Chevron Left
Zurück zu Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World von Universität von Kopenhagen

4.8
Sterne
556 Bewertungen
159 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn what motivates the restive Muslim youth from Tunis to Tehran, what political positions Islamists from Mali to Chechnya are fighting for, where the seeming obsession with Islamic law comes from, where the secularists have vanished to, and whether it makes sense to speak of an Islamic state. Since 2009 there has been a renewed wave of popular unrest sweeping throughout much of the Muslim world. Secular, but generally repressive and inefficient autocracies have come under pressure or been swept aside entirely. At the same, the various Islamic Republics have not fared much better, but been convulsed by internal unrest, economic and social decline. Throughout the Muslim lands, existing constitutional arrangements are being challenged, often very violently. This course is a survey of the constitutional ideas and institutions that have developed since the mid 19th century throughout predominantly Muslim countries, but its focus will lie on the actors that have dominated this discourse and shaped its outcomes. We will look at the large body of classical writings on the Islamic state only in so far as it is necessary to understand the contemporary debate, but concentrate on the legal and political developments of the 20th and 21st centuries. Three common themes will characterise the course:  We privilege the study of the legal and social reality and seek to highlight where it is at odds with dogmatic stipulations, be they religious or constitutional.  We seek to illustrate the practical tensions posed by limited administrative capabilities and political legitimacy that resulted from the incomplete reception of modern bureaucratic statehood.  We seek to examine how popular dissatisfaction with the practical performance of Muslim governments has fuelled demands for greater accountability under the guise of cultural authenticity.  Ultimately, the course aims to equip participants to better understand Muslim contemporary discourse about the res publica, better contextualise the demands for religious law in public life, and to better ascertain the theoretical and practical feasibility of postulated religious alternatives to the still-dominant secular model of governance....

Top-Bewertungen

LP

Nov 22, 2015

This course is really interesting and informative. It gave me a much better understanding for the history and politics behind some of the issues we are all facing today, and really broadened my mind.

NP

Dec 28, 2015

The course was good. But the real situation has been changing drastically. A supplement or extension of course is required to cover the up to date situation about IS activities, syria Iraq etc.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 156 Bewertungen für Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World

von Frances M

Apr 16, 2017

I found the course very informative and interesting. The variety and concentration of detail was impressive and the lecturer always engaging and clearly strongly invested in the material. He was also very sensitive to his audience. I would certainly recommend the course and hope to find other courses run by the same lecturer. Thankyou.

von Gunhild J

Jun 20, 2016

Very interesting and thought-provoking course! I would like to do it again (took the course a couple years ago) and wonder whether it has been updated to include events in the last couple years? So much happens! I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to get an overview and some understanding of the Muslim world as it is today.

von Jet

Feb 22, 2016

Understandibly a controversial course, but one that shows some much needed insight in the situations of many different countries with the common denominator of the muslim faith. I respect professor Ebrahim Afsah very much for his great intellect and also bravery, for this must not be easy. I am still enjoying the course very much.

von Anne T

Dec 08, 2015

Best course I have ever studied...important information well presented for our world in 2015. It's nice to be able to contribute a balanced opinion to some of the lop-sided dialogues going on around me at the moment. Hopefully enough of us can do this to bring about peaceful change. This is my second attempt at this course.

von Simon C

Nov 08, 2015

An outstanding course on a challenging subject. Informative and thought provoking series of lectures from Dr Ebrahim Afsah who is both passionate and well-informed about his subject matter. It should be a required course for all politicians and government officials, whatever country they govern.

von Christian S

Mar 27, 2017

Extraordinary course! Excellent analysis, clear and understandable exposition of a complex subject. Academic depth, cross-disciplinary approach. Congratulations to Prof. Afsah and his team! I am profoundly grateful for the thrilling and enriching hours of study and will miss the course!

von StephenH@47

Sep 25, 2016

One of the best MOOCs I have done. I learned a huge amount about how the Muslim countries became what they are now. I recommend this course to anyone interested in understanding international politics. Dr Afsah is a very good lecturer, and the course is well-paced and easy to follow.

von Ganapati K

Feb 27, 2016

Excellent comprehensive course, whether one happens to be a Muslim or otherwise, or living in a Muslim majority country or otherwise. Admittedly, every intricacy of the vastness of the subject cannot be covered, yet all aspects regionally have been covered by the Professor.

von Barbara S L

Sep 12, 2016

One of the best courses I have taken recently. The professor provided informative and thought-provoking information and opened my mind to better understand how the history of the MENA helped to shape current struggles. I will take many more courses from this professor.

von James P

Jan 01, 2016

This course is a phenomenal entry point for those who wish to better understand the great variety and complexity of the Muslim world. Dr Ebrahim Asfah makes this difficult task not only understandable but positively enjoyable. I can't recommend this course highly enough!

von Neil K

Feb 19, 2016

Illuminating and broad. this course was much more than the titles suggest, or its provenance from a law lecturer would hint at. Spanning history, culture, sociology and politics this is a wide ranging tour of the modern world muslims live in. Utterly fascinating.

von fatima r a

Jun 29, 2017

it was very amazing, this course made me understand a lot of things that I didnt even know.Also I could learn a lot of new thing that made me capable to know more about this subject. also learn about history and others aspects is good to know for culture in general

von Claudia A

Mar 15, 2016

The course has a very high quality and helps really to understand the relation between all the historical incidences . A very well structured course, presented in a very professional manner.

Thank you very much for your awesome work.

Glückwunsch nach Kopenhagen!!

von Simon P

Dec 28, 2015

Brilliant course. Provides an impressively in-depth look at such a complex and diverse set of political, economic and historical matters throughout the Muslim world. A must for anyone with an interest in the region or in the modern expressions of political Islam.

von Mary L M

May 22, 2016

One of the best courses I've taken on Coursera. The professor is extremely knowledgable, and I learned many useful things for understanding the behavior of the government of Muslim countries, and on the origins of why their law is different from Western law.

von Maiyada M

Mar 08, 2016

As a Muslim Woman, It's really interesting to study Islam in details and with all different nationalities and religions. It really opens your mind to understand how to deal with Muslim countries and to know why these Muslims are behaving in this certain way.

von Jan S

Jan 04, 2018

Great in depth course from Copenhagen University - This course is so good that it made me go back to the university to study a second master in risk and security management at University of Copehagen. Even that I left university with my M.Pa. 20 years ago.

von ali c

May 19, 2016

I am really enjoying this course. It has a different approach with deep analysis and a very interesting bibliography. It focuses on what really matters and not only trying to understand the Muslim World only through religion or international relations.

von Lucía S B

Dec 04, 2016

This course is fantastic. The content is so comprehensive, well-structured and clear, and Dr. Asaf is such a great professor. Even if the content is sometimes a bit complex, this course is incredibly enjoyable and interesting. Totally recommend it!

von Nicholas L

Apr 05, 2016

This is one of, if not the most in depth constitutional law class I've seen on Coursera. Dr. Afsah's treatment of the complex and vastly different types of challenges faced by the Muslim world in the face of modernisation is beyond reproach.

von Hiba J J J

Jul 14, 2016

The course is exceptionally informative, objective, but most of all, educational. It includes social, cultural, political and historial explanations of the Muslim World and above it all, it is very clear and straightforward.

von Zhou H

Jan 26, 2016

Lots of knowledge, very worth learning!

这是一门介绍穆斯林世界各国古代、近代和当代情况的课程,也是详细分析其宗教、民族、经济、政治、军事等各方面因素交织冲突的课程。通过学习这门课程,我们能够对纷繁复杂的穆斯林世界有一个初步的了解,并可以找到进一步对其进行研究的途径。课程的内容丰富,观点鲜明且保持客观,同时还引述了大量对伊斯兰进行研究的学者及政治人物的著作、主张和事迹,堪称cousera文史类课程中的精品。

von Kit A

Jan 16, 2016

This is an amazing course. I learnt so much. Professor Afsah was very engaging and professional. It was a great learning experience to get a better understanding of this complex topic, to help understand the news better.

von Elli M

Nov 11, 2015

I took this course 2 years (?) ago, when it was first online, and learned so much from it. I'm glad that the material is available "on demand" now. It's really one of the very best and demanding online courses I know.

von Joanna S

Apr 16, 2016

An excellent course. I found it very interesting and inspite of the lectures being quite long in some cases, my interest didn't wander. It not only gives a lot of information but plenty of food for thought.