option for me to learn more about the muslim world.

von Ilanka

Jan 31, 2018

Awesome course! Highly informative, analytical and covering a huge span of contrioversial issues in atactful manner.

von Muhammad Z B A M

Jun 13, 2016

I loved this course. Informative but the only complain i have is the duration of lectures which can get long-winded.

von Daithi M W

Apr 13, 2016

A fantastic course: immensely interesting, well-presented, relevant to the modern world, and very thought-provoking.

von Juan L P

Aug 21, 2016

Excelente, el mejor de los seis que he hecho en coursera

Excellent, the best of the six that I have done in Coursera

von Regina Z

Aug 11, 2016

Excellent Course. It can help you to better understand a region with a complicated past and a troubled presence.

von Mirza I B

Nov 17, 2015

Impressive analysis. This will truly push the intelligentsia to understand the core problems and ask questions.

von Kristin M

Jan 03, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and eye opening. Concrete historical information but also very theoretical.

von potsang

Oct 10, 2016

Lectures are long but provide very useful information for all that want to know more about the Muslim world.

von Shana

Nov 04, 2015

So far, an educational and enlightening course about the Muslim world and how it came to be as it is today.

von Armando B M

Jun 21, 2019

Excelent!!! Promotes knowledge about a very ignored region of the world. Very satisfying and rewarding!!!

von shakiba b

Feb 25, 2016

It has been an enlightening course that gives us a much more deeper insight into the Muslim World issues.

von Patrizia B

Jan 05, 2016

I would give this course 5 stars: it was excellent, both in content and in delivery. A true learning ex

von Yasmin A

Aug 21, 2019

This is a brilliant course, well delivered and very informative. I am thoroughly enjoying this course.

von Rizqan I

Sep 22, 2016

A very good instructor with a balanced approach in an overview in most aspects of Muslim countries.

von Victoria E A

Aug 07, 2017

It's amazing how much information is covered in these lectures. I enjoy the knowledge I'm getting.

von JOSE V P A

Jul 17, 2017

Excelente contenido, el contenido es muy bien explicado y ampliado en los documentos de consulta.

von Hassan S

Jan 10, 2016

this course helps a lot to understand the dynamic of constitutional struggle in the Islamic world

von Hafsa D

Jul 13, 2017

This was a very informative and well organized course. It holistically covered all the regions.

von Katsikaros E

Nov 05, 2015

Excellent mixture of historical, social, law and financial aspects of the areas examined.

von Gregg H

Sep 04, 2017

Very broad yet detailed description of a crucial cultural, economic and diplomatic area.

von Jennifer O

May 22, 2017

A very good course that I recommend to anyone seeking an understanding of this topic.

von mo m

Oct 16, 2015

This was the best course ever in coursera or in any other university I have attended!